We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Embarassed after raving it up”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
ENON VALLEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Embarassed after raving it up”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I hosted a surprise party for my best friend's milestone birthday. About a third of the guests came in from out of state. Expecting foul weather at that time of year, I wanted everyone close by and in a central location. I raved about your accommodations as well as the location. We thought that the fireworks would be at the point area, as usual. Upon arrival, the valet area was very crowded due to construction. The curb areas were piled up with ice and snow. The out-of-towners were put on the city side and us locals were on the point side. The windows were absolutely filthy. The safety latches on the doors were very loose. The bathroom doors were quite fashionable, but offered absolutely NO PRIVACY!!!!! Our guests, room had only a shower, no tub, and only half of a shower door!!!! Water ran directly out to the bathroom floor. Maid service never showed up one day at all, and another day, they left no towels or wash cloths. Our complaints were accepted very politely and apologeticly, but NOTHING WAS DONE to fix any of the problems. I was and still am very embarrassed! I will never splurge for the extra stars of Wyndham again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank NORMA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Norma, We are very sorry for the inconveniences that affected your stay. We will definitely share your concerns about the guest room design with our management and make every effort to improve in those areas. We appreciate that you took the time to let us know, and would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again, should your travel plans bring you back to Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    1,237
    1,143
    620
    329
See reviews for
838
855
131
1,770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solon, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just stayed at the Wyndham Grand Hotel, formerly the Hilton, at downtown Pittsburgh, at the Point. Nice room. Good bar. Very helpful staff. I wish they had a pool and hot tub! Very comfortable accommodations.

Room Tip: Ask for westward view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHrivnak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Chris, Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate that you took the time to share your positive feedback. We are excited about our current renovation project which does include plans for a pool. If your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel was nice at a nice price. Food was just so-so- Is the perfect place to stay for Steeler and Pirate fans.
Hope to stay there again in july.
If you can get a reservation here at below advertised price, then make it.
Close to other interesting things also.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the Three Rivers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bubbadad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are glad to hear you plan to return in July, and look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
119 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive before arriving as I had read pretty mixed reviews - however I had a great stay! The room wasn't huge, but why do you need a huge room when on a business trip. It had all the amenities I would expect and I found it very cosy. Nicely refurbished throughout and an amazing view (I was on the top floor - Grand Level - so perhaps its different than the rest?). Shame breakfast isn't included. Wifi worked great. Staff was great, they ensured I had a taxi waiting in the morning to get to the airport. A robe in the room would be a nice touch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brently55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Wyndham brand, and for sharing your helpful feedback. We look forward to the opportunity of having you stay with us again, if your travel plans bring you back to Pittsburgh!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanticoke, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Had 2 room changes & still had issues. Chips were under the blankets, food embedded in the flooring, tubs would not drain, and the noise from other guests was ridiculous. We were comped a breakfast and promised a thorough cleaning, but still, highly unsatisfied.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHWYN, Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate that you chose to stay with us, and hope you will accept our apology for not delivering the level of service expected. This certainly is not the type of service we wish to provide, and can assure you we are addressing our shortcomings with our team. In the meantime, more information would be helpful to us, and we hope you will feel free to contact our Executive Offices directly and reference TA201. Thank you for taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,848 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing