We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average - Valet Damaged Car”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
“Average - Valet Damaged Car”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed August 10th - 12th at $100/night via Priceline. Hotel staff was incredibly polite and accommodating. However, housekeeping is horrible. With the exception of very clean sheets and comfortable beds, room was very dusty and dirty. Looked as if the floors and rugs had never been swept. Shower caulk was moldy and falling away from the tile. Housekeeping only left 1 coffee packet - had to ask for more but again, staff was very polite and timely in their response.

Valet damaged my company car - looks as if they were in a hurry and ran into a pole! Very disappointed and upset that whoever damaged the car didn't have the guts to say anything. We did not see it until we drove away and had to return to report. Valet Supervisor was very attentive and apologetic. Insurance adjuster called right away on Monday so hopefully will be taken care of promptly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catheckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us! It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We are very pleased to see that our staff was polite and accommodating. We will share you feedback with our team.

Thank you for your feedback about Housekeeping. We are very sorry that you had these issues with your guest room. Please note that this is not our standard and is not acceptable. We will be sharing your feedback with our Housekeeping Directors to research these matters. Thank you for bring them to our attention.

We are also sorry about the issues you have with our valet company. We are very pleased that our valet team was able to correct this issue.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your feedback. We hope to welcome you as our guest again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    816
    1,250
    1,163
    633
    341
See reviews for
856
872
135
1,795
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed here from August 10-12. The location is absolutely fantastic. We were lucky to find a deal for $99/night, but that is all I would pay for this hotel. Parking is a NIGHTMARE. They advertise $28/day, in and out as much as you'd like and only 20 minutes notice. On Saturday, we stopped back to freshen up before dinner and we couldn't even get IN to get valet parking. It was almost 50 minutes just to put our car away. We were backed up into intersections. I went to speak to the valet parking guy (hefty white man with white polo) and he basically told me that there's no way he could help. He needed time and if I didn't like it, he'd remove my car from valet. When we returned later that evening, he said, "you finally done with the car?" I don't feel that's an appropriate response.

We stayed with a river view. It was a nice overlook. They accommodated early check in, they honored the rate with no hassles, they refunded one day of valet parking and they have fresh fruit flavored water in the lobby. The front desk staff was great!

The room renovations were shotty. The shower leaked and leaked. The door hinge hit the "dresser" and one of the drawers won't even open in the dresser. The room was clean-ish.A pool would GREATLY improve the hotel. The fitness center was nice.

I wanted ice cream one night and no one could tell me where to get ice cream except from the hotel restaurant. I ordered it and the bartender was great but the ice cream was AWFUL. It was freezer burnt and barely edible. It was also $7 for 2 scoops.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our fantastic location and being close to everything! Thank you for sharing your feedback! We are very sorry for any issues with parking. We do offer several options when it comes to parking, on of which is valet parking. Due to demands and traffic in the city, there are times where there will be a slight delay in getting cars parked. We will however share your feedback with our team.

We are very excited to see that you enjoyed our wonderful views and that our team accommodated an early check in for you. Thank you for your feedback about our Front Desk staff! We will ensure they are commended for a job well done! We will soon be offering a pool! We are in the final stages of completing this amenity.

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your feedback! We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Stayed here from August10-12th. Great location and short walk to PNC park. Overall good clean room and helpful front desk staff. Parking was $28 per night which some might think is alot but compared to any other larger city I didn't think it was too bad. Construction was still going on but in no way interfered with our visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZIG34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Welcome! Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor.com! It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our perfect location. We are also very excited to see that your Front Desk Team was very helpful. We will share your feedback with our team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you as our guest again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Level Contributor
152 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a quick road trip to Pittsburgh from Niagara Falls, Ontario - our first trip to the city.

First off, the location is fantastic. Within easy walking distance of many attractions including PNC Park, Heinz Field, Carnegie Science Centre and downtown parks and restaurants. Easy to get around and if staying in the core you really don't need a car. Valet is fairly expensive ($28/day) and very busy, so parking just around the corner in an underground lot ($20/day) was better for us as we just left the car there and walked everywhere.

The standard rooms are on the small side, so if travelling with kids you won't have a ton of space to move about. It was quite evident that the cleaning staff need to be retrained. Our room was not vacuumed or dusted and the window had several large smudges on it. As well, a large long hair (not ours) was there for about a day and a half until we asked the concierge to re-clean the room. He was very nice about it and the room was re-done promptly. I get the feeling from reading other reviews that the cleaning staff are not great at actually cleaning - just changing the sheets and towels. The manager should re-visit this with his cleaning staff. We were in room 508 from Friday Aug. 10-Sunday Aug. 12.

Overall, we had a great trip and apart from the lack of cleaning would return here again as the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Higher floor will give you a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadatravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Welcome! Thank you very much for staying with us! It was our pleasure to be part of your journey during your road trip! We hope that you had a great time in Pittsburgh!

It is great to see that you enjoyed our perfect location and being close to all of the local attractions! Thank you for your feedback about your guest room. Please note that we do have many options available when it comes to sizes of rooms. On your next trip, we would be happy to place your family in a larger room. Thank you as well for your information about the condition of your room. Please know that this is not the high standard that we hold ourselves to. We will share your feedback with our Director of Housekeeping so that this can be addressed.

We hope that you will choose the Wyndham Grand the next time your travel plans and road trips bring you to Pittsburgh!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I stayed at the Wyndham while attending a Stephen Ministry Leader Training Course from July 29-August 4, 2012. Our rooms were clean and requests were handled quickly and efficiently.During our breaks there were plenty of coffee, tee, fruit drinks, and water for us. I was most impressed with the kitchen and staff. Chef Weems seems really interested in taking care of our needs - especially for those of us who had food allergies. The meals were delicious. I am grateful. .

However, parking using their valet service is very expensive. It was $28 per day when I stayed. We were told there were some slightly less expensive parking garages fairly close, but since I am in a wheelchair, I had no choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjskukana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us! We were proud to be the host hotel for your conference! It was our pleasure having you as our guest. We are happy to see your great feedback about our team! We will share your feedback with our staff! These are the high standards that we strive to meet and achieve everyday!

We do hope that you will choose the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh the next time your travel plans bring you to Pittsburgh! Thank you again for staying with us!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I didn't think much of Pittsburgh itself, but if you have to come here the Wyndham is a solid choice. The rooms were nice, quiet and had comfortable beds. The bath was leaking but it didn't really bother us so we didn't report it to reception. The hotel is walking distance to Market Square - not much there but there is Starbucks and some restaurants.

The breakfast and service really let this hotel down for me. We went to breakfast and it took us 10 minutes to get seated (and they weren't even busy). Then we were seated it took them 25 minutes to take our order. The staff were hopeless. No offense to older people but they were all probably in their 50s or older and were very slow. They also had serious attitude and were yelling at each other which I just thought was unprofessional. The server even complained about her colleague to us. When we did get our food (40 minutes after we ordered) it was cold and terrible. I didn't even eat most of it. It was so bad that I complained to the reception staff when we checked out.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchickuae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us and letting us be a part of your journey. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our hotel overall and loved our perfect location! That is great to hear! We are very sorry for the issues that you encountered in our restaurant. Thank you for bringing this to our attention as this is not up to our high standards. We are in the process of adding staffing, dining options, and many more great changes to our Food and Beverage Outlets to our hotel. We soon will offer many great choices for you our guest.

We do hope that you will choose to return to the Wyndham Grand the next time your travel plans bring you to Pittsburgh.

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marfa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

It appears that part of the hotel is being renovated. The rest is pretty disappointing. Wallpaper pealing off of the walls in the bath, outdated everything, elevator landings are bare. Housekeeping missed many things, including replenishing coffee, tissue and soap. This is no better than a budget hotel at this point,yet the prices are much higher.

Room Tip: River view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilis I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello!

Thank you very much for staying with us! It was our pleasure having you as our guest! Thank you as well for sharing your review on Tripadvisor.com. We are very sorry that we did not exceed your expectations. We are in the process of making many changes and upgrades to our hotel. Thank you for letting us know this information about your guest room. We are very sorry that items were missing and for the condition. We will share your feedback with our team to address this. Please know this is not a reflection of our high standards. As for the elevator landings, we are in the process of updating and adding additional options off our elevators for our guests to enjoy.

We do hope that you will return to the Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh the next time your travel plans bring you to Pittsburgh.

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3,946 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 70 in Pittsburgh
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing