We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caribbean. In a great old mansion in Pittsburgh. No kidding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Ranked #3 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dearborn, Michigan
Level Contributor
229 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Caribbean. In a great old mansion in Pittsburgh. No kidding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located in the historic North Shore neighborhood, with several notable homes in the are, this bed and breakfast stands out for its flamboyant, yet hugely successful Caribbean theme and colors.
Host Ed and his Sr. And Jr. VP's will welcome you upon booking, upon your arrival, and wish you "ire" when you leave, with a follow-up thank you email. Pretty impressive and rather flattering.
All rooms are the same price, a brilliant idea, as the $400 room merits rarely exceed those of the $175 room, especially in operating costs. Only drawback - making a choice! - as all the rooms are pretty wonderful and selection decisions are not simply driven by price.
Of special note: antiques in all the rooms and throughout the home, some quite special and almost all of them huge. The mural painted walls in the parlor and dining rooms are outstanding, as well as the noteworthy ceiling treatments. Did I mention the wood panelling visible from the front entrance to most of the rooms within?
There are several places to eat in walking distance, the National Aviary is less than a five minute drive. Your host is knowledgeable and accessible about all local sights, activities, restaurants, and diversions. In other words, a terrific resource!
A slight stair climbing alert is in order. Leave the steamer trunk in the car and bring in the easily carried items.
Breakfast was really good, the setting delightful, and enjoyed by all the guests.
An excellent lodging choice for a memorable visit.

Room Tip: Loved our choice, which had a second floor sitting room, and a bedroom with full bath on the third...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    29
    7
    5
    5
See reviews for
28
106
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had yet another great weekend getaway at the Parador Inn. Our room was very comfortable, with a great gas fireplace that kept the room toasty while we watched a movie. Our yummy breakfasts including tasty bread, savory bacon (perfectly prepared) and some traditional Costa Rican fare. Ed also steered us towards some lovely local eateries to enjoy. The Parador has become our go-to weekend getaway destination, and we look forward to our next visit. We also enjoy the chance to play the steel drum on the first floor! :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_and_Sue_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This was our first stay at a B&B. We had a totally great experience. The ambiance of the entire setting is just wonderful. I can not say one bad word about anything. Ed is a gracious host and a great conversationalist. (His dogs are pretty cool too!) Our stay was a last minute decision and I couldn't have been more pleased. An easy walk to the casino, football & baseball stadiums, and the transit into town. Only a $8 cab ride from Station Square. We will be back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Ed gave us great advice about local restaurants, attractions and tips about directions. Great breakfasts. Convenient to the Aviary and Mexican War Streets and not far from Downtown Pittsburgh. Well worth the stay. Free off street parking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Fl
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Enjoyed the unique property and location while staying for 1 night between Christmas and New Year's Eve. One suggestion to the Innkeeper is to be careful what he says on the blog on his website. He has a listed Blizzard Special on his website without the detail and disclaimers surrounding this offer. Drawing from my own business experience, communicating clearly and honestly with potential customers and working to exceed guest expectations is what drives repeat business and referrals (the life blood of any business). I do not believe calling guests out on the business website blog is really a recipe for success in the long run.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Al F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theparadorinn, Owner at The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Actually, the rant I made on my January 2 blog had nothing to do with this guest. I know who it was; they booked the same day and visited for one night, December 27. They requested the Blizzard Special and I told them that special was only available the day of a snow storm. They arrived, seemed to have a nice time and left nice comments on their in-room guest comment card.

On January 2, I had a phone call in the morning from a lady that wanted to book one night, January 5 and she wanted to apply the Blizzard Special to it. When I told her that special was only valid when booking the same day as a snow fall, she decided not to book. Later, I had a phone call and the guest wanted to know how much my "cheapest room" was. I was slow that evening and offered a room for $100 ($50 off). They asked if that was my cheapest room and when I replied yes, they opted not to book. Hence me venting my frustration in that day's blog.

I don't know how much clearer I can be with my Blizzard Special. On my Specials page on my web site it says "Blizzard Special 50% off rooms bookd the day of a snow storm for that night." We are all tired of the big ad companies twisting the truth trying to get our dollars. I've worked corporate hotels and am used to seeing those $79 rooms they advertise that have the view of the dumpster area, then there's the $25 parking fee, there's an up-charge for a king bed over a full, there's the service fee for this amenity and that. My pricing, my specials are all upfront and there are no hidden fees.

I appologize to this guest, I really shouldn't let frustration enter my blog.
ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I NEVER want to stay in a hotel again! What an awesome weekend with great hospitality! The decor of the room that we stayed in was top notch! I loved the baked oatmeal and french toast along with the fresh fruit parfaits! Overall I'd give it an A+++ If you are ever thinking about going to Pittsburgh please stay here! Many rooms to choose from along with warm and cozy family/living rooms to chill, play games, or eat and read!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURPENGARY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just loved the Parador Inn. Ed was the perfect host and was full of information but was extremely conscious of not being intrusive. Dee was there when we arrived and was one of the nicest people we met on our whole trip. She and Ed make a great team. The house was magnificent and we loved all of the quirky touches. We especially loved the steel drum in the parlour. Breakfast was a nice change and certainly fuelled the day's activities. The room was had was the Lady Palm and it blew us away. Two massive rooms with a bathroom in the middle. It was our son's favourite room for the whole trip. Comfy bed, plenty of room.would stay at the Parador Inn again in a heartbeat. Thanks Ed and Dee and the stars of the show Razor & RJ. Steve,Toni & Jack, Burpengary Australia

Room Tip: Lady Palm is amazing value for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackal8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Property: The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Address: 939 Western Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15233-1717
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Caribbean in Pittsburgh, come to The Parador. Formerly the Rhodes Mansion built in 1870. Free off street parking, walking distance to Downtown, full hot American breakfast, large Courtyard and abundant public space are but a few of the amenities all guests enjoy. Plan your event in the 2,700 square foot ballroom, built by the Knights of Columbus in the 1930s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parador Inn Of Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing