We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #6 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding historic hotel”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel which retains it's historic style. The restaurant serves excellent food and the breakfast buffet was exceptional, with a very large selection of gluten free products. Service in all areas is first class. Parking is a little pricey but you will not need your car because you can walk everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoomingOff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. We will be sure to share your comments with our skilled and talented culinary team. We hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,650
    867
    274
    102
    40
See reviews for
745
1,086
159
1,457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
515 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a wonderful stay during a conference in May. Everyone there is helpful and friendly. The hotel is beautiful, full of character and history. The select guest rooms on the 16th floor are roomy and beautiful. It's centrally located in downtown, you are minutes to everything! Tap Room and Terrace Room are great, too. I have stayed many times and am
Never disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loribob67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks for the great comments! We appreciate you choosing the Omni William Penn when you visit Pittsburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drums, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Omni many times since our son started at Duquesne University in 2009. We will not stay anywhere else when in Pittsburgh. Our last stay ended May 6, 2013 when we were in Pittsburgh for graduation. As Select Guest members, we enjoy many perks, LOVE the decor and opulence of the hotel. Since the upgrade guest rooms are awesome. The staff is always friendly, helpful and the hotel is very clean. We appreciate everyone; from the bellman to housekeeping to the front desk and valet parking. The waitresses in the Tap Room are great too.
We had a wonderful experience as always. I love the history and decor of the hotel and love to explore while there. Thanks again for a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and patronage over the years! We appreciate your comments and will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed in a deluxe queen room which was nice but not that big. We did not use room service for food. The bell person was very nice but had to make 3 trips to get us our bags (brought wrong bags the first time and was still missing 1 of our bags the second time). Unlike other hotels there seems to be a charge for everything including internet service. The cost of the room seemed pricey but then you are paying for location in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoachKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and hope to have you back with us when you return to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
164 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

The Omni is just what we wanted for a weekend getaway to Pittsburgh. It's old-fashioned in the sense of having a huge, Gilded Age lobby and large rooms with high ceilings. At the same time, it has all the conveniences of a modern hotel. Room service food was excellent, as was the breakfast buffet. Service was excellent everywhere. I would single out Norval, one of the bellman, for special praise. Martie, one of the servers in the restaurant, was extremely courteous and efficient. My wife likes very bright hotel rooms, and so she thought the room could have been slightly better lit, but that was really a modest problem. The only "drawback" to the hotel is that our room (951) was so large that we couldn't hear each other from one end of the room to the other! That's the kind of problem that I enjoy.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Herman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! It was especially nice to see several of our employees singled out for special recognition...we will be sure to share with them! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I had stayed here before but this time I was in charge of hosting a large sales meeting. Overall our guests were extremely pleased with their accomodations. The historic rooms are well kept and recently remodeled. Some of the bathroom layouts were a little odd but that is expected in older facilities. The room amenities were top notch with reading light on the bed, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, blackout curtains and love the fact I could sit in the window and look out. The food was great...and this alone makes or breaks a large meeting. Even though the hotel has several floors the elevators were very quick. The historic meeting rooms were a little hard to hear some of our guest speakers because the vaulted ceiling caried voices upward so I would suggest using a mic even in a small class room setting. We were pleased with our service.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
What nice comments....thank you! We strive to provide the best in service for our meeting guests, as well, and thank you for commenting on your experience. We will look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, WI
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our suite was beautiful and the service was wonderful. The hotel has been restored and is "old world style". The staff was very nice and accommodating. The subway is just across the street. There are several entrances and the numbering system on the elevators is a bit odd. The WP floor is for the William Penn exit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WmPenn, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your stay. We appreciate your kind comments and hope you will be returning soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing