We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This hotel is quite beautiful and historic. The lobby literally takes your breath away, and the doormen, and valet staff could not have been more helpful and nice. My only complaint was that something was missing. I think when you stay at a hotel at this price in Pittsburgh, and it is this beautiful, you expect the service to be top notch, and it was not. Like I said above, the staff that greets you upon arrival, and the staff that helps you with your car and luggage, were wonderful. However, my family and I felt that while staying in the room, the staff was not at par for the type of hotel we were staying in. Room service was very late more often that not. There were socks in our drawers from people who had stayed here previously, which made me question how thoroughly the room was cleaned. During our entire stay, our water glasses, which were removed by housekeeping after being used, were never replaced. Our coffee tray was left outside of our door by housekeeping in the morning, and when we returned late that evening, it was STILL outside our door. Given that housekeeping had placed it there, we assumed that they either forgot to inform room service, or that room service forgot to pick it up. Either way, it was not a welcome sight to see this at 9pm that evening.

Like I said, the hotel is beautiful, the room was very nice, but there was something missing from the service. Everyone seemed to be more nonchalant than what is expected at a hotel like this. It felt like they were trying to put forth a high-end hotel, but came up short in some areas.

I would definitely stay here again however, as I did not feel that any of this would warrant going to another hotel, but I do feel that the staff may need a bit more training, or that the rough edges just need to be smoothed out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tms10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We appreciate your candid feedback and regret that we missed the opportunity to wow you with our service during your time with us. We agree with you that none of those details should have been missed. We will share your concerns with our associates as a reminder of how important it is to make sure that each of our guests has the luxury experience they deserve. Thank you for still considering us for future Pittsburgh stays and we are certain that your next visit will exceed all of your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,461)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,777 - 3,783 of 4,461 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a 1920's kind of hotel. Yes it is old and apparently "the" place to stay. The staff was very polite and mistakenly told us we would have to wait till 12 noon for our room. However it took a few minutes to convince them that the room was reserved specifically for 9am. We sorted it out and went to the room. Hint don't get there early, it's not gonna happen.
The hotel itself is an antique kind of hotel. All the furnishings are rich in wood and in "fair" shape. the lighting throughout the hotel is poor at best, giving you that 1920's feel. It's cozy but you have to like it. I personally wanted a lot more light in my room. I marked the room down one just for the lighting. otherwise the rooms are very nice and large.
There are many elevators so waiting is not an issue there. The rooms are very roomy but suffice it to say the views from most of the rooms are of the building next door. That's not a bad thing because they are quiet. Airconditioning worked well and the TV was a nice large one.
Location was super, it's right downtown and everything is within walking distance. Having said that don't bring a car, it'll cost you $27 a day to park.
I was going to note the workout room but couldn't find it despite directions from the front desk. no signs anywhere in the lobby to guide you. No I wasn't going to workout just look at it for this review. No pool.
For the price you can do much better. If the company is paying then go for it mainly because it is conveniently located.

If you find this helpful please make sure you let me know by marking it helpful.
thanks
Berny

Room Tip: higher up with a view would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BaronFoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for reviewing the Omni William Penn. It was very helpful for us to read your perspective and we appreciate all of your comments both good and constructive. Please accept our apologies that there was initially an issue with allowing you to check in early. We are glad it was quickly resolved and we hope you will stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On a recent trip through Pittsburgh we stayed at this hotel for just one night - I wish we had been able to stay longer to see more of the city and enjoy the hotel. This hotel is massive, taking up an entire city block. There are two lobbies, and each is grand and beautiful. I read a brochure about the history of the hotel and it said there used to be 1500 rooms and now there are around 550. That explains why our room on the 10th floor was so HUGE! And with two bathrooms (one full, one half bath). The bed, linens and toiletries were top notch. Everything was spotlessly clean and in good repair. The Tap Room is a cozy pub off the lobby with Dogfish Head on tap (among several others) so that gets bonus points!

One hint for future visitors: the charge for internet is $9.95/day but you can get it free by joining the Omni frequent guest program (also free) either before arrival or at the desk upon check-in (as I did). The WiFi signal in our room was weak in the far corners but overall did work fine.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We wish you could have stayed longer too! Thank you for allowing us to read about your stay and we hope we will have a future opportunity to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

It was a pleasure to stay at this classic hotel that was renovated in the 80s to enlarge the rooms (cutting the number of rooms in half). It looks and feels like the 1920s except the rooms are first rate. LED lamps on the beds provide personal reading lights, a LED floor light activates if you get out of bed so you can see where you are walking. Outlets are built into the side of the desk and nightstand for all of your electronics. Wireless Internet also. Good restaurants, good food and a great location in downtown Pittsburgh close to everything. First rate hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFAW_NDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review of the Omni William Penn. We are glad you had a great stay and hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We loved staying at this grand old hotel. The lobby is spectacular and retains all the elegance of the early 20th century, when the hotel was built. Our check-in was swift. Our room was spacious and well-appointed. The bathroom was also quite large.
The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a huge selection of food. The waiter who took care of us was most gracious and efficient. The coffee was great--Starbucks, our waiter explained.
When we returned to the hotel after a day of sight-seeing one of the security employees at the hotel took us on a most fascinating personal tour of the hotel...which is steeped in history. He explained to us all the history of this hotel, about all the dignitaries who have stayed here, and many other details...which made staying at this historic hotel even nicer. He showed us so much interesting memorabilia here at the hotel--including Lawrence Welk's first bubble-maker, which we particularly liked. We also enjoyed seeing the room where Bob Hope proposed to Dolores.
The hotel is very centrally located downtown. You must park at a parking garage across the street, about a 3 minute walk then to the hotel. The parking is $5 per day.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the upper floors--they are much nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arleneraya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time at the Omni William Penn. It is always fun for us to share the history of our hotel and we are glad you took advantage of a personal tour. Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We had a great experience staying one night at Omni William Penn Hotel in Pittsburg... The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable... The staff were very nice and the food tasted so delicious at the hotel restaurent. This is a great hotel for couples however I didn't see very many children there. Parking is alittle expensive but so are most other hotels in the area. This hotel is located in a very central area and was easy to find.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VacationHappy034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for allowing us to read about your experience at the Omni William Penn. Although there may not have been many children during your visit, we do welcome families and even have some special perks for our youngest guests. We appreciate all of your feedback and hope for an opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at The Omni William Penn for 5 nights while my husband was doing business. As we were also accompanied by our 2 children aged 2 and 3.5 years, we chose the William Penn because of Omni's children's program.



It is a beautiful hotel and is ideally located directly opposite the "T" – Pittsburgh's new and mostly free subway. This gave us very convenient access to the Carnegie Science Museum and Pittsburgh Children's Museum which were perfect for our little ones.



Unfortunately our experience at the hotel was really disappointing.



• Service charges are confusing and inconsistent so its difficult to know when and who to tip. For instance, 20% service charge is automatically added to room service, along with a $2.95 delivery charge, but no service charge is added to restaurant bills.



• The aforementioned service charge and delivery fee meant that we were charged $11 for two glasses of milk for our children on our first night. I consider this to be extortionate! Especially when they apparently offer a milk and cookies service as part of their special kids program which we didn't receive.



• Food is very expensive and very hit and miss. DO NOT ORDER THE PAN PIZZA or anything with the sausage topping. I'm not sure the sausage is even made from meat. The chicken quesadilla from the in-room dining menu was nice though.



• Our room wasn't serviced on our first day (Sunday). When we phoned housekeeping at 6pm to ask if they could please empty our rubbish bins (as we had dirty nappies) they were annoyed and not apologetic, leaving us wondering if we had unusual expectations. When our housekeeper arrived we asked her if it was normal for the rooms not to be serviced daily. Although apologetic, her response was that they had been really busy because a local sports team was staying in the hotel and when they stay (apparently not unusual) its very chaotic. She explained this like we would obviously comprehend how their importance would impact our room servicing, however not being American let alone from Pittsburgh we failed to be dazzled by the idea of sporting celebrities in our midst.



• The room amenities are insufficient and they don't provide body wash/bubble bath or shower caps. I know they are little things but when you're paying a LOT of money, you expect them and when you specifically ask for them and they don't have them its a surprise.



• My husband was supposed to have some shirts pressed free of charge after joining the Omni loyalty program. He waited almost and hour after calling housekeeping for their collection before calling again to remind them, then 2 people turned up at once 15 minutes later. Six hours later they still hadn't been returned so we asked the concierge to find them and they were returned in the same condition as they were sent. We gave up and ironed them in the room.



• The staff try hard and are friendly but the constant phone calls from Guest Services checking if everything is ok are very annoying, especially when they sound so taken aback when you answer their questions with negative feedback. It also feels a bit like they're asking you to dob on their staff and at the very least it disturbs your peace. I think its much better to give feedback when you next call down or check-out.



• We also didn't get welcome packs for the kids because they'd run out. We did however receive sippy cups, crayons and colouring pages at breakfast which were very welcome.



• Although the whole hotel is apparently non-smoking we woke up to a room stinking of cigarette smoke on many occasions. I think they need to reconsider this policy to allow smokers their own space.

All in all I think the William Penn is potentially a great hotel let down by little things. And it is WAY TOO EXPENSIVE – for accommodation and expenses once you're inside. We have stayed in NYC in similar style for less.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TresFabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

It was very disheartening for us to read about your experience at our hotel and we regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations during your time with us. Regardless of who else is staying in the property, each guest deserves to be treated with the service, products, and professionalism that we are known for. Please know that your review will be shared with our entire management team as we are always looking for feedback that will allow us to enhance our service. Please accept our apologies for your less than stellar experience and we hope that will have a future opportunity to provide you with a stay that exceeds your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 73 in Pittsburgh
887 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $130 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelPower, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing