We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was there for a conference. The hotel was in a good...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,774 - 3,780 of 4,418 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

Our friend wanted to go to Piitsburgh for his 60 th birthday and gamble.. It was also my birthday weekend. Five couples gathered at the Wyndham Grand. I had high expectations given the Wyndham reputation. Mostly it was a fabulous hotel. Right downtown. I was sad to see how small the room was and the bathroom was really only a one person space. The shower really needed to be scrubbed. The sink drain was extremely slow moving. Parking was $28.00 per day. But the bed was soooo comfortable!

Room Tip: Really one side of the hotel has river view..other side is town so probably a decent view either way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

We are delighted to hear your birthday celebrations were a success. We appreciate that you took the time to share your feedback, which we do take seriously. We can assure you we will address your concern with our housekeeping staff, and improvements will be made. It is our hope that we will see you again for your next celebration!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

There appeared to be at least a 20 degree dfference in temperature of meeting rooms. The smaller workshop rooms were uncomfortably hot while many delegates found the temperature in the ballroom uncomfortably cold.

No receipt was left under the door on check out day -- as would be expected in this type hotel -- requiring me to go to the desk to make sure I had the necessary receipt to be reimbursed for my conference-related trip.

No map in hotel information inroom to let visitors know which meeting rooms were on which floor.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Shirley, Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are very sorry for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the meeting room temperatures. We can assure you that our engineers are make every effort to ensure the comfort of all our guests. We appreciate that you took the time to share with us, and we will address all of your concerns with our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Marlynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went to meet my sister from MI as she was staying here for a conference.

First, the walls are paper thin you can here the conversations in the next room as if you were in the room with them, that means their early morning alarms too.

Next, we were at the end of the hall, which was good, however when we walked out the door a couple doors down the smell of marijuana was so strong that I said something to the front desk. When we returned to our room it was even worse and the smoke detectors were going off. This is a non-smoking hotel!

Finally, there were pubic hairs on the bathroom floor when we arrived and we had no remote for our TV.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Susan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Susan, Thank you for staying with us. We take your feedback seriously, and the safety of our guests is our number one priority. We can assure you that your experience was not typical and we are addressing each of your concerns with our leaders. This certainly not the lasting impression we want you to have. It is our hope that your travel plans will bring you back to Pittsburgh and we will have another opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#6 of 72 in Pittsburgh
852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $162 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing