We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dish Osteria & Bar

Dish Osteria & Bar
Ranked #18 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Bayside, New York, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We loved this attractive, unimposing spot in Southside, just a couple of blocks off Carson St. There are no more than a dozen tables and a small bar, so reserve early. Grilled calamari with sautéed spinach was delightful as was the home made gnocchi Bolognese. Meats are delicious too, as was a stuffed pork chop (with prosciutto and mozzarella) and the large rib eye steak. They have a nice selection of wines and the servers are attentive and knowledgeable. There was a nice mix of couples and families and though tables are a bit closely spaced, a corner table for two would suffice nicely for a romantic evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    30
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“New Menu - Even Better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The new menu is incredible! We enjoyed a wonderfully prepared Salmone alla Griglia and a truly decadent Rigatoni alla Scamorza. The Carpresa featured the freshest of locally-grown tomatoes. Bresaola is beyond description. The evening finished with a lovely Panna Cotta.

Family-owned. Brilliant service. A truly great restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seamonkeypgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly a Special Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Every aspect of Dish Osteria was either very good or excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed our visit, and you will too. The quaint atmosphere and limited number of tables is very typical of places I've visited in Italy and allows the staff to provide personalized service. Quality over quantity! The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. Portions will leave you satisfied and wanting to come back for more.

Truly a special treat if you're visiting Pittsburgh or looking for a fantastic place to dine out. Reserve your table now!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“My new favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Four of us dined at Dish last night. I agree with all the other reviewers. The place is small and not fancy but the food is fabulous.
The gnocchi with lamb ragu was better then I had at Mario Battelli's Babbo in NY and in any restaurant in Rome. The mixed seafood grill was phenomenal and the halibut with spring risotto amazing. I don't usually eat dessert but the food was so good I had to try the lemon ricotta cheesecake It was outstanding. Service was top notch and very personable. The owner visited each table and I overheard raves from everyone. I did not know you could BYOB.
The only downside is parking but I will definitely eat here again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank A330FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Four of us had dinner and we all raved about the food. We all can't wait to go back. It was hard to decide on what to order as everything was appealing. Each of us had a different entre and small plate and dessert. We alll enjoyed everyting. The service was very good and our waitress was very helpfull. Our only problem was parking. Parking on the Southside is a big time problem. But the food is worth the hassle.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dish Osteria & Bar also viewed

 
Pittsburgh, PA
 

Been to Dish Osteria & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing