We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, meh service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Bethlehem
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, meh service.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

I spent a week at the Wyndham Grand for a conference. The view from my 7th Floor room was gorgeous - fountain, river, incline, and stadiums. Definitely a prime location. The room itself was comfortable, though the door was pretty thin and there was a creepy door to the room next door. Cleaning staff were friendly and did a good job. I was, however, rather underwhelmed by the poor attitudes of some of the front desk and restaurant staff - customer service is a cornerstone of a quality hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank nanibear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We appreciated having the recent conference at our property and glad to know you enjoyed our location. We are concerned about your observations of our staff, and can assure you we are addressing this with all involved, so we may take the appropriate action on our end. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    1,265
    1,176
    644
    347
See reviews for
872
883
138
1,812
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

I was extremely pleased with this hotel! The location is absolutely perfect and the hotel has a nice upscale feel to it. The only thing that kept me from giving 5 stars is the fact that they have no on-site parking. There is an option for valet for $30, or you can self park in a parking garage across the street from the hotel for $20/day. For the price of the hotel, I think they should at least cover the parking charge.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank KSR369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your candid feedback. Unfortunately, we do not have any control over the rates that the local parking garages charge. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, should your travel plans include a return trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The view from this hotel is just the best in Pittsburgh. It overlooks the 3 rivers, Heinz stadium, Duquesne incline and a beautiful park and fountain. You just can't beat it but ask for a room that faces the park and rivers. The staff was the friendliest and their restaurant is a superb place to eat. Food was superb and a fair price. The shuttle took us wherever we wanted to go within a certain radius so no driving. Yea!! Definitely a stay again hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Susan, Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh recently, and especially for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff was helpful. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery County, PA
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We spent two weekend nights here. I had spent numerous nights here when it was under the Hilton brand. I got a very good rate and found the Wyndham Grand a very good value for downtown Pittsburgh.
Keep in mind this hotel was built in the late 1950's-early 60"s. It was recently redone and re-branded. But, some rooms are a bit tight.The one I had on the 20th floor was fine for two adults who spend most time out doing things.

For first timers, try to get a room facing the point. Having lived in Pittsburgh and having traveled there frequently over the years . . . the view doesn't mean much to me when choosing a room.
Our room was very clean. Amenities were up to date. It was comfortable and attractive but a bit small. All staff was courteous.

A mid-size convention was being held in the facility . . . that can be an annoyance anywhere. However we had no problems with noise or misbehavior. My impression was that it was a rather "tame" gathering as conventions go! Glad we didn't have the experience of another recent rater here.

Downtown Pittsburgh is very compact and walkable. The T stop (free downtown/north shore subway) is a bout 100 yards fro the back of the Wyndham. One parking garage is underground opposite the hotel. If you self park on weekends it can be as low as $10 per night. Many other downtown garages (in walking distance) are $5 per day after 4PM Friday until 5 AM Monday. That is hard to beat in most big cities. There are numerous restaurants nearby.

We had tickets to a show at the Benedum Center. It was a 5-7 minute walk from the hotel. the same is true for Heinz Hall, Byham Theater, O'Reilly and Harris Theaters. Both stadiums are within an easy and pleasant walk across the Allegheny River. (Alternatively for stadium or casino access use the free T service).

Pittsburgh was a great place to live and remains a great place to visit. In addition to visiting downtown and southside, be sure to get to Oakland and the University of Pittsburgh campus (Cathedral of Learning & Heinz Chapel) and Carnegie Museum of Natural History (excellent small collection of dinosaur skeletons) etc.

The Wyndham Grand is a good choice if you like downtown and want to book a traditional full-service hotel: restaurants, concierge, valet parking.

Room Tip: For first time visitors, the view over the "point" is very nice. We prefer rooms on higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JEDMAD_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and very much appreciate your candid feedback. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back, if you have an occasion to return to our fine city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing