We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eh...”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here after our first choice (Renaissance) booked up. We decided to take in a ball game and chose this location for its proximity to PNC Park, which is the only asset in my opinion. The valet parking is a bit of a mess and disorganized, as well as expensive. The Renaissance offered cheaper parking at a public garage directly across the street from it. Also, we found the hotel under construction and a bit dated. The rooms are pretty small and we had trouble keeping the room cool - the air conditioning struggled. The concierge and staff seemed a bit aloof as well. But, we got the feeling that they catered more to the business crowd, not to tourists as much. Finally, while our view was good and we had access to the Club level and free continental breakfast, the coffee machine was empty when we arrived with no help in sight for a refill and the area was very small for the amount of people who partook... We probably would not return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hello!

Thank you very much for staying with us! We enjoyed having you as our guest! We would like to apologize for any confusion with our valet service. We will share your feedback with your valet company. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We also apologize that you were not happy with our facilities. We are in the process of transforming the hotel and making many new and exciting changes.

We do hope that you will choose to return to the Wyndham Grand. Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your feedback.

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    1,278
    1,190
    651
    353
See reviews for
883
892
139
1,841
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Location and staff were the highlights - valet parking was a bit pricey (i.e, $28/night) however it was easiest. Staff at the front desk and on the phone were pleasant and allowed us to check in a half hour early.

However, when we arrived in our room we did not have a comforter on the bed, we let the front desk know that we needed one and upon returning to the room a couple hours later there was one crumpled up hanging on a chair in the room. We also did not have soap or shampoo in the bathroom on the first night.

On the second day we were not given any new towels to replace our old towels (leaving us with one large towel for two people). Once again, we let the front desk know we needed more towels but we never received any more.

We were hoping for a better experience at the Wyndham but small issues and general dinginess (i.e,. stains on comforter, poor housekeeping, view of a rooftop with trash on it) would keep me form coming back. Sorry Wyndham.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Hello! Thank you for staying with us! It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We are very happy to see that you enjoyed our great location! We are excited to see that our Guest Services Team provided with excellent service! We would like to offer you our sincere apologies for the condition in with you found your bed and not having your amenities refreshed daily. We will share this information with our Housekeeping Leadership Team. Thank you for brining this information to our attention.

We hope that you will choose our hotel the next time your travel plans bring you to Pittsburgh! Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadyside, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Where to start? I got this room on Priceline.com. The front of the motel STILL isn't completed and the construction is a mess. The valet took my car and when I went to get something out of it from the parking lot, I had noticed that my back tires had mud all over them like they had backed up into a construction puddle or something. The valet "assured" me that he would take care of cleaning them up. He didn't. The room was small for a king-sized bed. Our view?? We got to see the roof and all of the construction men working. The next day, at 7:45 am, we were woken up to drilling and pounding outside of our room. The young woman at the front desk TOTALLY messed up our valet parking accounts, of which, it took two days to get straightened out. Our bed had no throw or cover-up on it, basically just white sheets when we checked in. The lamp had a large tear in the shade and the halls smelled musty and damp. If these were recently renovated, then they need to redo them again! I use Priceline.com frequently, and I pray I never get this motel again!

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raebuster3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Welcome!

Thank you for staying with us and for providing us with your feedback on Trip Advisor. We apologize for the front of our hotel not being completed. We are working very hard adding many new and excited places for our guests to enjoy. We will have all of our upgrades completed by the end of 2012. Thank you as well for providing with us with your feedback about your car in valet. We will follow up with our Valet Company. Thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Your feedback is very important to us. We will address your thoughts with our team.

We hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future. Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Was in Pittsburgh for a weekend getaway and to visit friend. Great location. Construction going on in the front of the hotel but not inside. Room was nice with a great view. Busy weekend so hotel was filled with a lots of people.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 460 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Hotel Quick Facts:
1. Big city parking is always high…$28 gets you valet service with as much ‘come and go’ privileges as you want. Cheaper parking can be had in nearby garages (especially after 4pm entry), but once you exit you must re-pay…
2. Front desk check-in very pleasant
3. Hotel fronts Point State Park which offers you plenty of green space for relieving wiggles or taking a jog along the river’s edge (and of course holds the wonderfully interpretive histories of Fort Duquesne and Fort Pitt)
4. Our room and bathroom was not overly large, but then again, at the end of the day, our family needs only a comfy place to lay our heads (and the beds were very comfy with pillows galore)
5. Room only gets a ‘B-‘ for cleanliness: hairs on bathroom floor and cracked brown caulking along shower
6. AMAZING Guest services staff: our remote did not work and the bathroom was stocked with only one towel (we are a family of 3)…one call and they were at our door almost before we could hang up, with replacements in hand; problems solved!
7. Lemon ice water offered at the front desk area; a nice touch!
8. Hotel renovations at front entrance did not cause us the slightest inconvenience

Oh how we loved our view!!!…we were given a room on the 19th floor facing Point State Park (where all three rivers converge). The sun set right in front of us and the city lights over the bridges, fort, incline and stadium just kept us staring out our perfectly cleaned window throughout the night.

FYI: our booking at this hotel was the result of an offer we accepted on Hotline…but now I know where to book to get an amazing view and to be so conveniently located to so much of what Pittsburgh has to offer!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank spontaneoustrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hello! Thank you very much for staying with us and for posting your comments on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your feedback! Thank you for your great comments about our Front Desk Team! We are very happy to see that you had a quick, friendly, and efficient arrival experience. We are also very happy to see that you enjoyed our perfect location! Thank you for your feedback about your guest room, we will address this. We are happy to see that our Guest Services Team quick corrected this.

Additionally, we are very happy to see that you enjoyed our welcome beverage area and our wonderful views! It was our pleasure having you as our guest! We are excited to welcome you again in the near future!

Have a wonderful day!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is disgusting. It's supposedly under renovation. The rooms as I heard were mostly done. Our first room had buttons torn off off the headboard and two rips in the desk chair. I have stayed at Motel 6's that were better than this dump. the place smelled musty. Our first room was smaller than a state room I had on a cruise.
The bait and switch on the room rate ruined our weekend.

This hotel does not and never will meet any level of luxury you may have expected by Wyndam. BOOK ELSEWHERE!

Room Tip: The courtyard, westin, omni or fairmont are MUCH better choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EvilScubaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Hello and Welcome!

Thank you very much for staying with us and for providing us with feedback about your experience with us. We would like to offer our sincere apologies for not meeting and exceeding your expectations. We will have our team investigate the issues you reported and have them corrected immediately. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us the next time your travel plans bring you to Pittsburgh.

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nice hotel, great location. Very clean, staff extremely helpful and pleasant. The restaurant is staffed by pleasant, professional staff, the food is very good and the prices are above average. The rooms are average, but nice. The location is great - right downtown, easy to walk to the Market Square and subway entrance. The only negative while I was there was the car bottleneck at the valet. Cars waiting for a very long time and backed up out into the street. This could make you late for functions. I would definitely stay there in the future - just beware of the valet parking.

Room Tip: The river view rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdgogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Welcome!

Thank you very staying with us and for your great feedback! It was our pleasure welcoming you as our guest! Thank you for your great feedback about our food. Our team has been working hard to make great culinary dishes everyday! We are also very happy to see that you enjoyed our perfect location. We apologize for any delay with our front drive and valet. We are actually in the process of completely renovating our front drive which will prevent any backups moving forward.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your wonderful feedback! We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Warmly,
The Wyndham Grand Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Pittsburgh
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing