We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad start, but improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed June 20, 2013

The purpose of my trip was to make a visit to Frank Lloyd Wright's Fallingwater, and since I wasn't familiar with the city, I rolled the dice and was able to snag a tremendous rate through Hotwire. I was thrilled to be get a great hotel in such a central location. My flight arrived late on Saturday night, and it was after midnight by the time I arrived at the hotel. As I drove into the drive in front of the hotel, I found no valet. I went inside and found no one at the front desk. Eventually, I roused a desk clerk from the office behind the desk who gave me an annoyed look and glanced at her watch. I asked about self-parking (which had been indicated on their website), and she told me they did not have self parking but that if the valet was full I should try some of the parking garages around the hotel. I checked in and went back to give the car keys to the valet, who had apparently been away parking a car. I handed him my keys and he asked if I wanted my car valet parked. "Yes." He gave me an annoyed look, and shoved a claim ticket in my direction.
When I arrived at my room, I found it to be clean and in good condition; however, the deadbolt wouldn't lock. I was too tired to worry about it, and just wanted to get some sleep. When I tried to close the drapes, dust that had accumulated on top of them snowed down on me. Not a great way to start my visit.
For the most part, the next day brought a much improved experience at the Wyndham Grand. The front desk staff was in fine spirits, and the two staff people worked in tandem to alert maintenance to my problem with the deadbolt as well as provide me with a map of self-parking options in the area (why couldn't the night clerk have offered this information?). Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was nothing outstanding, but was a good meal at a reasonable price (certainly unusual for a hotel restaurant), and the service was exceptional. The valet that morning was professional and retrieved the car in a reasonable amount of time, but throughout my stay, I encountered an inconsistent sense of customer service from the valet staff. As for other staff, throughout my stay they were generally very pleasant and helpful.
By the end of my trip, my perception of the Wyndham Grand had improved. There were definitely problems when I arrived, but they were resolved. The location is perfect, within walking distance of several restaurants as well as the subway (which is FREE within a specified central area of the city).
If I could get another reasonable rate for this hotel, I would probably try it again, now that I know what to expect (and where to park!).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdbhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh for your stay. We regret the inconveniences you experienced and can assure you we will address your concerns with our management staff and focus on improving. We hope you will consider us again for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,529 - 3,535 of 4,500 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
Redland
416
Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Clare L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Barbra R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Do not plan on using valet parking when the art festival is scheduled. Parking is at a premium. The hotel garage does not a accept a vehicle larger than a passenger car. If you have a minivan or larger plan on parking a few blocks away from the hotel. The valet attendants were very helpful in giving directions to alternate lots. Alarm clock did not work, bathroom lights kept tripping the GFCI in the bathroom. TV programming was horrible for young kids (2-7 yrs). Do not understand why there was a HD TV and no HD channels.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Matthew, Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We regret any inconvenience you experienced with the parking, and are glad to know our staff was helpful in providing you with alternatives. With regard to your guestroom, we are in the process of upgrading the television channels with HD. We hope you will have an occasion to stay with us again and enjoy this feature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh
Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh
#14 of 72 in Pittsburgh
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $156 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing