We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good experience”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We really like the William Penn Hotel when visiting Pittsburgh. It is a first class hotel and one of the old time types with a huge, beautiful lobby, and good restaurants. Staff could not have been more accomodating. We were visiting for a family emergency and needed a larger room than we booked, and the hotel provided it with no extra charge. It's just a grand hotel. Very clean, and nice. Get the valet parking. Well woth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,722
    879
    283
    108
    43
See reviews for
773
1,113
162
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Service Staff may not talk to you nicely, but they know their job well and are helpful. The Hotel is in a good place, close to many things in downtown. Service Staff may not talk to you nicely, but they know their job well and are helpful. The Hotel is in a good place, close to many things in downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ghobad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is beautiful on the interior and the furnishings are luxurious. The publuc spaces and rooms have old world charge and updated amenities. My room was very spacious. I would gladly return by myself or with family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Brock B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Omni William Penn is classic & historical hotel with good customer service & conveniently located in downtown Pittsburgh. I've stayed at this hotel multiple times & always had a good experience.
The hotel restaurant/bar "The Tap Room" is small but has delicious food & I usually stop there while in town. I also love the Bruegger's bagels & Starbucks attached to the hotel, which make my busy schedule much easier.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Huntingdon, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I were celebrating my birthday and it happened to be Light Up Night in Pittsburgh as well. The City was decorated for Christmas and they even had the most AWESOME fireworks. The Omni William Penn is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff that made the stay even more special. It certainly made for a PERFECT birthday celebration! Thanks so much, Rose H.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rose H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed at hotel for Light Up night weekend and enjoyed the experience. The location is great and the hotel is beautiful with a great staff. A very special Thank You to Darryl for adding to our travel experience. He is a very special man and an asset to the hotel. On the downside the woman in the jewelry store is very rude and does not make browsing in the store a very welcome experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank harris1931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

My husband & I spent the weekend for my 50th birthday & light up night at the Omni William Penn It was an amazing time & a gentleman that works for the hotel ;Darryl Cann left an impression that will last a lifetime. He was very personable & professional & exuded such pride for this hotel. All hotels should set the bar by the professional standard Mr. Cann puts forth. He is a true asset for this Grande Establishment.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing