We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very clean”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel this past weekend for a wedding. The King bed was soooo comfortable! The bathroom was very clean and the shower had overhead lighting. They provided more than enough towels too. There was a small refrigerator in the bedroom and the bedroom itself was a good size... not cramped like other hotels I've been too. Of course the price wouldn't be so cheap regularly but we had a discount because of the wedding. All in all, enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would stay here again. I only rated it 4 because the internet wasn't free.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frustratedbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We are glad you enjoyed your time at The Omni William Penn. Please accept our apologies if we did not make you aware of our complimentary Select Guest program which includes many perks, one of them being wifi at no charge. If you return we hope you will sign up so that we may provide you with a stay that earns us a 5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,774
    893
    285
    109
    47
See reviews for
798
1,141
162
1,499
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Charming hotel, particularly at Christmas and Thanksgiving when I stayed. The downstairs lobby is a throwback to earlier times, with high ceilings and lots of carved wood. A tall decorated tree adorned the lobby cafe area. It was cold outside and snowing, which made things all the more picturesque. Nice fitness center. Loved the hot cider which was available by the desk. Parking convenient although a little cold. (Maybe valet would be better but I was too cheap). Good service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We are pleased to read that you liked spending time at The Omni William Penn during the holidays. Our associates enjoy the opportunity to make our lobby festive and are delighted that their efforts made your trip more memorable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you will return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I recently stayed here for 3 nights in October 2011. My only complaint or issue was with the AC in the room. It just wouldn't get cool enough for me. We were able to open the windows which remedied the problem. Overall a nice place in a great location. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caniac2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay at The Omni William Penn. We apologize that the room was not a comfortable temperature for you but are glad to hear that opening the windows remedied the situation. We are glad that you otherwise had a good stay and we hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. Just about everything was perfect. They have 24 hour reception who were extremely pleasant and very efficient. Due to bad weather my flight to Pittsburgh was delayed and I didn't arrive into the hotel until 1.50am. Check-in took less than 3 minutes as they had already taken care of the paperwork. I called room service for a snack and it arrived 20 minutes later beautifully prepared. I also asked for breakfast to be served in my room for 8.00am and right on the dot of eight they knocked on my door with, once more, a beautifully prepared and scrumptious breakfast. The room was very large and clean as was the bathroom. Plenty of towels and accessories and good shower - not too powerful. This hotel has an old fashioned air of elegance about it. From the moment the doorman helps you enter into the hotel, the impression the luxurious surroundings with the crystal chandeliers gives is one of comfort and opulance. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. My room was on the 14th floor with no street view.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Thank you for all of your kind remarks about your recent stay at The Omni William Penn. We truly enjoyed reading your review and are pleased that we could provide you with a great stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Had a nice time at this hotel. Overall good feel to the place. Some of the areas in the lobby area and restaurant area are quite grand and from a different, more golden age.
Have seen one or two celebrities, after their shows at nearby venues, hanging out here.
Love the schmaltziness of some of the main rooms.
Nice looking from the outside.
When we were here there was a protest outside and it was pretty loud-- protests over labor laws and politicians-- and we were surprised how loud and clear it came in through the closed windows on a sunday morning. We were just regular folks with a good price on a hotel, but felt like we were being stormed in the castle.
The rooms are very different-- some very mirrored, some more subdued, some are like "boudoirs", some more staid.... I'd come back here for sure. It reminded me of old world Pittsburgh.

Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NoneNamedYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We appreciate your review of The Omni William Penn. Please accept our apologies for the distraction caused by protestors near the hotel. This is certainly not the norm and we regret that it provided you with an early morning wake up call. We are glad that you had an otherwise great stay and we look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buffalo ny
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

I bought this hotel from priceline for $125 including taxes.I checked hotel site and rooms were $269 and up.The lobby is posh. It really was like stepping in the past.Vintage furniture,2 huge chandeliers.it was impressive. front desk area had lemonade,coffee and fresh apples.(a nice touch) The hallways on the floors had a chandelier every 5 feet. We didnt try the restaurants but looked nice.The Starbucks was great.
When I spoke to hotel I req a king room smoking and stated we had to be in by 1 or 2. At 2.45 I was told guest was still in room and it could be a few hours.That wasnt possible because we had tickets for a 3.30 event.They gave us a queen room.I read reviews that some rooms were small but this was comical.It was the size of a babies nursery.We couldnt even walk by each other it was so small.We are not small people and the bed was also too small for us.Front desk then said all they could give us was a room with 2 doubles.Now,that room was huge.At least 3 times the size of other room.2 beds was inconvenient but we made do. Flat screen tv, nice desk and chairs.view was of brick wall .
they asked us to sign up for some program for extra perks(like the early check in we didnt get).free wifi, coffee to room.we didnt really utilize that.in return they would put us on there email list.Unless you need wifi its kind of a waste of time.But it is a great hotel.If you are in Pittsburgh,STAY here. Priceline is a gamble with name your own price but I use it all the time and get great hotels in major cities for at least 50 or 60% off. Used underground parking ramp and it was $13.75 for 24 hours on a Sunday night stay.Other then little hassle getting room I did love this place.But if you want to make sure you get this place on priceline or whatever pay directly to hotel and expect $300+ per night. P.S It was cool that John Kennedy stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seablu04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
We regret that were not able to find you the perfect accommodations during your stay but are glad that everything worked out for you to enjoy your time with us. If you return, we will do our best to honor any early check in or room requests. Thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you will be our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Haven't been here for a few months and was pleasantly reminded what a great hotel this is.

I was greeted warmly at reception with check-in documents already prepared and handed to me in about 30 seconds.

The room was large, traditionally furnished, nicely decorated, with plenty of light -- 3 way bulbs in all 4 lamps. The flat screen TV was large enough to clearly see across the room. There was a desk and separate sitting area with two comfortable chairs and a comfortable king size bed.

Marble bathroom was small but very adequate with plenty of light. I could step in the shower, pull the curtains and still have plenty of light. Even the toilet was a "quiet" flush.

All the staff were very warm and friendly -- even the maid when I declined their evening turn-down service; the concierge that called the first night to offer her assistance during my stay; the staff that I passed in the corridors; the reception staff updating my bill at checkout. Everyone made an effort!

Omni has a superb frequent guest program that offers free morning beverage delivered to your room and free wi-fi just for signing up. I always had coffee delivered and left at the door in the morning - often with breakfast. They even had Kashi cereal - my favorite.

Although I have enjoyed many meals at their dining room in the past, this time I took advantage of the Tap Room- a dark wood pub setting with several TVs and a menu of salads, sandwiches and a few entrees . I couldn't resist the pierogies and kielbasi one night and the fish sandwich the next. Vegetables didn't seem to be a part of many dishes (except the vegetarian sandwich or salads) but it was fun food. The Tap Room generally seemed less expensive than the dining room but, on the other hand, I couldn't resist the $19 glass of Pino Noir. If you are dining alone, this is a good place to watch news and sports on TV while eating. It does get very busy at times -- the waitresses are always on the move.

The hotel is in downtown Pittsburgh -- very convenient to the business district. There are also a number of nice restaurants nearby which the concierge can recommend. For me, this trip was mostly long days at work with a quick meal at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViewontheHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We are glad that after your long days of work you felt comfortable and well taken care of at The Omni William Penn. Thank you for choosing us as one of your preferred Pittsburgh hotels and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.0 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cambria Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Omni Hotels & Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing