We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So-so”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

Although this hotel was very clean and had nice upgrades the rooms were very small. Also, the bathroom doors have frosted glass which make it awkward when sharing the room with others. For two people the room would be fine but, if sharing-no thanks.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DolanBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    1,225
    1,117
    609
    322
See reviews for
832
850
129
1,715
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

This hotel is in a great location for visiting sports fans. It's only a short walk across the river to either a Steelers or Pirates game. The hotel itself is is fairly average. It doesn't have any amenities that put it over the top, but it doesn't have any glaring omissions either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cclancy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROCHESTER
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We booked through priceline, when we went to the front desk the lady just stood there looking at us. I asked if she could help us and she said yes. Once we told her we where checking in, we had to go to a different line. I guess only one person at the desk does check ins. When we got to him, and he found out we went through priceline his tone changed, very rude and like we were doing him a favor.

When we got to the room we just dropped our stuff off. When we went to bed, we should of slept on the street. The bed was very bumby and hard. It was awful. Will never stay here or another Wydham again.
It does have a perfect location for the city, just wish they would get there act together.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Troyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Small rooms but very clean, extremely comfortable beds and pillows. Wonderful courteous service from hotel staff, especially the luggage and valet attendants who took not only my bags but also my kids down to the car on the luggage rack. Great view of Point Park. There were tons of teenagers staying which made for a restless night, but I suppose that is the luck of the draw. Extremely easy to get to anywhere downtown from this address. Take a cab rather than the courtesy van. They will tell you 10 minutes regardless how long it takes them to come and get you which was upwards of an hour in our case...twice. Cabs from location to location downtown are cheap, so don't wait for the van. I would recommend this location to a friend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a Point Park View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lparuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

This hotel used to be the Hilton. Wyndham has taken it over and is doing a nice job with the update and reconfiguration. When we made our reservation---they alerted us that construction was going on. The inside of the hotel is quite nice as was our large spacious room.
The hotel cost was quite reasonable considering that it's a major city downtown hotel---and we had a AAA discount. It is the closest hotel to the point which gives plenty of space to walk around in the park. There was a festival going in the park, but the noise did not bleed to the interior of the hotel.

Parking was across the street in a public lot and was about $20/day. Hotel food was good and the wait staff excellent----including providing us with picnic goodies the day we left town. Driving in Pittsburgh is ugly at best given the bridges, no sense streets and tunnels---but given that, this hotel is in a "best of" location---so as not to get lost.

Room Tip: Great location and value with very nice customer service and wait staff people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthBay_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
57 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

35 minutes to vallet the car, 20 mins to check in, paid extra to upgrade to concierge floor however there was no concierge staffed and the lounge was closed. 25 mins to get the car back out of Vallet. When I voiced all my concerns to the desk manager she did not even say "we are sorry". Dont get me wrong great location excellent view but for a 3 + star hotel. Where is the service u would expect?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALTOONASHAWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked this hotel for 2 nights 7/1-7/3. We arrived Friday a little before noon not knowing if we would be able to check in early. They checked us right in and asked if we would like a room on a higher floor for a better view. We said yes and they put us on the 18th floor. When we got to the room it was facing the city and we had hoped for a view of the river. We called down and asked about a river view. They said a bellman would be right up to move us. In less than 2 minutes someone was up with a new key. We moved across the hall and had a great view. The rooms are a bit small but clean and comfortable.
After exploring town the first day we came back to the room and noticed water around the base of the toilet. We called and they sent someone immediately up to fix it. He cleaned up the water and found nothing to be wrong.
The front desk staff and everyone else at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. We had a couple drinks in the bar and the bartender was very nice and answered lots of questions we asked about the area.
We were in town for a concert at Heinz Field. This was the perfect location to walk to the concert, Market Square and all around town. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationjunkieIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Pittsburgh Downtown
0.5 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown

Property: Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown
Address: 600 Commonwealth Pl, Gateway Ctr, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-1003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 712
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Grand Pittsburgh Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing