We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel... Going back next month !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Ranked #48 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pa
2 reviews
“Excellent Hotel... Going back next month !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We were visiting the Burgh on a 4 day weekend getaway. This hotel is located minutes away from the downtown area and with the highway system you're only minutes away from everything. The staff, from checking in at the front desk to the cleaning service... was polite, curteous and very helpful. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed 3 nights ( thurs. - sun.) and everytime we came back our room it was spotless. Plenty of restaurants in the area, with Denny's sitting right next door within walking distance. I highly recommend Foxes Pizza Den if you're hungry for a late night snack.
Shopping for anything you might need or want is easy cuz there is the Robinson Mall and a Wal-Mart located within minutes. Taking everything into consideration, I highly recommend this hotel to everyone visiting the Burgh or just stopping by for a night !!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    110
    58
    34
    19
See reviews for
80
86
53
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Stayed here Thursday and Friday night. Room was very clean and comfortable. The location was quiet, on slope overlooking the Robinson Town malls. Only noise was early morning departure of truckers who seem to like to stay here.

No breakfast offered and no coffee maker in the room. A minor irritation - the shampoo in 'hard to open with wet hands' plastic pouches instead of easy to open little bottles that most hotels now provide.

Another irritation - the Red Roof website from which I booked does not have the option providing a senior or any other discount rate. You are advised to put "senior rate" in the comments section, and the motel will adjust the rate accordingly. Didn't happen, of course.

Enough minor irritations that I likely wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ronw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peru
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2007

Very clean and comfortable motel. Very close to shopping areas, resturants and to the Pittsburgh Airport. If your looking for a reasonalbe price motel, this is it. Right next door is a Denny's resturant. It was almost completely sold out while we stayed there, but we never heard any loud noise or people in the ajoining rooms.

  • Liked — location and price
  • Disliked — no coffee maker in room
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bearsgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

Very good service, clean, no breakfast but Denny’s is right over there, very easy to find, safe area, 24 hours places around. Could it be better?

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara-Euzebia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2006

We were arriving at the Pittsburgh airport late at night and decided to stay overnight near the airport rather than driving the 80 miles to our next destination. We chose this hotel because TripAdvisor reviews said it was good for this purpose.
The price was right - $64.99. The hotel desk staff people were very nice.The hotel has outside entrances (which we don't like) and this was probably the reason we found three flying insects in the room. The room was basically clean. The beds were a little soft. The bathroom was clean, but it was the smallest size we'd ever seen, roughly 7' x 5' (including the tub/shower). The hotel was easy to find in a convenient location with places to shop for basics and a couple of restaurants close by.
In all, we would not choose to stay here for an extended number of days, but for one night after a long day of work and travel, it served it's purpose.

  • Liked — Location near the airport and low price
  • Disliked — Outside entances and no complimentary breakfast. Bathroom too small
  • Tips/Secrets — I wouldn't stay too long, but one night was OK
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank WCubed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2006

October 25 and 30. 2006
Stayed at hotel for one nite at a trip beginning and one at the trip end., both late arrivals.
The staff was very friendly and the hotel very clean, with newly remodeled rooms. Shuttle service from the airport was perfect.
A plus for me because I had been traveling all day both times and arrived very late, was the fact that the hotel is less than 100 hundred steps (I counted) from a 24 hour restaurant..
I chose to book at the Red Roof website and their internet rates could not be beat by any of the others.

  • Liked — clean , neat, cheap
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cremona, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2006

I was traveling by myself, so i choosed a room with single bed. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was pretty small but very clean, comfortable, and with an amazing TV with something like 60 channels, Movies, and TV internet on demand...
The best value hotel at about 15 mins from downtown Pittsburgh and very short distance from several dining places, Giant Eagle and a huge shopping mall.
Keep up that good work!!!
Recommended 100%

Michele Mariaschi

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DarthMick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#62 of 68 in Pittsburgh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Coraopolis
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#55 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing