We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center
Ranked #30 of 72 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I booked two room through hotelstonight.com for $78.00 each. We got the two worse rooms they had #303, #306, small, bad view .
.
Very comfortable bed, ok bath.

For the price I thought it was fine.

$2 for coffee that you serve yourself in a paper cup is pushing it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Straighttime55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a complimentary review of your recent stay at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

I appreciate your comments and will share them with our staff as we continue our focus on excellence.

Best regards, Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,473 - 1,479 of 2,000 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel in the past when it was not the Wyndham. It was not that nice but I stayed there due to location. I was pleasantly surprised of what a great job Wyndham did with their renovations. You can not beat this hotel for the price. If you are going to Oakland there is not a better location in town. The rooms are very spacious. The bathrooms are so large its almost dare I say wasted space. The only complaint I had was the towels are paper thin and rough. A travelers tip is make sure you are aware they will gouge your for parking. Its $20. Street parking is free after 6pm. The meters start again at 7am. They do not run on Sundays. If you get there at 4pm on Saturday through a few dollars in the meter to get your to 6pm and you are good to go. You can also park in Soldiers and Sailors lot for less.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your day to complete a review with respect to your recent guest experience at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

I appreciated the gracious and complimentary comments you provided as well as the comment regarding the towel quality in your guest room. I will share your review with our staff to reinforce the excellent components or aspects which you have identified, as well as those opportunities for continuous improvement.

Thank you again for your time, and your business.

Best regards, Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our room was very cold and we had to turn the heat way up in order to be comfortable. Also, we requested a room with a king bed and it was not available and we were given two queen beds instead. The room was cleaning but the lighting was bad. The bed was pretty comfortable as well.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Alexandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review regarding your recent guest experience at the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center.

I apologize that your guest room was cold. It should have been at a comfortable temperature upon your arrival. I have reviewed your comments with our maintenance staff, and we are conducting a review in all of our guest rooms to ensure that all of the heating components are fully operational.

I would be happy to follow-up with you and I can be reached at chughes@wyndham.com.

I am pleased that other aspects of your guest experience were positive and hope that we have the opportunity to be of service to you in the future.

Respectfully, Coleman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank gracec879
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Wyndham traveler
1
Reviewed January 28, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Coleman H, General Manager at Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Courtyard Pittsburgh Shadyside
Quality Inn University Center
#53 of 72 in Pittsburgh
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center

Address: 100 Lytton Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-1444
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#24 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $106 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an enviable location in the heart of Pittsburgh's Oakland neighborhood and just steps from Carnegie Mellon and several world-renowned UPMC hospitals, the Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center hotel exemplifies the best among Pittsburgh hotels. Travelers looking for a hotel in the center of Pittsburgh's medical and educational district and walking distance to University of Pittsburgh will find this non-smoking hotel ideal, and leisure travelers will delight in the myriad of sporting events, shopping, dining and renowned attractions offered in the Pittsburgh area and within easy reach of this hotel. After a long day of travel, guests can unwind with a relaxing dip in the heated indoor pool. Bridges Restaurant and Lounge offers upscale yet casual dining and affords guests the opportunity to enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner without needing to leave the hotel. A fully equipped fitness center is available for those who like to stay active or enjoy relieving the stress of a long day of conducting business. Guests enjoy the convenience of ample parking, available for a nominal daily fee, or may choose to leave the driving to the hotel by taking advantage of the complimentary shuttle service offered within a three-mile radius of this Pittsburgh University Center hotel. Each of the 251 well-appointed guest rooms includes thoughtful amenities like plush bedding, an ergonomic work station, and free Wi-Fi Internet. Guests upgrading to an Executive Level room enjoy a private, key-access floor, plush bathrobe and access to the private club lounge. This Pittsburgh hotel features seven newly renovated meeting rooms totaling 7,333 square feet of meeting space. The event rooms range from a 400-square foot event room that comfortably seats 25 people to a 3,500 square foot ballroom that accommodates up to 600 people for a reception, 250 people for a banquet, or 30 8X10 feet exhibit booths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Pittsburgh University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh University Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing