We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I was very impressed with the location and quality of this hotel. The hotel was clean and of a very high standard. Beds very comfortable and the staff were very helpful.
Internet sipped was very good and the meals were very tasty

Room Tip: Great views over the three rivers. Swimming pool and spa were under repair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRAHAM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,196 - 4,202 of 4,543 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were only here for 2 nights I enjoyed the stay. It's walking distance to the Heinz field and PNC stadium, which is a great plus. And depending on which room you get, you can get a great view of the river/stadiums.

The room/bathroom are nice and clean. The only thing i would change is the shower stall. It didn't have shower curtains, just glass, which only covered half of the stall. After showering, water was all over the floor. Who thought of this?

Just a tip - if you drive there and are looking to place to store your car, there are plenty of garages that are within walking distance of the hotel and are much cheaper than the hotel's valet parking.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Our weekend trip was acquired from Priceline, and the hotel was in a prime location. The hotel is undergoing a remodeling, and we had a corner room on 14th floor. Clean and comfortable, my only wish was the bathroom was tiny!! Easily the smallest bathroom I've stayed in. that being said. everything was cleaned comfortable and we enjoyed the view from the walls of Windows. we took a game in at pnc park, and walked the highlights of pgh. We loved the strip district with the next breakfast Pamela's - totally worth the wait, Shilohs on Mt. Washington, pumpkin sangria is incredible, as are the wings. Lifehouse played after the game, and Pittsburgh hosted an incredible fireworks display, wow! Hat a delightful city with a great transit system for navigating the highlights! The wyndham is a great hotel in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank middyj2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I wasn't impressed with the Windham Grand. The rooms were small so we upgraded to a suite. The bed were very uncomfortable. The room is not very soundproof. They did not clean my room until 9:00 pm after 3 requests to have it cleaned. The air conditioning worked well in half of the suite.
It's location is perfect for all that the city has to offer though. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Valet parking is $28 a night.

Room Tip: Use Priceline to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCKNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello! Thank you for staying with us! We are very happy to see that you upgraded to a suite. We apologize for any delay with our Housekeeping Team, we will follow up on this, thank you for bringing this to our attention. It is great to see that our staff was friendly and welcoming! We hope to be able to welcome you again in the future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Simon, London UK

I didnt really know what to expect as I had read good/bad reviews over the months of this hotel.
I knew before hand that the hotel was being renovated so there would be some disruption. I had a 2 day stay 11/12 Sept as I was seeing RUSH at the Consol. The foyer floor was being retiled but was roped off properly. I asked for River view as this was recommended. I had lovely room good size with 2 double beds and a nice view albeit floor 4 which you couldnt see river but still had a good view of the hills and parkland.
I had a peaceful and relaxing 2 days there and found no dust or noisy people etc from other reviews. Considering rock fans were in town it did seem quiet. After coming from DC where I was paying the same price for inferior hotel I consider the Wyndham good value for what I received. It may be a problem staying elsewhere in the building from other reviews but at least you didnt have to wait to 5am to get some sleep like I did at classy Palmer House Hilton in Chicago!!!!!!
I would also recommend Cherries Diner at 212 Forbes Avenue about 8 mins walk from hotel for lovely english style breakfast at $9 inc endless coffee.

Room Tip: Ask for river view for a nice view but higher than floor 8-ask front desk which floor you can see ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SIMON R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us! We are proud to have had you as our guest and we hope you had a great time at the concert! We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our beautiful views and that our team was able to upgrade you. Thank you for sharing your great feedback! We hope to have you as our guest again in the future!

Thank you again for staying with us!

Have a great day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location of the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown is convientient, the room was contemorary in styling, it was clean, the temperature was easy to control...all good things. However there was a downside. I asked for a wakeup call and didn't get it, you have to go to an out of the way business center to print a boarding pass and the service in the dining room took absolutely forever. I would give it an average rating.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Welcome! Thank you for staying with us! We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our perfect location! Thank you as well for your great feedback about our rooms. We are making many upgrades and we are happy to see that you enjoyed what we have accomplished thus far. There are many more great things to come as well!

We are very sorry for you not getting your wake up call. We have not had any issues with this service previously, therefore we will have our teams investigate this issue. Thank you for brining it to our attention.

We hope to have you as our guest again in the future. Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the Grand Wyndham in Pittsburgh in mid-September. My travel company booked it as all hotels closer to Carnegie-Melon U. were full.
The hotel is undergoing remodeling, so there is a lot of construction going on. Redirection through lobbies, doors, some floors closed off, etc.
Despite the remodeling, the hotel building is OLD, with small rooms, small bathrooms, small tubs/showers, etc. And paper-thin walls where you can hear every noise next/above/below your room. No matter how pretty the make it with remodeling, the rooms will STILL be small. I think a better long-term investment would be to enlarge/combine the rooms, or tear it all down and start over again.
The location was nice, close to the downtown restaurants, theaters, etc. Easy highway access.
The staff was very nice, friendly, helpful. Did a great job with what they have.
But no amount of niceness makes up for the OLD style building design.
I would have preferred to stay at a new budget hotel chain with larger rooms/bathrooms, etc.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room AWAY from any construction!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rj_traveler_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Hello!

Thank you very much for staying with us! It was great being your home away from home while you were on your journey. Thank you for your feedback about our renovations. We are in the process of updating almost every part of our hotel and we are very excited to offer many great services and amenities to our guests.

Thank you for your great feedback about our staff! This is great to see! We will ensure that they are commended for doing a great job!

We do hope that you will choose to return to our hotel in the future to see our great upgrades!

Thank you again and have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 73 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $171 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing