We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off*
Ranked #10 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great hotel, nice helpful staff, room was clean and well equipped. Just enough outside of town to miss the traffic. This hotel has remodeled....everything looks brand new. This is a great place to stay.....oh yeah, and you can't beat the waffles!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
George M,
I am glad you enjoyed the remodeled look of the hotel and found everything to be clean and comfortable! The waffles are a great addition to the complimentary breakfast and I am glad you enjoyed those as well! I hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Pittsburgh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    237
    87
    29
    13
See reviews for
286
228
45
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel property is in a great location to navigate from the highway and for visiting downtown Pittsburgh. The room and lobby were clean and hotel staff were very helpful. The shuttle service has several drop off/pick up locations that are very convenient. Breakfast was great as expected. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brandi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Brandi P,
It is great to hear that you found the location to be easy to find from the highway and convenient to downtown. I am glad that you enjoyed the hot breakfast and were able to take advantage of the shuttle downtown. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Even though this hotel is right next to the highway, you are required to drive through a maze of small roads and alleys in Greentree in order to reach it. The hotel was clean and comfortable (great coffee!), but way too far out of the way. We could not find a convenience store or grocery store anywhere around it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leppaenat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
leppaenat,
I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel difficult to find. We are only ½ mile and 3 turns away from the highway exit. The front desk staff is always available to help with directions if needed. There are also 2 grocery stores less than a mile from the hotel and directions are available at the front desk as well. Next time you are looking for something, just ask us. That is what we are here for! We hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very clean place with comfortable pillows and a healthy free breakfast bar. They staff is accommodating and friendly. The location is excellent. Easy access to the airport and downtown activities. I've stayed here before and will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Ray S,
We are so glad that you enjoy staying with us and found your room to be clean and comfortable! We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The lobby has been nicely renovated and the hotel looks great... until you get to the rooms. Our standard room with 2 queen beds looked dirty. The carpets were dingy and showed wear, the walls were dirty (especially when you enter), and the shower caulking needs to be redone (brown (especially around edges and around soap holders). Water pressure was not great in this hotel either.

Breakfast was great - excellent serving staff who kept everything well stocked. The only good thing about this hotel in my opinion.

One big draw to this hotel was the free shuttle service to downtown. We used the service during the day and had a wonderful driver. He was chatty, full of info and provided lots of hints for the city. The driver we used during the evening was not good. We had problems with his service. He dropped us off, just around the corner at the bridge (when going to a Pirates game) and said he'd pick up there as soon as the game ended. Since we had young children, we left the game early to get to the pickup spot first so we could be sure to get them back for bed. Waited over an hour due to extra innings and then see the driver picking up for our hotel, before the stop where he let us off! We asked him why and he rudely said, "I pick up here or there". Of course the bus was already full and we had to wait another round for pickups. Completely annoying as we were waiting all that time exactly where HE told us to wait.

We'll not stay here again. Not a good experience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank StoneFamilyReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
StoneFamilyReviews,
I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments regarding the quality of the room and the shuttle service are not the typical feedback we receive, and I am sorry that you did not leave the hotel feeling satisfied. Our maintenance team has already addressed the issues you mentioned, so another guest is not as disappointed as you were. The miscommunication from the shuttle driver has also been addressed, and I am sorry that you were not picked up in a timely manner. I hope that you would consider giving us another chance to prove our commitment to your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On our recent visit to Pittsburgh for the Vintage Grand Prix, we wanted to include our dog. This hotel was very pet friendly. We received a bag of doggie treats that we're a big hit with our dog when we checked in. Our room was on the first floor, convenient for taking our dog out. The room was clean, the service was great, and there was a hot breakfast every morning. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Denise M,
I am so glad that we were able to make you and your pet feel at home while staying with us! Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Service is great. When we were there it was raining. They lent us an umbrella. And so and so on.
House keeper was nice and friendly.
Clean and quiet.
After 4:00 there is snack, free beer and wine. I was pretty impressed with this price.

A little negative point is too much chlorine in the swimming pool.
We are happy to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1961CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
1961CN,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We want all of our guests to enjoy a friendly staff and a clean comfortable room at great value. We will check the chlorine levels to make sure everything is running properly in the pool. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Pittsburgh-Green Tree
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Pittsburgh West-Green Tree
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Pittsburgh West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Cambria hotel & suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
3.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
Address: 555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#5 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree hotel is three miles away from downtown Pittsburgh and the North Shore - providing free shuttle to and from local businesses and nearby attractions. We're located 10 miles away or less from: the Pittsburgh Zoo, Oakland University Center, Andy Warhol Museum, CONSOL Energy Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, Kennywood Amusement Park, University of Pittsburgh, PNC Park and more. Our clean, comfortable guest rooms include free WiFi, hot breakfast, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing