We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first visit to Pittsburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We weren't sure what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised. The view from our 12th floor corner room was spectacular, and location of the hotel couldn't have been better. Staff was friendly and helpful. Important for me (musician and piano tuner) the room was very quiet. Only suggestion: replace that low end Kimball grand in the lobby with a more appropriate instrument.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear David, While this was your first trip to our fine city... we hope it isn't your last! We appreciate your comment about our lobby piano, and will take this into consideration when the time comes to replace it. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope you will visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,550 - 3,556 of 4,507 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

Excellent room, good service. Valet was a little slow, but personnel very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Mary, It was nice to read your kind comments. Thank you for taking the time to share with us. We hope your plans bring you back to Pittsburgh, when it would be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank dleithner
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank CarolynLoves2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If we hadn't gotten a great deal online, we would have felt ripped-off for the cost of staying here.

Pros:
1) Hot shower with strong water pressure; beautiful glass door with marble tiles; nice looking wooden sliding door leading into the bathroom; nice looking marble countertops and sink
2) King size bed is very comfy
3) Located right across river from PNC Field and Heinz Field. Easy walk to the games.
4) Free Wi-fi
5) Fancy lobby and modern bedroom
6) Very fast elevator
7) Several restaurants in walking distance
8) Train station close by

Cons:
1) Despite beautiful shower, it's like there is a door missing that would stop the water from going EVERYWHERE; the shower head is hard to move and you get sprayed with cold water just to turn it on... Crazy! The wallpaper is even peeling and the bathroom door gets sprayed every time.
2) No shower fan
3) Door to bathroom & door to hallway are paper thin -- you can hear everything... So what can the people in the hallway hear?
4) Sink drain either has a clog or drains really, really slowly -- not a huge deal, just strange.
5) Why have a nice LG TV with a non-HD feed? What a waste.
6) They just built the pool but it's not available yet -- bummer.
7) Expensive parking in my book (but maybe it is just the area) - $20/day (can't move car) or $28/day valet (can move car as much as you want).
8) Hallways totally remind me of the Overlook Hotel from the movie "The Shining".

We loved Pittsburgh, but if we ever come back, we may try to stay in a different hotel in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScreaminSeahawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us for your trip. We appreciate your detailed feedback. We are in the midst of a renovation that includes the HD connection and the finalization of our swimming pool. We hope your travels bring you back to our fine city, and we have another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel was nice and clean, close to everything, but very busy on the weekend I was there. Prom, graduation and some conventions were happening and so the room rates were pretty high.

Double check your invoice before you pay. I was charged $1 per each LOCAL call I made, which is unheard of anywhere in the world!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Summer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WYNPITmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Summer, We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. While most travelers do have personal cell phones, we do have occasional guests that do require the use of the guestroom telephones. We have the charge(s) posted, and will double check to make sure it is communicated properly. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us, and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh
Distrikt Hotel Pittsburgh
#12 of 72 in Pittsburgh
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $159 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing