We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have stayed at the Wyndham Grand in Pittsburgh many times over the past two years. The location is very center for all activities and the view is beautiful.

The hotel and staff are very average or below average. The front desk is extremely slow no matter when you arrive or what your needs. Staff members will walk through the area and see guests waiting in line to check in and continue to walk. It is rare to have more than one employee doing check in. The Valet parking is always full. So, plan to park your own car. The rooms and beds are very comfortable and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great view. River view is outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Tom, We appreciate having you as a return guest. We do value your feedback and can assure you we will take this to heart with regard to your check in experiences. Our goal is to not only meet your expectations, but to exceed them. We look forward to your next visit and providing you with a more positive experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,606 - 2,612 of 4,501 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Savonia T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great view of the river park. Very well kept. There is a secret tunnel from the public parking that takes you under the street. It's great on a rainy day (like today). Go down to level 2 and stay to the Left. Valet parking is $34 but weekend parking is $10. The only down side is that the Wyndham locks their doors from the parking garage. They said it was a security thing (are you sick of hearing that?). Special thanks to the lady who ran the gift shop for responding to my pounding on the door. :).

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank jrmigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh recently. We appreciate your feedback and regret the inconvenience you experienced with regard to the rear entrance of the building. This is accessible to hotel guests via their guestroom key. Upon check in, we do ask guests to arrive at the front entrance. We will look into this further to see how we may better accommodate our guests. If your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I spent a week at the Wyndham Grand for a conference. The view from my 7th Floor room was gorgeous - fountain, river, incline, and stadiums. Definitely a prime location. The room itself was comfortable, though the door was pretty thin and there was a creepy door to the room next door. Cleaning staff were friendly and did a good job. I was, however, rather underwhelmed by the poor attitudes of some of the front desk and restaurant staff - customer service is a cornerstone of a quality hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank nanibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We appreciated having the recent conference at our property and glad to know you enjoyed our location. We are concerned about your observations of our staff, and can assure you we are addressing this with all involved, so we may take the appropriate action on our end. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I was extremely pleased with this hotel! The location is absolutely perfect and the hotel has a nice upscale feel to it. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars is the fact that they have no on-site parking. There is an option for valet for $30, or you can self park in a parking garage across the street from the hotel for $20/day. For the price of the hotel, I think they should at least cover the parking charge.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank KSR369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your candid feedback. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the rates that the local parking garages charge. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, should your travel plans include a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The view from this hotel is just the best in Pittsburgh. It overlooks the 3 rivers, Heinz stadium, Duquesne incline and a beautiful park and fountain. You just can't beat it but ask for a room that faces the park and rivers. The staff was the friendliest and their restaurant is a superb place to eat. Food was superb and a fair price. The shuttle took us wherever we wanted to go within a certain radius so no driving. Yea!! Definitely a stay again hotel!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Susan, Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh recently, and especially for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff was helpful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh
Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh
#12 of 72 in Pittsburgh
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $157 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing