We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Value & Location...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
Ranked #14 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

IMHO.. This hotel is a great Value and is in a great location...
The hotel staff are expedient and friendly...check-in occurred w/o incident.
The Facilities... & our room was very clean... there were no incidents or complaints here as well. The room was comfortable and the bed and linens were very conducive to sleep...
There is a very nice Free Breakfast w/Hot foods as well as the usual continental fare...
The Coffee in room and in the lobby is very good.
The hotel does provide shuttle services... the parking is free by the way...
There are ample restaurants, and activities close to this hotel... as it is only a 5 min ride thru the Ft. Pitt tunnell to downtown pittsburgh.
I have stayed here several times... & would recommend this to any traveler.

Jugajim

Room Tip: Ask for King bed Room... if it applies...the bed was comfortable and linens were very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
James M,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. A clean room and a hot breakfast are things that we want all of our guests to enjoy, and I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle as well. The next time you visit us, we may look a little different to you because we are having our lobby area renovated, so you will have an even better experience while staying with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    269
    98
    30
    15
See reviews for
312
258
48
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastern PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is one of my many trips to Pittsburgh and this hotel has a great value and top notch service. The rooms are always clean, the front desk employees are always thorough, polite and knowledgeable. The daily breakfast changes some menu items daily. I haven't used the shuttle service but sitting in the lobby at night heard the front desk employee and the hotel guests getting rides all over Pittsburgh. The rrooms are quiet and the beds extremely comfortable. The only thing that should change was the noisy air conditioning compressor that was a bit noisy. I was surprised because I wasn't even running it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wyobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Wyobob,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Hampton Inn Greentree. I am sorry to hear that the noise from the heating unit disturbed you, and you will be happy to know we are in the process of upgrading all of our HVAC to a quieter model. We hope this upgrade will improve the quality of stay for all of our guests. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We come to Greentree area every year to visit my aunt and we always try to call far enough in advance to be able to stay here-----top on my list is CLEAN -- I check over the room and mattresses for any evidence of bugs-----they do an OUTSTANDING job here---the rooms are spotless, the dark green carpeting thoroughly vacuumed, the bathrooms squeaky clean (stocked with extra towels)---we get a great night sleep in the comfy beds and the hotel must have great insulation for you can't hear other doors closing or folks walking in the halls., I can't say enough for this establishment but I need to add that they staff from the front desk to the breakfast buffet worker and cleaning staff not only do a great job but they are friendly and helpful. The rooms now have a small frig and microwave which are very nice touches. See you all next year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganderMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
MichiganderMom,
I am so glad that you have returned to stay with us again this year! Thank you for recognizing the staff members. They work very hard to make sure our guests are in a clean comfortable room, enjoy a hot fresh breakfast, and experience friendly service. I am glad this is why you chose to come back and stay with us every year. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here for one night and wish I was able to stay longer. The room was spacious, comfortable, clean and nice. The service was phenomenal! On the checkout day my brother had an interview so he had the car...I wanted to get lunch somewhere nearby and asked if i could walk anywhere. There were plenty of places within walking distance but the kind shuttle driver offered to drop me off and pick me up wherever I wanted to go. And I didn't even have to ask. Great place, thank you Hampton Inn...i will be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noworries171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Noworries171,
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our shuttle drivers are always looking for ways to help out our guests. I am glad he was able to assist you! We look forward to seeing you again, and we hope your brother’s interview went well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frackville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here for a weekend. This place is top notch and the service was impeccable! From the staff, breakfast, shuttle and amenities, we would recommend this to anyone. From the no-hitter Friday to us leaving Sunday, Hampton Inn Greetree made us feel welcomed!

Room Tip: Try to get a room towards the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinggolfer_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Travelinggolfer_1,
I am so glad to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our hot breakfast and shuttle service to the Pirates game! We hope you will stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Pittsburgh! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while in town for a recent Steelers game. The staff here was very kind and helpful. That includes the shuttle staff that will drop off and pick you up pretty much anywhere and anytime you would like. One driver, Ron or Don I think (retired firefighter) was very knowledgable about the city and recommended some good restaurants. The hotel was clean as most are and they had a managers dinner one night with chili, free beer and soft drinks. Although we had just eaten, still a nice touch. If you are looking for a nice hotel outside downtown Pittsburgh for a Steelers or Pirates game (they are right beside each other) at a cheaper rate than downtoen, I really like this choice. Enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dakotan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dakotan,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We want all of our guests to enjoy clean and comfortable rooms, and friendly service. I will make sure Ron is aware of your positive feedback! I hope to see you again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights. When we arrived we were told that the price had gone up. I explained that we were never notified of the price change. The front desk manager did not make us pay the increased price b/c we were not notified. To be honest, I was disappointed that "they" tried to raise the price on us. But happy that we were not charged the higher price. When we went to our room, the floor by the a/c was wet. We were both exhausted and decided we would wait until the next morning to notify the staff.
We did tell the staff and they said it would be fixed.
Friday night we went to a Pirate game. We took the shuttle. The gentleman driving the shuttle was very nice and explained the sights on our way to the park. The shuttle is to stop at 9pm, but since the game wasn't over until late, he did stay on and brought everyone back to the hotel. Thanks for staying late!
Saturday we noticed that on top of our a/c was a big pool of water and the floor was wet. So I told the front desk again about the problem. By the time we got back to the room, it was cleaned up.
Overall, this is a very clean and nice hotel. I did use the pool on Friday which was relaxing. If we were going to a Pirate game, I would probably stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greentree_Manager, Manager at Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Kimol,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am sorry that there was an issue with your A/C unit. I hope maintenance was able to address the issue in a timely manner, and the issue did not affect the rest of your stay. I am glad that you were able to utilize our shuttle service to get to and from the Pirates game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree

Property: Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree
Address: 555 Trumbull Dr, Pittsburgh, PA 15205-4358
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pittsburgh
#4 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#10 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree hotel is three miles away from downtown Pittsburgh and the North Shore - providing free shuttle to and from local businesses and nearby attractions. We're located 10 miles away or less from: the Pittsburgh Zoo, Oakland University Center, Andy Warhol Museum, CONSOL Energy Center, Carnegie Mellon University, Heinz Field, Kennywood Amusement Park, University of Pittsburgh, PNC Park and more. Our clean, comfortable guest rooms include free WiFi, hot breakfast, microwaves and mini-refrigerators, fitness center, seasonal outdoor pool, business center and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelsforEveryone and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh/Greentree Hotel Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing