We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY GOOD MEAL, EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Review of Willow

Willow
Reserve with OpenTable
Willow is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #206 of 2,178 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD MEAL, EXCELLENT SERVICE”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband & I ate there for dinner for our anniversary. I had the crab cakes which were huge & my husband had the salmon. We both enjoyed our meals very much and the service was fantastic. Our waitress was able to answer any question we had for her.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rollerdiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    12
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“willow - made me want to sleep on a pillow”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had been to willow one time before and i remember having the salmon which was mediocre. this time I went on a Saturday nite in late January. It was pretty busy with a few large loud parties. I sat at the bar initially and had a house chardonnay..terrible...we were then sat at an upstairs table. HATE THE AMBIANCE at these four tops. they have no booths or no seating arrangements that are appealing...the menu is tired and uncreative...i ordered the house salad with blue instead of feta that came with...it was okay... for the entree, i ordered the short ribs and pasta with sun dried tomatoes...it actually tasted pretty good, but shortly after arriving home, hmm - how can i put this delicately, i was violently ill....the chef needs to update the decor, the tired menu, and make sure he is utilizing correct cooking procedures/buying fresh ingredients...one last note - very sophisticated older crowd ..i'd assume from wexford..it was fun looking at the clothes!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etltr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Used to be good”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Willow used to be a good restaurant, but now the chef has become lazy, he very rarely changes the menu. He offered a special this past summer with a Jack Daniels barbeque on Wednesdays. They served the leftovers as specials on Thursday, and it was what I ordered and it was terrible. The wine list never changes also. I don't know who buys the wines, but they are the poorest selections at ridiculous prices. The best thing about this restaurant is the service. If you decide to dine here, ask for Torie, Tiffany, Tyler or Wade. They are very knowledgeable about the food (given the menu never changes that would be easy) and the same with wines, but most of all, they are very attentive and try to make your dining experience the best.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rpeters57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We return again and again”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Willow is a perfect half way point for us to visit friends from Pittsburgh as we live north of the city. The food is always good and the staff knowledgeable and attentive. The only complaint we have is they took the stacked chicken off the menu even though it was their number one item.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank norlana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mountain Surprise”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Did a late lunch/early dinner here on a Saturday afternoon - no wait, which was nice. Ordered two of their specialty drinks and made a meal of small plates and soup - my wife had their butternut squash bisque and the duck tacos, while I started with the rabbit stew. We then split their huevos rancheros. Everything was absolutely delicious - definitely a menu and quality of meal fit for foodies. Fresh ingredients, well prepared and presented. Only complaint was that in a mostly empty restaurant, they sat us in a booth right next to the only other couple in the room, so there was not much privacy for conversation. We absolutely loved the place and was glad we stopped. Cost was a little pricey, but should be expected for near a big city and quality of food - with tip, meal for two for a soup, 2 small plates, an entree, and 2 specialty drinks was $72.00.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Willow also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Willow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing