We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Ranked #49 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed February 28, 2014

I arrived at night and the lady was rather rude when I checked in. She was better when i asked about a hair dryer later. Overall, I had no issues with the room...except the toilet had not flushed all of the way and the housekeeper should have noticed. Room was quiet, very little parking and great location to interstate, airport, malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minx9114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 351 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Ava and Holly and the house keeping were amazing. I want to single Holly out for accommodating me. I had an issue with my room and she immediately switched it thus providing superior customer service. Also she was working alone when I came to check in and she had everything under control even though she was busy. Then I heard when she left the front desk she did some house keeping. Ava was super nice and personable also.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smile4u2injoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

In early February I spent five nights at the Red Roof, Pittsburgh South Airport location. I am in Pittsburgh frequently, and I always stay at this particular property. It is very close to numerous restaurants and shopping facilities. It is convenient to both downtown Pittsburgh and Pittsburgh International and provides highly dependable courtesy shuttle service to the airport, as well. The property was recently completely redecorated, and the new look and amenities are most attractive and comfortable.

While all of these factors are important, my primary reason for staying at the Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport is the welcoming, accommodating demeanor exhibited by the front desk staff. Each agent, in his or her own way, makes guests feel so appreciated. Ava, Bill, Carolyn, Phyllis and Sharon go out of their way to make us feel at home, and I want to thank each and every one of them.

In this instance, I want to particularly acknowledge the thoughtfulness of Sharon. I checked in on Feb. 1st. When Sharon discovered that I was there that evening, she called my room to see how I was doing and if I needed anything. It occurred to me that Sharon always does this on the first shift she works after I have checked in. This kind of personal attention certainly makes you feel as if you are at home. It is the many thoughtful little gestures like this regularly exhibited by Sharon and her coworkers at the front desk that make my every experience at the Red Roof Pittsburgh South so memorable and delightful. It is their personal concern for guests that keeps so many of us returning to that property again and again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marion l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was great. Very clean . Tony and Carolyn was great working with them . My truck was down and this was a great place to stay. Im looking forward to doing business here again. If you want a great stay then come here .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Poor advertising... "select rooms" only have coffee, microwave and refrigerator!!! Not a good place for a business man. Housekeeping was a hit or miss, forgot to leave cups! On the positive side, great location to businesses and restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moon-mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Upon arrival, we entered our room and thought it was quite odd that the TV was on. After unpacking and getting settled in, we finally wanted to watch some tv. Well...the remote did not work. We couldn't even get the battery cover off to check for batteries. I called the front desk,and the woman said, "you will have to bring me the remote." It was 20 degrees outside, and late. I was not about to go out in the cold all the way up to the main office (we were in the way back of the hotel). We ended up just using the manual buttons on the tv to find a show to watch. That obviously is not the worst thing that can happen at a hotel, we just dealt with it.
I do agree with a previous reviewer regarding the clientel that stay at the hotel. We were in the way back, 2nd building, on the 2 floor with an interior door entry. You would think that would be a safe, quite location? Well, both nights, late in the evening, the people were slamming doors and talking very loud. I called the front desk and the woman said she would send up a security guard to check things out...."a security guard?"
Overall, our room was fine. I said to my husband, as long as we are in the room, it seems ok for the price. One word of caution. They do not have any security feature on the entrances to the buildings. Anyone can enter. Usually hotels have where you use your room key to access entry.
Not sure if we will stay again when visiting. My husband said for what we were saving on room cost, it wasn't worth it. Also, no breakfast..so if you add the cost of having to go eat breakfast somewhere, it really wasn't a savings.
On a great side note...there is a really good diner/restaurant next door to the hotel. It is called the Central Diner. Generous portions, friendly staff, nice decor. We ate there for breakfast. I would highly recommend eating there. SO it's a toss up...If you really need a "low cost" place to stay, then stay at the hotel. If you worry about security and noise, then stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in 1st building. The 2nd building is for loud visitors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIM N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The staff here is very friendly,courteous and helpful. Tony the maintience man & Ava the front desk clerk make it a pleasure returning stay after stay. They go out of their way to make your stay
enjoyable.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#66 of 72 in Pittsburgh
572 reviews
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#52 of 72 in Pittsburgh
32 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-1004
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $56 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing