We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

All I can say is loved the view!! The hotel is under construction but we weren't inconvenienced in anyway .... The city is beautiful at night , the location is walking distance to almost everything , staff was friendly and helpful , the elevators were a little slow but that's really no big deal , great hotel overall!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gcg8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2012

Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback with TripAdvisor. We are very happy to see your amazing reviews! It is great that our staff was very friendly and helpful. We will ensure that they are commended for a job well done!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4,272 - 4,278 of 4,580 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the hotel August 9-12,2012. The location is great. Quick walk to PNC Park. Valet parking was very nice and we had no problems getting our car and parking each day. The 28 dollar fee was worth the convenience. We had 2 rooms and checked in with no problems.The problem we had was with the cleanliness. We also had the $99 special/night, both rooms with a view of the Point. The one room 818 was not ready when we arrived. The sheets were clean and beds were made except for the 8 pillows. They were stacked coverless on the chairs in the room. The bathroom had long hairs on the tub which were not ours, and no toilet paper!!! The bathroom otherwise appeared clean to the two men staying there???? ( Can't vouch for this.)
During our stay the towels were changed daily but the used glasses were never removed or replaced along with the paper coffee cups. There were no plastic liners in the garbage cans and they were dirty!! We had to ask for everything but we had prompt replacements. We also were brought up a mini fridge when we asked about not having one. All the staff were quick to get whatever we asked. The windows could have used a cleaning inside and out. The beds were very comfortable and soft and the TV was a flat screen with a great picture. Will be a great place to stay as long as they get the housekeeping together. Why were we checked into a room that wasn't ready???

Room Tip: Make sure the room is actually clean and ready for you!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Hello! Thank you very much for staying with us! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our great location and being close to everything! We are also happy to see that our Front Desk provided with your requests and great rooms.

Thank you as well for your feedback about the guest rooms. We are very sorry to see that you had these issues with your guest rooms. Please note that we do not find this acceptable and this is not up to our high standards. We will share this information with our management team and address this appropriately.

Thank you again for staying with us. We hope that you will choose the Wyndham Grand again the next time you are in downtown Pittsburgh!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Hotel has seen better days. Don't pay full price! Renovations are a joke. Rooms are New york city small. Every door hits something. Dust everywhere. Mold growing in shower. Promised a fridge for special food restrictions, was told ask at check in. No luck. When asked if there was a list was told call back several times during day and ask. Had to throw out all the food I brought with me. Room across flooded so was woken up everymorning by loud obnoxious workers who left the door open. I don't want to hear you. Noise continued all day. I was with husband trying to do some work from the room. Valet was pathetic. Took car out, got soaked because they don't know how to park cars without 3 feet bwtween, then valet tried to tell me lot was full and I would have to go self park. We were being charged for each night a valet fee. Asked for a bus map and guy rudely told me "our customers don't use the bus, they take cabs and private cars" Found out later he gets a kickback from the cab & car companies. Husbands work picked hotel, would never stay here again! Oh, POOL IS CLOSED FOR REPAIRS!! But they don't tell you that till after check in. Watched an 8 yr old cry when she learned this. Dad had picked hotel because of pool.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichellefromClevelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Welcome! Thank you very much for staying with us! It was great having you as our guest and we were happy to be your home away from home while traveling.

We are very sorry to see that you were not totally satisfied with your stay with us. We apologize for any issues our renovations have caused. We are in the process of expanding our hotel and adding many great services and amenities for our guests, as well as many upgrades. We understand that the noise was a disturbance and we are very sorry for this. We are working to complete our upgrades as quickly as possible. As for our pool, we currently do not have a pool. We are in the process of adding one, which is part of our renovations. Therefore, we do not promote or advertise that we have a pool currently. However, we will have this great amenity completed by the end of the year.

We do hope that you will choose our hotel the next time your travel plans bring you to Pittsburgh. We are adding many great features that we know you will enjoy.

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed August 10th - 12th at $100/night via Priceline. Hotel staff was incredibly polite and accommodating. However, housekeeping is horrible. With the exception of very clean sheets and comfortable beds, room was very dusty and dirty. Looked as if the floors and rugs had never been swept. Shower caulk was moldy and falling away from the tile. Housekeeping only left 1 coffee packet - had to ask for more but again, staff was very polite and timely in their response.

Valet damaged my company car - looks as if they were in a hurry and ran into a pole! Very disappointed and upset that whoever damaged the car didn't have the guts to say anything. We did not see it until we drove away and had to return to report. Valet Supervisor was very attentive and apologetic. Insurance adjuster called right away on Monday so hopefully will be taken care of promptly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catheckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us! It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We are very pleased to see that our staff was polite and accommodating. We will share you feedback with our team.

Thank you for your feedback about Housekeeping. We are very sorry that you had these issues with your guest room. Please note that this is not our standard and is not acceptable. We will be sharing your feedback with our Housekeeping Directors to research these matters. Thank you for bring them to our attention.

We are also sorry about the issues you have with our valet company. We are very pleased that our valet team was able to correct this issue.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you as our guest again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here from August 10-12. The location is absolutely fantastic. We were lucky to find a deal for $99/night, but that is all I would pay for this hotel. Parking is a NIGHTMARE. They advertise $28/day, in and out as much as you'd like and only 20 minutes notice. On Saturday, we stopped back to freshen up before dinner and we couldn't even get IN to get valet parking. It was almost 50 minutes just to put our car away. We were backed up into intersections. I went to speak to the valet parking guy (hefty white man with white polo) and he basically told me that there's no way he could help. He needed time and if I didn't like it, he'd remove my car from valet. When we returned later that evening, he said, "you finally done with the car?" I don't feel that's an appropriate response.

We stayed with a river view. It was a nice overlook. They accommodated early check in, they honored the rate with no hassles, they refunded one day of valet parking and they have fresh fruit flavored water in the lobby. The front desk staff was great!

The room renovations were shotty. The shower leaked and leaked. The door hinge hit the "dresser" and one of the drawers won't even open in the dresser. The room was clean-ish.A pool would GREATLY improve the hotel. The fitness center was nice.

I wanted ice cream one night and no one could tell me where to get ice cream except from the hotel restaurant. I ordered it and the bartender was great but the ice cream was AWFUL. It was freezer burnt and barely edible. It was also $7 for 2 scoops.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our fantastic location and being close to everything! Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry for any issues with parking. We do offer several options when it comes to parking, on of which is valet parking. Due to demands and traffic in the city, there are times where there will be a slight delay in getting cars parked. We will however share your feedback with our team.

We are very excited to see that you enjoyed our wonderful views and that our team accommodated an early check in for you. Thank you for your feedback about our Front Desk staff! We will ensure they are commended for a job well done! We will soon be offering a pool! We are in the final stages of completing this amenity.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here from August10-12th. Great location and short walk to PNC park. Overall good clean room and helpful front desk staff. Parking was $28 per night which some might think is alot but compared to any other larger city I didn't think it was too bad. Construction was still going on but in no way interfered with our visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZIG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Welcome! Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.com! It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our perfect location. We are also very excited to see that your Front Desk Team was very helpful. We will share your feedback with our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a quick road trip to Pittsburgh from Niagara Falls, Ontario - our first trip to the city.

First off, the location is fantastic. Within easy walking distance of many attractions including PNC Park, Heinz Field, Carnegie Science Centre and downtown parks and restaurants. Easy to get around and if staying in the core you really don't need a car. Valet is fairly expensive ($28/day) and very busy, so parking just around the corner in an underground lot ($20/day) was better for us as we just left the car there and walked everywhere.

The standard rooms are on the small side, so if travelling with kids you won't have a ton of space to move about. It was quite evident that the cleaning staff need to be retrained. Our room was not vacuumed or dusted and the window had several large smudges on it. As well, a large long hair (not ours) was there for about a day and a half until we asked the concierge to re-clean the room. He was very nice about it and the room was re-done promptly. I get the feeling from reading other reviews that the cleaning staff are not great at actually cleaning - just changing the sheets and towels. The manager should re-visit this with his cleaning staff. We were in room 508 from Friday Aug. 10-Sunday Aug. 12.

Overall, we had a great trip and apart from the lack of cleaning would return here again as the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give you a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Welcome! Thank you very much for staying with us! It was our pleasure to be part of your journey during your road trip! We hope that you had a great time in Pittsburgh!

It is great to see that you enjoyed our perfect location and being close to all of the local attractions! Thank you for your feedback about your guest room. Please note that we do have many options available when it comes to sizes of rooms. On your next trip, we would be happy to place your family in a larger room. Thank you as well for your information about the condition of your room. Please know that this is not the high standard that we hold ourselves to. We will share your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that this can be addressed.

We hope that you will choose the Wyndham Grand the next time your travel plans and road trips bring you to Pittsburgh!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 74 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $170 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing