We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for an old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had never stayed in downtown Pittsburgh, so I was excited. Our stay at the Omni San Francisco was so good we decided to try Pittsburgh's Omni. As far as the hotel, we reserved a King room and were given a Queen. Didn't change it because we spent the day at the Carnegie Museum (worth a trip) and were tired when we checked in. The bed itself wasn't very comfortable either.

Best part of the stay was the Terrace Room restaurant. Our server, Gravos, was wonderful and the food well worth the price. Downtown Pitt at night is nothing like San Francisco. Not much around was open and it was too cold to take a long stroll. You need a car if you want to site see. We parked in a lot near the hotel instead of paying for the $30 valet service. I think max at the garage was $16/day, but the next morning all we paid was $5, and it's very close.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gina7167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by Gravos. It will be a pleasure for us to share your compliment with him. We do apologize that you did not receive your originally requested room type. If you return to our hotel, and we hope you will, please do not hesitate to let us know if any aspect of your stay is not as you anticipated and we will do everything we can to make to make the appropriate changes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,759 - 3,765 of 4,451 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed at the Omni last weekend for a one night stay, when every hotel in the city and surrounding areas were sold out due to the Steelers game, Pitt game and a Bruce Springsteen concert. Thought we were in for a great experience, based on most Trip Advisor review. The public areas were nice, but carpeting was very dirty throughout and paint was nicked and peeling in the hallways. We checked in after 6:00 pm and were given room 1025. The room was large enough, but the bathrooms (one full and one 1/2 bath with sink and toilet) were so tiny you could barely close the door around yourself. The lighting was almost non-existent, the towels were like thin rags, the thermostat control was inoperable and the air vent was covered with balck dirt (possibly mold?) We were only staying the night and did not complain, as we knew when we checked in that the hotel was fully booked. We discovered in the morning that the shower did not drain and I ended up standing in 4 inches of water. My husband and son decided to wait until we returned home later that day to shower, as standing in dirty water was not very appealing. After checkout in the morning, we went to the attached Brueger's bagels to get breakfast and left, as it was filthy. Went to the attached Starbucks, which wasn't much cleaner. I received a survey from the hotel later that day via email, and immediately returned it. To their credit, I received a phone message from Guest Services that they were now aware of all the maintenance issues in the room and were going to try to remedy the issues. Part of my disappointment with the hotel lies in the fact that we are loyal to the Four Seasons and Ritz Carlton Brands and rarely visit cities where they are not available. The Omni couldn't even come close to a four or five star hotel. I understand this is an old hotel, but simple repairs, clean carpet and better quality linens are to be expected at a hotel that was almost $450.00 with tax a night. I would never consider staying here again if ever in Pittsburgh.

Stayed: October 2012
Thank JK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your review. We value guest feedback and appreciate the honest and candid comments. Having your room number is very helpful as it will allow us to address the concerns raised by your review regarding your room in addition to your other comments. Please accept our apologies for your less than stellar experience and we hope we will have an opportunity to prove ourselves on a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a huge hotel with 5 star quality. Rooms are clean, service is impeccable, I can't say enough good things. Only negative is that the elevators are a bit of a wait due to so many floors in the building.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for leaving your complimentary review. We are glad you had a great stay at the Omni William Penn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is my favorite hotel anywhere, and I have traveled across the US, Europe and Asia. I have business meetings every October that move from hotel to hotel each year, but I always book this hotel and walk if necessary. It is classic, and one can feel the class and history just walking in. The fitness room is top notch and well maintained, the best I have seen in a hotel.

My only suggestion is to install a ramp at the front door to enable easier entrance and exit with luggage. It would also be grand if they could work with the owners of the garage across the street to install a ramp there as well.

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank World H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are thrilled to be your favorite hotel and thank you for choosing to stay with us each year when your travels bring you to Pittsburgh. Although there is a ramp at one of our entrances, we will share your feedback regarding a front ramp with our management team as we consider future enhancements. In addition your comments will be forwarded to the owner's of our parking garage. Thank you again for all of your complimentary words and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A little pricey but worth it for the excellent and thoughtful service in all aspects. The rooms are beautiful and well-maintained. The staff are attentive and actually seem to like working there, always a good sign. If you're there for a weekend, do NOT miss the Sunday brunch.

Room Tip: We were in a room with 2 double beds, which happened to be part of a larger suite area. It was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was the 2nd time we stayed at this amazing hotel. Normally i am not a fan of staying in hotels in the city due to noise and other factors. However, though there has been construction around this hotel lately, it still is a beautiful and classy hotel to stay at. The food at the restaurant has always been remarkable. The staff has always been kind and incredibly helpful. Also, there is a Starbucks inside the hotel, which can be convenient, and the hotel is a walk away from restaurants, shopping, and beautiful sight seeing. Stay here if you want to experience rich history and a glamorous view of what surrounds you.

Room Tip: First time we stayed in a room facing another historical building, with what looked to be like a got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comedicmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

We are grateful for your generous recommendation of the Omni William Penn on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your continued patronage to our hotel and we hope you will return again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Nice staff, beautiful hotel and friendly people. The valet people were right on top of it, took care of car and brought it back in less than ten minutes. The front desk answered any problems. The exercise room was large and had up to date equipment that was clean and well maintained. Maps were available for walking tours of the city. Obtaining information as to places to eat was easy. We were given many options within a short walking distance.

Room Tip: the higher up the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawyer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your positive review of the Omni William Penn. It was our pleasure to provide you with a great stay and we hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 73 in Pittsburgh
884 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $142 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, HotelPower, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing