We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful property in a fun neighborhood” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Ranked #3 of 10 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful property in a fun neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Parador Inn is a lovely place to stay. I was here for almost 2 weeks on business, staying in a large upstairs suite in the carriage house. The Inn is an old mansion that has been wonderfully done as a B&B. Ed offers helpful advice on restaurants and local attractions. Breakfast is terrific- 3 course every day, with yogurt parfait, home-made bread, and entree. In 2 weeks there, there was no repetition of entree & all were terrific. Walking distance to downtown, and plenty of good restaurants walking distance from the inn.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    33
    8
    5
    5
See reviews for
32
115
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

I am the Innkeeper of the Stony Point Bed and Breakfast in Tyrone Pennsylvania. I started as Innkeeper in March of this year..I asked Ed via email for advice about being an Innkeeper. He was extremely helpful and provided unique insight that has been invaluable to me.....Today I was in Pittsburgh and stopped by The Parador Inn unannounced....well I was greeted by Ed's assistant Dee...she warmly invited me into the house and pointed me in Ed's direction as if I was an old friend!!!..That's true experience at work and in action.............Now Ed dropped everything he was doing and gave me a tour of the entire mansion.....a true Innkeeper through and through............the house is wonderful and loaded with history and unique treasures! Ed is writing a book about Internet Marketing and I certainly will avail myself of a copy when its completed. Seeing the Dee and Ed in action today was a treat...Thank You to both of you!!!! Paul

Room Tip: The master bedroom has the original safe.......also the house was a Knights of Columbus meeting hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

The Inn keeper, Ed, is charming and really makes you feel like you are visiting his home which you are but you get the sense that you are really welcome there. Loved the furniture, the Jamaican decor and music. Quite a lot of detail and work went into restoring this lovely home! Our room was very comfortable, a bit noisy in the morning but coming from New York City, we are used to it. The breakfasts, especially the homemade bread every morning, were delicious! I'm missing the breads and the parfaits. Ed gave us some really great tips on where to go to eat and also what to see. I also loved Derronda's notes every day and of course her art of bread baking! Great place and if we get back to Pittsburgh would stay there again! Oh, can't forget to mention, Razor and RJ added to the homey atmosphere!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank siggsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
161 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here just the one night while passing through Pennsylvania but it was the perfect place for a stopover. We found Ed to be friendly, generous and welcoming and Deronda couldn't have been more charming! We shared the huge suite at the top of the house with our kids and all had more than enough space and were very comfortable. Understandably, the ancient plumbing took a bit of getting used to but once we had mastered the shower, everything was perfect.

Ed gave us a couple of good recommendations for city restaurants and we were not disappointed - we ate at the Grand Concourse in Station Square where the food was lovely and the staff were delightful. Breakfast next day was a feast - fantastic dishes lovingly prepared - something for everyone!

The Parador is not short on character, especially the dogs - we would definitely stay there again when visiting this attractive city!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hetmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

I love to stay at B&Bs! Sadly, I did not love this one... Our family stayed at the Parador Inn for our nephew's wedding celebration which was held on site. The lodgings were kitschy but quaint and the fireplace in the room was really lovely during the September cold snap! The notice in the room asked for dietary restrictions so I brought mine up with Dee and she was more than happy to accommodate. Ed wasn't so happy with our low carb or vegetarian diets but he did fix egg whites for the low carb people! He became prickly when the mother of the groom and I had to shift family members in rooms to accommodate octogenarian grandparents who found they could not climb a couple of steep sets of stairs to their assigned room. We noticed that he did work tirelessly to help the caterer with the wedding but felt we were quite an inconvenience for him during this time. I believe this would be a nice place to stay so long as Ed doesn't become frazzled. We loved the puppies, they just need to be kept off the lawn prior to outdoor functions to lower the chance of accidents to zero for the next wedding party...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BDeebsandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theparadorinn, Owner at The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
I take Innkeeping very seriously, particularly hosting weddings. I only have one chance to make the wedding as special as the bride deserves. That is why I get as many details taken care of ahead of time. The guest rooms were assigned by the bride ahead of time. When the grandmother arrived and my manager took her to her room, the grandmother cursed my manager and refused the room. This started a domino of various rooms switching when I was attempting to check-in seven other rooms.
Guests were sent Confirmation Letters in advance and in it, any dietary restrictions were requested to let me know in advance. Nothing was said in advance, so I agreed with the bride's mother to feed an additional four family members not staying at the Inn. Three guests insisted on egg whites upon check-in. Usually, egg white requests is associated with the need for lower cholesterol. All three guests wanting egg whites ate the three strips of bacon on their plate.
I became frazzled when during the reception, the bartenders over serve a number of the guests. I had guests getting sick in my parking lot, I had a guest throw a beer bottle at my Inn and a number of them ended up being refused to serve anymore alcohol.
Because I had such an unpleasant experience with this wedding, I am no longer agreeing to hosting any future weddings that are not already under contract.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

This was probably the most beautiful bed and breakfast I have ever stayed in. The historical details were fabulous; the care and the expense that went into the restoration were obviously considerable. Breakfast was good.
Sad that I would never stay here again.

We found the owner to be very prickly to say the least. After the comments on TripAdvisor, we were so surprised. When we arrived, we knew he had to leave so we said we would just drop off our luggage and come back at 3 PM. In an angry manner, he grabbed his credit card machine and said he would check us in now. His behavior was so unwelcoming that had we not paid in advance, we would have left immediately.

The was probably our 50th stay in a bed and breakfast and we had never been treated with such indifference and irritation (throughout the stay.) To this day, we are still wondering what was up with the owner. Whatever it was, we hope he is better as his place is beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LolaSpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this lovingly restored mansion B&B. The Oleander room (original master bedroom) was definitely the largest room I've ever been in while on vacation. It was quite charming and I felt a little transported back in time. Overall, I'd say that the place was fairly quiet due to the other respectful guests, but I could definitely hear the stairs creaking and people talking downstairs so I think the place could use some more soundproofing. I had mixed feelings about breakfast, I liked the yogurt/granola parfait and orange juice but the entrees all seemed to be bread-based (french toast, oatmeal bread). Since I'm a vegetarian and I don't eat bacon, there was no alternate protein served. I would have much preferred to have a plate of eggs and potatoes. But overall, Ed (owner) and Derronda (hostess) do a lot to make this B&B warm and welcoming. If you're ever in Pittsburgh, I think this is a good choice for your accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momo_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
1.4 mi away
Omni William Penn Hotel
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,725 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Pittsburgh
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Pittsburgh-North Shore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pittsburgh North Shore
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Pittsburgh North Shore
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh

Property: The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh
Address: 939 Western Ave, Pittsburgh, PA 15233-1717
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the Caribbean in Pittsburgh, come to The Parador. Formerly the Rhodes Mansion built in 1870. Free off street parking, walking distance to Downtown, full hot American breakfast, large Courtyard and abundant public space are but a few of the amenities all guests enjoy. Plan your event in the 2,700 square foot ballroom, built by the Knights of Columbus in the 1930s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Parador Inn of Pittsburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parador Inn Of Pittsburgh Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing