We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from rooms near elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stay away from rooms near elevators”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Over all the accommodations were good- initially check in at 4 pm 10-14 people waiting and 3 staff- football game next day- I would of thought more workers but not . Location to downtown nice - parking can be cheaper if you park yourself- I chose valet- 28 dollars per day-
Pool on 4 th floor with hot tub- great views from pool area- tall windows and well heated. Beds- very comfortable- we chose the two doubles mini suite- size of room and mini is really mini- added maybe 18 sq ft to normal size room -
House keeping forgot a wash cloth on the shower curtain
Tub is a bit dated but really not that terrible- for the price point- compared to others in the area- in big need to update-
I would stay again but only for the pool for the kids and hot tub for me.
Remember the closer to the elevators- you will hear the noises associated with the hoist and may not let you sleep well-

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Iwillnfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand for your Pittsburgh stay. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and the pool facilities. We look forward to serving you again, if your travels bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    1,225
    1,117
    609
    322
See reviews for
832
850
129
1,715
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Got this hotel for $50 for 4 nights... rooms are small but the photos on the hotel web site are accurate... great hot water and pressure in the shower, soft mattress ( achy back in the morning), new flat screen tvs but no digital reception just analog ( everything a bit fuzzy), good gym, pool and jacuzzi, parking at $28/day a rip, try to use street and public lot alternatives... very good downtown location. If you know the area getting around is easy.

Room Tip: ask for river view on a high floor... the view is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAA_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham brand for your recent visit to Pittsburgh. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently in the process of upgrading all our guest room televisions. With regard to the valet parking charge, we regret we do not have control over the rates that the local garages charge for valet or self parking. Should your plans bring you back to our fine city, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

On the morning we were to check out the maid knocked on our door 2 times before we were even ready to leave.
Also, we wanted to use the shuttle for our evening out on Saturday and were told there was no shuttle. It should not be advertised if it isn't available. This was disappointing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Joseph, Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh for your recent visit. We regret that we did not meet your expectations, and can assure you we will address your specific concerns with our management team. We hope if you have another opportunity to return to Pittsburgh, you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

The hotel was excellent only needed it for the evening. It was located close to the stadium. The parking was decent and the view was well worth it. I only wish I would of known about the hotel bar.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Daniel, Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope to see you again if your plans bring you back our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing