We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice place, great location and great views. rooms were a...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Write a Review

3,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    778
    1,210
    1,090
    601
    314
See reviews for
823
841
126
1,675
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (492)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My wife and I needed to travel to Brownsville, PA and I saw a Living Social deal for this hotel. Being from Philadelphia, we checked when the Phillies would be playing and scheduled our stay for July 3rd.
Leading up to the trip, I was getting nervous ready reviews on this location, for the price I was hoping for the best and that's basically what we got. As a matter of fact, when checking out, I asked the receptionist why this hotel has been receiving such bad reviews and she just shrugged and shook her head.
The only negative thing that we encountered was that they were short staffed in the dinning room for breakfast on July 4th, the worst thing was that whoever was responsible to monitor the buffet didn't do a very good job as they ran out of some things. The most important being bacon for about 20 minutes, the annoying thing was that the guy in the red jacket kept saying it's coming right out. If he would have been honest and told me 15 to 20 minutes I would have sat down.
The positives, the reception desk was great, I didn't bring my LS Voucher but they still checked me in and ask that I bring the Voucher Number to them later. I also asked for 2 extra pillows and they were brought up immediately. The hotel is clean and has a nice little shaded park area in the rear.
They closed off the street for a July 4th celebration across the street, the hotel had beer and bar food available in the front porch area of the hotel, it was a very nice setup. The hotel is within a few blocks of the Clemente Bridge (about a 10-12 minute walk) to the stadium. When we returned form the game, there was a firework display from the hotel roof, it was a great show.
Due to the crowds and traffic, we took advantage of the Valet Parking, it was $28, you can park cheaper a couple of blocks away but for convenience and the extra $8 to $10 you can't beat it. No problem at all dropping off or picking up like I've read about.
The rooms are small and you can hear hallway noise but we had no problem sleeping at night, no issues at all here. Out front there is some construction, but again, no issues for us.
We really enjoyed the festivities, the location relative to the stadium and most of all the hotel and it's staff. They made out short stay very enjoyable, I would look into coming back especially over another July 4th. The value with the LS deal was excellent.
A final shout out to Sue, our waitress for breakfast, she was exceptional under difficult conditions.

Room Tip: Ask fro river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GKW4779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh for your holiday stay. We are delighted you hear you enjoyed the hotel and the festivities around the city. We will definitely share your feedback with all of our staff. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

The hotel is in a great location.The rooms are very nice but kind of small.You can walk to the football or baseball stadium.I would stay here again.Head over to market square which is a couple of blocks away there are some great restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Dennie, Thank you for your feedback. We do have several different room types and sizes that you may find more appealing if your plans bring you back to Pittsburgh. We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struthers
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

very nice staff and room, staff very helpful,, would like to see an area that is secure to park motorcycles

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Mary, Thank you for choosing the Wyndham brand. Your observation about motorcycle parking is something that we will have to look into further, and we appreciate that you brought this to our attention. We hope your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh and we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,703 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing