We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying over night after a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
Ranked #31 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying over night after a wedding”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

When we got to the hotel one of the keys wasn't working the toilet was broken couldn't flush also was never told abut paying for parking at time of reservation. told the front desk all they said was sorry

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I would be pleased to follow up on your visit with you. I would like the opportunity to regain your confidence during a future visit.

I can be reached at chughes@wyndham.com

Best regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    613
    387
    152
    68
See reviews for
851
147
71
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The facility was fine (average) but the customer service was extremely poor. Upon check-in, I was treated as an annoyance. When I asked questions about parking and proximity to campus for our tour the next day the employee barely answered and made it quite clear that I was annoying her. I went to ask another question because I was still a bit confused but she turned to her co-worker and said, "Let's get our stuff ready its time to get out of here." I realized at that point that my needs did not matter.

What I found so interesting is that the next night we stayed at Mariott Courtyard in Cranberry Twp and my experience was the extreme opposite! The staff was AMAZING and could not have been more helpful. I will not be seeking a stay at the Wyndham the next time we go back for a follow up tour of Pitt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments via your review on Trip Advisor. I immediately acted upon your comments during a review with our front office staff. The lack of a warm welcome of hospitality is unacceptable and I appreciate you pointing it out so that it can be corrected.

Please let me know if I can provide a follow-up to your stay, and can be reached at chughes@wyndham.com

Sincerely, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

The heating system did not work, the room was cold. The toilet periodically gave off this loud "air in the plumbing" sound, and the cleaning staff didn't clean the bathroom our first night - just replaced some towels. Very good location for University events, but lacks proper maintenance/upkeep.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
I apologize to you for the substandard conditions of the guest room you occupied with the HVAC and loud plumbing which detracted from your guest experience. I would be happy to discuss this further with you and can be reached at chughes@wyndham.com

Respectfully, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Was in town for New Students Admiited Day at University of Pittsburgh with my son. Excellent location to all of our activities and the shops and food places. Staff was very friendly and eager to please, especially Cathy. They have a little parking lot, which is normally full, so you do need to spend $10 a day on parking at the adjacent UPMC lot.If my son decides to attend Pitt, this place will be my home away from home when I visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWS39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time to complete a review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center! I will be sure to extend kudos to Cathy for a job well done!

It is wonderful to see that you had an excellent guest experience and I genuinely hope that we are your "home away from home" for the next four years!

Thank you and warm regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wyndham for four nights while searching for Pittsburgh apartments and getting to know the city. The location was perfect for our needs, the sleep perfect, amenities just what we needed, and the staff incredibly thoughtful and accommodating. My wife wound up catching a bug, which caused us to have to stay an additional evening. When Cathy at the front desk learned this, she immediately went into action to make sure my wife had what she needed to get better - providing us with sliced fresh ginger, sliced lemons, hot water, extra washcloths and towels, and more. The maintenance staff was similarly friendly and interested in making sure we had everything we needed. A great hotel with a staff that really went over and above the call of duty - couldn't recommend enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wcbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time to articulate an excellent review of your guest experience at The Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center on Trip Advisor!

I will certainly share your review with Cathy and our entire staff and extend kudos to them for a job well done!

Thank you for your business and please let me know if there is ever an opportunity to provide assistance to you in the future.

Best regards, Coleman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Inn University Center
#53 of 70 in Pittsburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Shadyside
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
Mansions On Fifth Hotel
#49 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Property: Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
Address: 100 Lytton Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location in the heart of Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood and just steps from Carnegie Mellon and several world-renowned UPMC hospitals, the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center hotel exemplifies the best among Pittsburgh hotels. Travelers looking for a hotel in the center of Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and walking distance to University of Pittsburgh will find this non-smoking hotel ideal, and leisure travelers will delight in the myriad of sporting events, shopping, dining and renowned attractions offered in the Pittsburgh area and within easy reach of this hotel. After a long day of travel, guests can unwind with a relaxing dip in the heated indoor pool. Bridges Restaurant and Lounge offers upscale yet casual dining and affords guests the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner without needing to leave the hotel. A fully equipped fitness center is available for those who like to stay active or enjoy relieving the stress of a long day of conducting business. Guests enjoy the convenience of ample parking, available for a nominal daily fee, or may choose to leave the driving to the hotel by taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle service offered within a three-mile radius of this Pittsburgh University Center hotel. Each of the 251 well-appointed guest rooms includes thoughtful amenities like plush bedding, an ergonomic work station, and free Wi-Fi Internet. Guests upgrading to an Executive Level room enjoy a private, key-access floor, plush bathrobe and access to the private club lounge. This Pittsburgh hotel features seven newly renovated meeting rooms totaling 7,333 square feet of meeting space. The event rooms range from a 400-square foot event room that comfortably seats 25 people to a 3,500 square foot ballroom that accommodates up to 600 people for a reception, 250 people for a banquet, or 30 8X10 feet exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing