We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Favorite Restaurants in Pittsburgh”
Review of Willow

Willow
Reserve with OpenTable
Willow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #195 of 2,167 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorite Restaurants in Pittsburgh”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I no longer live in Pittsburgh but come back several times a year to visit. We include a dinner at Willow on every trip. We have never been disappointed by the food or the service. The menu had just been changed so our table ordered the barbeque and crab cake. The barbeque we selected included 3 different options for the various locations in the US. We liked the brisket the best. Crabcake was ordered as an appetizer which could have been an entrée for the size, very tasty. We have found the servers to be very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu.

My one unenthusiastic comment is the tables are very close to each other so you can partake in your neighbor's conversations.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calikaryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    35
    12
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great food, great service and great atmosphere”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We chose this restaurant to entertain business clients. This restaurant came as a recommendation and was a bit out of the way. However, when we got there I understand why this place is so highly regarded.

The unique decor, the intimate atmosphere and the unique style of dish all made this a great experience.

The outdoor patio had a more casual dining experience than the inside. Both were quite pleasant.

The service was excellent. The staff were extremely knowledgable about the menu and the wine list. They were always Injecting their input. It was helpful.

An added bonus, we had the pleasure of meeting a sports legend Franco Harris while dining here. He was enjoying a meal next to us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BSmithVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well Worth the Trip”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Will pare this down to save reading time:  Ambience:  Not so much.  Service:  Excellent (Victoria, ask for her)  Menu:  Great variety,  adventurous and fun.  Love the small plate options.  Food:  The four dishes we tried were all very good, some better than others.   One huge plus is the warm homemade focacchia.  Presentation:  Looks very appetizing and professional.  Price:  Surprisingly reasonable!  We will return, but will eat at the bar where it looked livelier than back of the house.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quiet weekday spot on the deck”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

On a Thursday evening in early spring, we celebrated our 15th wedding anniversary at Willow. The place is huge and must be bustling on the weekend, but there were only about 10 tables filled that night. The service was excellent at the start and waned as the night went on. The Lobster Bites appetizer was delectable, though not in need of the deep fried parmesan tater tots as an accompaniment. We shared the sirloin steak which was cooked to our preference and paired with an amazing potato gratin and crunchy green beans. We didn't think much of the view from the deck which consisted of the parking lot. We would return again, but on the weekend for a more festive atmosphere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenyonGrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
546 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“One of my favorite restaurants in the Pittsburgh area”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Willow has a creative chef and professional wait staff. The food is always delicious. The wine and drinks list is impressive. Things like lunch burgers even have the chef's special twist: topped with BBQ sauce, cheddar, pork belly. My dessert of poached pear with a basil mixed marscapone was yummy. I've never had a bad meal here for lunch or dinner.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JLFERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
Pittsburgh, PA
 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Willow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing