We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's okay, but not great.”

Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill
Ranked #218 of 2,153 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
151 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's okay, but not great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Smokey Bones had the advantage of being able to seat our group in less than an hour on a holiday week night. There's a reasonable variety of food, and I know that you should never get fish at a meat place, but the salmon looked so good and I wasn't really in the mood for beef. Well, let me just repeat--don't get fish at a meat place. It was really, really overcooked and dry. Others in my group were everywhere from "Eh" to "Okay", but I don't think we'll be making a special effort to get to Smokey Bones again.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank missalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    33
    15
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good service, excellent food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I specifically went to Smokey Bones because of the football games on that night (Sunday), and I was told that they had all the games showing which they did. That's great if you're traveling and want to watch your home team!

Anyway, I sat at the bar and had prompt and attentive service. I ordered a salmon dish, and it was some of the best salmon I've had in awhile -- very impressive for a chain restaurant. If you're trying to go really cheap, it may be hard to find something, but the prices are reasonable considering the amount of food. Beer was varied on tap with some very good choices.

My only regret is that Smokey Bones used to have an incredible bison burger on the menu -- it was actually the first place I ever tried bison at the Smokey Bones in Montgomery, AL! Anyway, I wish they'd bring it back, but the rest of the food is also good. Worth a trip!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Immediate Seating, Fantastic Food and Drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We came to Smokey Bones on a Saturday night expecting a long wait and were so pleased to see that we could be seated immediately. The restaurant is HUGE with a giant bar--so they are very efficient about moving people in and out without much of a wait.
They have drinks for EVERY palette. There is wine, beer (bottled and on tap), cocktails, sodas--and so many innovative in-betweens. It took time to decide which to choose!
The food menu is broken into sections of burgers, appetizers, sandwiches, barbecue and roasted meats, platters, and even pastas. There is something for every appetite. I chose the pulled pork platter which comes with two sides. The cinnamon apples were incredible--the right balance between crisp and tenderness. The pork comes without any sauce--just slow cooked and fork tender. There are five different barbecue sauces on the table--my favorite was the honey mustard barbecue--which surprised me with its tangy sweet taste.
My boyfriend selected a buffalo chicken sandwhich that he thoroughly enjoyed with the loaded fries.
The desserts looked fantastic but alas, we didn't save room.
We will absolutely be back!!

A word of advice to locals--they put out a few $10 off coupons each month that are found in the two major Sunday newspapers toward the beginning of each month. Take advantage of this fantastic offer!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GabrielleTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Off Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The service was subpar, and the wrong food came out of the kitchen. This is usuall a top notch experience....maybe they were just having an off night.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
190 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

What I great restaurant!!! The best service - awesome steak - the draft beer was so cold - and a frosted mug helped! The food was so good - the price was great - I will go back!!! Better than most places that I've been to in a long time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 859Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill also viewed

 

Been to Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing