We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Comfort Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Buffalo, New York
1 review
“Great Comfort Inn”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Picked this hotel because it was close to the zoo. The rooms were clean and in nice shape they are remodeling the hotel. The pool was Beautiful for us to relax in! The breakfast was wonderful for all of us. You could make your own waffles and each day they a nice cold and hot selection. We ended up staying for 3 nights because it was very peaceful here. It is a little way from downtown but was worth the stay! ALL the people working there were so friendly too !!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruetti_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    87
    67
    26
    19
See reviews for
114
37
21
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This hotel was situated perfectly, as I was attending a wedding at Fox Chapel CC. I booked online and had no trouble checking in. Visually, it's not much to look at from the outside, but the lobby has had a major facelift. I had a King room, which was unfortunately located at the nearest END of the hallway. This is an old hotel, that has hallways separated by old, heavy, metal doors. So every time someone entered the hallway (from about 6am onwards) I heard it. A rough start to the day after a wedding. The room was decorated beautifully, for it IS only a Comfort Inn. It's on-par with rooms that should fetch a few more dollars. Huge refrigerator, capable of holding plenty of food and drink, if needed. Also, a microwave! Amazing!

There's a shop next to the front desk which sells snacks and drinks, which said CLOSED at 11pm, BUT I was pleasantly surprised to find the front desk staff allow me to buy snacks at around 1am. Haven't had bagel bites since college, but they sure tasted good on that night.

They do have a shuttle that can take you around the area until 8pm, if arranged ahead of time. This got me to the wedding in time, and they called a cab for my collection later on that evening. All in all, worthwhile for the money.

Ohh yeah, and they do have a nice indoor pool! Went for an AM swim before checking out! Water temp was perfect, and I had it all to myself.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the connecting doors! They're heavy and loud. Also, maybe ask for a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wandererer151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill
Level 6 Contributor
455 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I traveled to Pittsburgh for a funeral. Even though there were some critical reviews for this hotel I decided to try it for convenience sake. I was pleasantly suprised. There has been a great deal of renovation. My room was very nice except for the kids in the pool until 11 P.M. Breakfast was better than many simular places. Also it was convenient to East Pittsburgh.
Also, kudos to the staff. After a four hour trip on the turnpike I was grumpy. They put up with that in a professional manner.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Courthouse067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed here twice in August and had stayed previously when it was a Holiday Inn. TThe renovated rooms were better but there is still an issue with the rooms being damp. I mean very damp as in I printed out a boarding pass in the morning, put it on the desk and by the afternoon, it was as if someone spilled water on it. I can't quite figure it out (I stayed on both the first and second floor). Renovations were being done while we were there but that did not bother us. Staff was VERY nice and helpful. Breakfast was OK--not great. There is very little around this hotel. You either need to go one exit to Fox Chapel or one exit to Harmarville to find several restaurants and stores. Pool is quite big, fairly clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhodepop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TAKOMA PARK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We saw some renovations still happening, but nothing disruptive. All the service people and maintenence people were very friendly. The kids loved the pool with the glass enclosure. The room was very nice with new furnishings - beds and pillows very comfortable.
My only complaint was that the drapes didn't close all the way so the lights from outside streamed into the room all night and also with no exhaust fan, all of our wet towels and bathing suits caused a bit of dampness in the air in the room.
There is a restaurant right up the road that has lots of choices. Right off the road. I recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KATHRYN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park
2 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2011

In spite of this hotel's current transitioning from a Holiday Inn to being a Comfort Inn, our room was great...large, attractive, clean, very comfortable king bed, updated bathroom...I can't think of one thing wrong wtih the room. The lobby and breakfast area was great, too, new and fresh and good food. Our hallway had not been renovated but it was clean. I agree with another reviewer that said it was a little difficult finding your way around. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattymorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Stayed at this hotel when it was Holiday Inn and found it very poor. However, Comfort Inn bought them in January 2011 and made some significant improvements. Free hot Breakfast now, and new dining area. Room was clean and updated. Everything worked. Free Internet available on the wire, no WIFI. Free WSJ in the lobby. Construction workers active at present, both inside and out. It appears they are doing much renovation. Some hallways torn up and room signs propped up on chairs. I think they are having some issues with room assignments, as they gave me an occupied room, late at night, but occupant had the door bolted, so I didn’t surprise anybody (whew!). Also witnessed another guest having the same problem. Visited the bar (brave little hand colored sign showing the way) and mood was relaxing and congenial, at least for business people on a Wednesday. There is now a Max and Erma’s restaurant within walking distance. I recommend this place for anyone visiting RIDC for business and feel Comfort Inn is really committed to making this hotel a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hobnail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh/Harmarville
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Conference Center
Comfort Inn Conference Center
#56 of 71 in Pittsburgh
283 reviews
7.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#38 of 71 in Pittsburgh
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Pittsburgh Harmarville
10.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#25 of 71 in Pittsburgh
105 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh - Mcknight Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Address: 180 Gamma Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15238-2931 (Formerly Holiday Inn Pittsburgh - Allegheny Valley / RIDC Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley
Comfort Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Allegheny Valley Hotel Pittsburgh
Holiday Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing