We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst experience ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
Ranked #12 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
kansas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“worst experience ever!”
Reviewed May 26, 2006

This is the worst stay in a hotel we ever had. Shower stunk, stains on carpet, dirty linens, peeling wallpaper, stains on loveseat (ewww). Definiitely subpar for a Hilton chain. The worst part though was that when we complained to the manager(who was okay to deal with), 2 housekeepers were standing near us and they were whispering (loudly) that we were liars and all we wanted was a free room. The woman handling the refund transaction was equally nasty in her 'customer service'. My main regret is that I didn't approach the manager a second time about my treatment.

Also, I feel the need to note that I had posted a review before about this hotel and it has been deleted and it did not break any of the posting rules, so watch out!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank noplacelikeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    566
    311
    107
    34
    18
See reviews for
369
302
55
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2006

We just got back from staying at the Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree. The rooms were noisey, the carpet was not vacumed, the heaters didn't work properly. When we complained about something missing from the room we were called liares. There are at least 3 other hotels in the area, pick one of those.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2005

Stayed at Hampton Inn 9/1 and 9/2 and had a very nice time. I had read reviews on this web-site which were favorable so I knew going in what to expect. From check in through check out my experience was excellent. The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast buffet was the best I have every seen at this level of hotel. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends or family and would go back again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C0ffeeman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2005

We stayed here passing through town traveling home from Michigan, and we were definitely happy with what we got for our money (about $83). There was a complimentary reception with beer, sodas and snacks in the evening when we checked in, and the breakfast buffet in the morning was adequate -- not great, but certainly plenty of choices for us to all get breakfast. The room itself was fine -- a king with a study, which had a pullout sofa and still room for my daughter's pack-n-play. For dinner, we'd recommend Papa J's -- recommended by the front desk (they have a nice handout with a list of local restaurants with directions). It's within a mile of the hotel and was delicious italian food.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vacationgirl105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2005

Had to return to Pittsburgh on short notice for a few days for funeral of a close relative. Most of relatives stayed at Renaissance Pittsburgh for $150+ per night, NOT including meals, newspapers, etc. I chose the Hampton Inn/Greentree because it was HALF the cost ($74.00), including a great HOT breakfast buffet (not just cold danish), and daily newspapers. The Hampton was also closer to Church/memorial gardens than Downtown was, and a more convenient drive to shopping (Robinson Township / South Hills Village). Hampton staff was VERY helpful with early AM check-in and late check-out. ONLY RECOMMENDATION: Hampton needs to get better (LARGER) signage on the roads to direct you to their main driveway (a little confusing). Find it once, however, and you'll be back! As for the Renaissance - nice lobby and rotunda ceiling, but NOT worth the $76.00 premium over the Hampton!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DPTurnerNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisbon . ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2005

During my fathers stay at hospital we stayed at this hotel and was very happy with the staff and the breakfast .. I surely would recommend this hotel to anyone needing to be close to AGH.. we will stay there again if we need to be close.. for the price it was more then expected.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elsie57_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2003

Was very surprised at the quality of the Hampton Inn in Greentree, PA just a few miles outside of the city of Pittsburgh. Had to be in town during the Pitt/ Notre Dame game weekend, and could not get lodging in any of our favorites. This hotel had rooms, availabe, but I was hesitant because of its proximity to the highway. I was pleasantly surprised! The hotel itself, while only 10 minutes from Heinz Field was VERY quiet, inside and out, and the staff very courteous, although busy. The complimentary breakfast was always well stocked. We will definitely return!

Helpful?
6 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
3.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
3.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree
Address: 555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree hotel is three miles away from downtown Pittsburgh and the North Shore - providing free shuttle to and from local businesses and nearby attractions. We're located 10 miles away or less from: the Pittsburgh Zoo, Oakland University Center, Andy Warhol Museum, CONSOL Energy Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, Kennywood Amusement Park, University of Pittsburgh, PNC Park and more. Our clean, comfortable guest rooms include free WiFi, hot breakfast, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh / Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing