We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, functional for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Ranked #2 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2008

I visited Pittsburgh for a conference in early Aug 2008. The Parador was recommended by another local B&B (The Priory) that was already booked up. This is an old mansion with large rooms, fireplaces in each, great furniture, a very comfortable bed, and The Modern Necessities (free wireless internet, Direct TV, a fridge to store leftovers, complimentary wine &/or cold beer). The breakfasts were set around my work schedule, and always a full course and freshly made, with a different option each morning. It's a great deal, and - although off the beaten path - is a short cab ride (or bus ride) into downtown. The manager is not instrusive, and the back porch is comfortable for relaxing in the mornings/evenings. There's even a huge nearby park for morning jogs/walks.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank shastastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 213 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

Stayed for one night and that one night was excellent. Lovely clean room, superb customer service and very pleasant interior. The location itself wasn't the best, but it's a very short drive to nicer parts of the area - so that wasn't a real concern. The breakfast in the morning was also very good!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Halidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I was very disappointed when I had to cancel my stay. My husband and I were planning a trip to Pittsburgh to meet up with some friends. Unfortunately, our friends got bad news about a family member and had to cancel our trip. I then called the Parador and asked to cancel the reservation (3 days notice) due to a family emergency. The first thing that I was confronted with is "well I need some kind of proof"--I was saddened by the abrupt non-sympathetic remark. I basically said that I was uncomfortable to ask my friend to give me proof that their family member was gravely ill in the hospital. I then said that I understand your policy that you can't give a refund I would like a credit, which isn't the best--but I knew that info. from the site (cancellation within 2 weeks--can only offer credit). I then asked if I could I give the credit to a friend who may be visiting the area--unfortunately, that doesn't work either. I'm out the money and quite honestly it's made me not want to stay there.

I'm sure this is a great place to stay, I was just sad at how I was treated.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank 1234DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed here for four days for a friend's wedding. Although the neighborhood is not the best, when I walked in I felt like a princess. Our rooms were the most spacious I've even been in. I had the chance to see all the rooms, and they are really quite beautiful and large. The mansion itself is so spacious; I think I only sat on 15% of the couches! Its not far from the hospital, and I was concerned about street noises but we were actually able to sleep with the windows open; we only heard the fountain in the courtyard. Ed was great, the prices affordable (and even underpriced), and we made fast friends with Razor, the dog. The only cons were the bed was a little uncomfy and the room a bit hot at night. I have already recommended it to a few friends.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GardenSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2008

My wife & I stayed in Pittsburgh August 2007 for a family wedding and decided to make a bonified 'lets experience Pittsburgh' vacation out of our trip. The wedding was at a different, small, but popular & well known B&B, the Morning Glory Inn. It was booked solid by the wedding party. We trust trip advisor's ratings so we looked for a good deal on one of their well ranked hotels. We found a great deal on The Priory , a European style hotel, and at the time it was ranked #2 of a long list on Trip Advisor. They were also booked solid on the wedding night (Friday) but not early week. The Priory's receptionist recomended The Parador Carribean Style B&B as a great place to stay describing it as a new Place thet had recently come under new ownership and had been completly redone as a Victorian Style / Carribean Style / Key West Style Bed & Breakfast Inn. She said she heard great things about it and gave me the website address. We were intrigued so we checked out the website and gave Ed Menzer, the host & proprietor a call. He was running a deal on a fourth night free so we decided to stay 2 days at the Priory and then 4 at The Parador. We have absolutely nothing bad to say about the Priory....It was everything Trip Advisor said it was and more. But let me tell you: The Parador blew the Priory away (and, for that matter, anyplace we have ever stayed) with its incredible ambiance, beauty, and spaciousness. Ed gave us the grand tour and from moment 'one' we were in awe. Caribbean music is piped in to the common areas 24/7. The suites are huge, each has its own distinctive styling and atmosphere, and they are all the same price. The website simply doesn't do the place justice and must be seen to be believed. You are instantly transported hundreads of miles away from the big city to a caribbean Paradise just by walking over the threshold. The furniture, the courtyard, the white sand 'beach', the incredible murals painted on the walls, intricate original woodwork, floors, ceilings, knick knacks...Wow! Ed's (& his Black Lab Razor's) personality and hospitality exude from every square inch. It is evident that alot of thought and hard work has gone into making The Parador all that it is and we (my wife has been in the hospitality industry all her life) recommend it as 'The only" place to stay in Pittsburgh and well worth every penny.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank hiramabif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank geko20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Каждый номер хорош по-своему!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ksenija T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#7 of 72 in Pittsburgh
4,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Address: 939 Western Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15233-1717
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $168 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Caribbean in Pittsburgh, come to The Parador. Formerly the Rhodes Mansion built in 1870. Free off street parking, walking distance to Downtown, full hot American breakfast, large Courtyard and abundant public space are but a few of the amenities all guests enjoy. Plan your event in the 2,700 square foot ballroom, built by the Knights of Columbus in the 1930s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parador Inn Of Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing