We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The William Penn is FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have stayed at the Omni William Penn in Pittsburgh several times over the past few months, and it is always a great experience. The main areas and rooms are very clean and well-maintained. And the inside of the hotel, particularly the lobby, is absolutely beautiful. Although it is an older hotel, I think that is the source of its charm and beauty. They amenities are very nice, the rooms are updated if not renovated, room service is prompt and accommodating, the restaurants are very good and maintain comfortable atmospheres, and the hotel staff attends your every need! I would recommend this hotel over any other in the area without hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for a room with an updated or large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELIZABETH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for your recommendation of The Omni William Penn and for your loyalty to our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stays with us and we will look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,268)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,789 - 3,795 of 4,268 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was a very lovely and charming older hotel in the heart of downtown Pittsburgh. The room was a bit small but very nice. The bed was comfortable which is always very important to me! The hotel staff were helpful and friendly. I was there for a work conference but I would certainly choose this hotel if I were traveling to Pittsburgh for any other reason

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephie0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

We appreciate your complimentary review of The Omni William Penn. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we hope to have you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Omni William Penn Hotel has alot class as well as history. Lawrence Welk, his orchestra and his famous bubble machine played there. Bob Hope proposed to his wife Delores at the Omni William Penn. Many celebrities and of course, Steelers fans love this place. It was exciting to stay at such a beautifully preserved and well maintained hotel. Service was excellent. My favorite spot was the Prevail hair salon-definitely try it!!! Also, the Omni Willam Penn is a very cool place to host a special event. The food is wonderful and the banquet rooms are gorgeous! The Omni William Penn has every modern convenience and yet, there is a timelessness about this vintage hotel. Pittsburgh, treasure it.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 16th floor are under the banquet rooms. If you are concerned that a party's mus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greekgoddess51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

We do our best to protect the history and character of our hotel while providing modern conveniences and are glad to see this well reflected in your review. It was a pleasure for us to read about your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I had a very good experience here. The hotel is an older hotel but is very nicely kept up with modern conveniences. I had a king room that was a bit on the small size but very comfy. Unfortunately, it must have been a smoking room because I couldn't shake the smell even with the windows open. However, when I asked to be switched that said "no problem" and put me in a suite that was very nice and roomy. The bed was very comfortable.

Services in the hotel are extensive. It has a big Starbucks, a few restaurants. convenience store, shoe shine, fitness center, and a great big lobby. You can go with self park for $14/day or valet for about $27/day.

Walkable restaurants outside the hotel are a little slim and you can find yourself on questionable streets if you turn the wrong way at night.

Overall a great stay in a very cleam hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rahsaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2011

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Omni William Penn. We are thrilled that our associates were able to quickly relocate and upgrade you to a better room but apologize that the first room was not up to par. We are glad the remainder of your stay went well and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Love this hotel. most rooms are a comfortable in size and furnishings. However, some rooms are smaller in size, particularly in regard to the bathrooms.

location is decent, especially for those on business. The two restaurants (one a pub, the other a formal dining room) are very good. in most instances the price for an evening is around $130, a bargain.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend for a wedding. The King bed was soooo comfortable! The bathroom was very clean and the shower had overhead lighting. They provided more than enough towels too. There was a small refrigerator in the bedroom and the bedroom itself was a good size... not cramped like other hotels I've been too. Of course the price wouldn't be so cheap regularly but we had a discount because of the wedding. All in all, enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would stay here again. I only rated it 4 because the internet wasn't free.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frustratedbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Omni William Penn. Please accept our apologies if we did not make you aware of our complimentary Select Guest program which includes many perks, one of them being wifi at no charge. If you return we hope you will sign up so that we may provide you with a stay that earns us a 5!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Charming hotel, particularly at Christmas and Thanksgiving when I stayed. The downstairs lobby is a throwback to earlier times, with high ceilings and lots of carved wood. A tall decorated tree adorned the lobby cafe area. It was cold outside and snowing, which made things all the more picturesque. Nice fitness center. Loved the hot cider which was available by the desk. Parking convenient although a little cold. (Maybe valet would be better but I was too cheap). Good service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

We are pleased to read that you liked spending time at The Omni William Penn during the holidays. Our associates enjoy the opportunity to make our lobby festive and are delighted that their efforts made your trip more memorable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will return soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $149 - $448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing