We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly nice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Ranked #48 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“surprisingly nice.”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We chose this hotel since the price was right. We arrived late, around 10:30pm. The front dsesk clerk was friendly and welcoming. Our room was very surprising. Modern looking comfortable, clean. The furnishings were similar to a nyc hotel I stayed at in the fall. When checking out I found out the inn was recently renovated. The new bed and flat screen TV was not in yet. Oddly enough thee bed was fine. We'll be back. Very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank randimarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    114
    59
    35
    19
See reviews for
85
91
53
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

For a low priced hotel chain, this place was really nice. Their recently renovated the rooms had some nice touches such as upgraded bed linens, granite counter tops in the bathroom, and nice looking, partially laminated floors. The furniture looked chic, although it wasn't expensive, and the overall look of the room was pleasing. I would definitely recommend staying here as I think this is the nicest place I've stayed within this low price range ($50-$65).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed there after arriving in the US for the first time. Price per night in a double-bed-room was 64.99$. The staff was very friendly and the room was very clean. The room offered free wi-fi, towels, tv (free and pay-tv programs) and a safe (1.50$ per day). The rooms were strictly non-smoking areas.
The area around the inn is typical suburbs area with a lot of malls and fast food restaurants. I´ll rate it average because it´s not too far from the centre of Pittsburgh but without a car it´s difficult to reach any place of interest.
All in all it was nice to stay there, I would choose this Motel a second time.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gilbert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I traveled from Ohio to New Hampshire for the holidays with my sister, her husband and their 1 year old son and Pitt South was fantastic! Airline tickets were exhorbitant out of Columbus so we drove 3 hours to Pittsburgh and stayed the night at this Red Roof. We got in around 10pm (so it was nice that it was so easy to access from the highway) with the little one and Carolyn was wonderful. I hadn't mentioned my nephew when making our Park and Ride reservation and we were set to be on the second floor. When Carolyn heard that we had the tiny guy she quickly changed us to a first floor room so we could transfer him to the room as quickly and easily as possible.

We scheduled our airport shuttle for the morning and made it to our room. It was a lovely room! Carolyn let us know they were renovating the property and our room turned out to be one of the finished ones. It was beautiful! The floors looked like hardwood and were extremely clean with a little carpet on either side of the beds. The vanity area was plenty big for three adults to easily utilize in the morning and having the fridge and microwave was helpful for keeping yogurt cold for my nephew. The beds were super comfortable and the pretty, new covers were very cozy. Overall a great room!

Our shuttle arrived exactly when we asked the next morrning and we only had one stop on the way to the airport so it was nice and quick. The driver was pleasant and happy to answer questions for us. When we arrived at the airport coming home, Carolyn was working again and was extremely helpful in getting us to the right place to pick up the shuttle. She definitely made the trip less stressful.

Overall, we were thrilled with how the trip went, we will likely replicate the process for our next trip to New Hampshire. The room was amazing, the staff very helpful, and the Park and Ride option for only $10 extra was a dream. I can't even imagine how much it would have cost to park at the airport for a week! Thanks to everyone at Pitt South!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimlikeschkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The hotel is in a great location near shops and restaurants; casinos and attractions were not too far away. Many trucks and trailers and what seemed to be a construction crew staying onsite- and cooking in the parking lot on a small grill:) Hotel itself is older, but it was clean and I had no concerns. Plenty of parking available, but lots are down a semi-steep hill. Inside corridors in parts of the hotel. I had a late arrival so I did not look for amenities, but I don't believe there was much extra. One computer in lobby. This was a late minute trip and I still got a good price. Although this wasn't my first choice, I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozbound08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms were huge with a desk area, microfridge and good size bathroom.

The staff were helpful and were able to give us a 3pm check out on request. The motel is in a woody, hilly area which is very pleasant. Nearby are several large strip malls with everything you need.

Also a 24 hour gas station across the road which has lots of choice (cheesy chips at 3am? No worries!)

You need a car if you want to get into Pittsburgh but it's a relaxing stay and good value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pet267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel was clean, affordable, and had nice people working. The room was nice, loved the microwave and fridge in the room as well as having wifi! We stayed two nights and will gladly come back again in tne future!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Econolodge Inn & Suites
#63 of 71 in Pittsburgh
567 reviews
Coraopolis
Candlewood Suites - Pittsburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sleep Inn & Suites Pittsburgh
#53 of 71 in Pittsburgh
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport
Address: 6404 Steubenville Pike, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-1004
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 12 miles west of downtown Pittsburgh and 6 miles from Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport is just 1/4 mile from The Mall at Robinson. IKEA, Bayer Corporation, and RPS corporation are all just 1 mile from Red Roof South Airport, while Robert Morris University and Penn Motor Speedway are both only 5 miles away. The University of Pittsburgh, Duquesne University, the First Niagara Pavilion, The Rivers Casino, Consol Energy Center, Pittsburgh Convention Center, PNC Park and Heinz Field are all only 10-12 miles away. This hotel is within minutes of several great restaurants. When you check in, check out the fantastic new amenities in our Next Gen (R) design rooms! The rooms at this 100% Smoke Free inn feature a stylish, boutique design with all new furniture, spa-inspired bathrooms with modern vessel sinks, new comfy Rest Suite beds by Serta, plush high-end bedding, modern design flooring, comfortable new seating and a large, flat-screen TV. Also offering Red Roof Inn's new Order Inn program, where guests can order delicious food for in-room delivery. Located just 6 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, Red Roof Pittsburgh South Airport offers a Park / Fly package, as well as free shuttle service to and from the airport. All rooms offer free WiFi as well as in-room safes. Experience our coffeehouse-style coffee and tea. This location offers "On Command Video" with a selection of free TV channels, as well as pay-to-view premium channels, movies, music and games. One well-behaved family pet per room is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ Pittsburgh South Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn - Pittsburgh South Airport Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing