We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More style than substance” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni William Penn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omni William Penn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“More style than substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2007

General

19-NOV-2007

The Omni William Penn in Pittsburgh is a typical Omni property: more style than substance. As with most things, it is the details that matter and Omni William Penn suffers from lack of attention to detail.

THe hotel is entirely adequate, and is recommended. There are few things that need attention, however.

Bathrooms

Pipes not properly fitted to walls are the most glaring thing here,
and the fact that shower was not the cleanest one I have ever seen.

Sleeping Area

Very nice, soft, clean bed linens made it a pleasure to sleep here. If one has to be away from home on business, at least have a soft, clean bed.

Services

Shower walls never properly cleaned, buildup of scum.

  • Liked — The lobby is awesome
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to detail in some areas
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank terryjgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2007
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at the Omni William Penn Hotel. We appreciate the kind comments on the bed, and we are sharing your comments on the bathroom cleanliness with our Director of Housekeeping and also our Resident Manager. We are in the process of refurbishing our guest rooms, so this should address the piping issues that you mention. We have completed three floors currently, with the remainder of guest rooms slated for 2008. Thank you again for your feedback. It is through candid customer comments such as yours that we are able to improve your experience with our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,487
    828
    260
    95
    39
See reviews for
694
1,029
152
1,371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

The lobby here is amazing, with a great restaurant (though pricey!). The rooms are always nice, but the elevators are scary! They stop and start awful swoopily! Definately will stay again though!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksquared26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2007
Thank you for feedback on the Omni William Penn. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope for the opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2007

I grew up in Pittsburgh and after being away for many years wanted to reunite with a family member. We selected the William Penn Hotel where my mother worked in the 1930s. We booked 3 months in advance and called that day to reconfirm our reservation. After driving 12 hours tired but excited about this reunion in this special place, we were met by a desk clerk who said they had overbooked and our reservation was not to be honored. They put is in a taxi and sent us to another hotel -- reservations mean nothing -- a disappointed experience and a very long drive home.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
Helpful?
3 Thank berres215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2007
We deeply regret that we were unable to honor your reservations on your recent trip to Pittsburgh. We obviously did not live up to our promise, and for this we apologize. We always strive to honor each and every reservation, and unfortunately from time to time we are faced with circumstances beyond our control. (ie. Extended stay's, etc.)
Regardless of the situation, we realize the inconvenience and disappointment that you were faced with, and we are hopeful that you will provide us with an opportunity to redeem ourselves during your next visit to Pittsburgh. Thank you for your candid feedback, as it is the only way that we are able to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugerties, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

The service at the Omni was excellent during our stay - very warm and helpful. Every time we asked for anything, they were more than happy to accommodate. The rooms are a comfortable size, and thoughtfully furnished. The beds are especially comfy. There is a Starbucks in the lobby. There were a few oddities for a 5-star hotel, such as: no minibars in the rooms (apparently available upon request), and no dvd player in the room, or even available to borrow or rent. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return, but I would say this is an exceptional 4-star property, not quite a 5-star.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank hollymnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2007
The Management of the Omni William would like to thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is always a pleasure for us to hear of our guests' positive experiences and this is no exception. We do hope to have you return and will look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2007

We have stayed im Omni Hotels several times and this makes our second to this. We realized the great deals we could now get on Priceline. Its a great hotel and the service was the same as our previous visits at rack rate. The rooms are great and newly rennovated. The lobby has a pianist on weekend nights, its the sure bet for Pittsburgh

  • Stayed March 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cookbritish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2007
Thank you for reviewing the Omni William Penn. We appreciate your favorable feedback and your endorsement of our property. On your next trip to Pittsburgh, we hope to have you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2007

The exterior of the Omni William Penn fails to provide evidence of the high quality that awaits visitors upon arrival. The hotel is located in the center of downtown close to all major office towers. Both Macy's and Brooks Brothers are in the same block of the hotel, which speaks well of the neighborhood surrounding the OWP. I arrived very early in the morning and called the hotel in advance to see if my room could be ready at 8:00 AM. While most hotels would never allow check-in at this ridicilous hour, the OWP was more than happy to approve my request.

My room faced due east and was bathed in sunshine on my arrival. It would large for what one considers as a standard room, and filled with high-class furniture. The bed was extra confortable compared to most other hotels. My bathroom was particularly clean. I always expect to see a little mold and chipped paint in the bathroom- None Here at the OWP. I found the daily maid service exceptional. The maid left plenty of towels each day and clean-up after my making a mess with dirty shoes one day. My only complaint about the room was a less than expected air conditioner. The AC struggled to keep the room cool enough to my liking, although outside temperatures were in the 80's.

I found the variety of food and drink above average. I dined in the Terrace and was particularly fond of the breakfasts. There were ample trained waiters who made dining here worth staying in the hotel. There is a Stabucks and Bruegars Bagels on premises for those looking for a quick bite. I also frequented the Tap Room that was packed with fans before a hockey game at the Mellon Ctr. The drinks were cold and storng to my liking.

The front desk and vallet staff did a fine job throughout my stay. I have to say everyone at the Omni William Penn worked very hard to make sure I was happy. They are trained professionals in every respect, and I will be happy to return here on my next visit to Pittsburgh.

Overall, the OWP rates very high and I highly recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Professional Service by Hotel Staff
  • Disliked — So-So Air Conditioner
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank gfkr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2007
Your gracious review of the Omni William Penn is greatly appreciated. We are pleased that almost all aspects of your stay exceeded your expectations and we are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2007

Second time I've stayed at this remarkable property. Excellent by every measure--there are simply no negatives. Swanky, opulent, a Waldorf feel at a Holiday Inn price. $5 to park your car for the weekend? If anyone gives this place less that 5 stars I don't know what they 're used to; maybe they're a maharaja or something.

  • Liked — It's extraordiary---so much luxury at a reasonable price
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay there forever
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quaznoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni William Penn Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2007
The management of the Omni William Penn would like to thank you for your complimentary review. We work hard to provide affordable luxury and are delighted to find that reflected in your stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni William Penn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni William Penn Hotel

Property: Omni William Penn Hotel
Address: 530 William Penn Place, Pittsburgh, PA 15219-1820
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#2 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Luxury Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni William Penn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 597
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This classic downtown hotel, known as the "Grand Dame" of Pittsburgh, has defined history and elegance since its opening in 1916. A recent multi-million dollar renovation modernized this property to meet the needs of today's traveler. This luxury property is known for its outstanding service, guest room accommodation, award-winning dining and its city center location. The Omni William Penn is situated in the heart of downtown with easy access to sporting, culture, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Omni William Penn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Pittsburgh
Omni Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing