We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite!”
Review of Gypsy Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gypsy Cafe
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southside Flats
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“My favorite!”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is my favorite restaurant in the city. The goulash is amazing and not to be missed. They have a seasonal drink menu. Often times they have a band playing .We've also been there when they had someone telling Pittsburgh themed ghost stories. It's small...no more than 15 tables. The decor is eclectic. Nice atmosphere.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank tammytaggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“disappointing for brunch”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

In the past I've enjoyed light, mediterranean/european fusion fare. But, the sunday brunch choices were heavy, salty, limited and the only bread available to have with eggs was pita. No reasonable veggie choices, either. I'll go back to the hummus at dinner.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sb229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Really fun place to go with friends. Food is average, but the atmosphere more than makes up for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sbroumand_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Three words can sum up our evening at this charming little restaurant: eclectic, convivial, and delicios”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We found the Gypsy Cafe while searching online for a unique place to dine with friends during a two day visit to Pittsburgh. My husband, who was born in Yugoslavia, Googled "Croatian dining" and found one of his favorite Croatian dishes, cevapcici, on Gypsy's menu.
Garmin made the off-the-beaten-path location easy to find, but we had to circle the neighborhood several times to find a parking place.
I would describe the ambiance as romantic with a shabby-chic gypsy vibe, combining religious icons with antiques and white table cloths. The staff seemed genuinely happy to meet us, and were quite helpful, offering thoughtful suggestions when we were making our selections
The beverage menu featured a number of European beers that we don't often find in American restaurants, house special cocktails that were tasty and potent, and a very nice wine list.
We started with a flaming saganaki appetizer, which was was spectacular, and enjoyed by everyone. The cevapcici was deemed by my husband to be the best he's ever had. I followed our server's recommendation and ordered the Cossack Chicken; she was right, it was fabulous. Because the servings were large, we had no room left for dessert, unfortunately.
If we lived in Pittsburgh, we would be regular customers.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MB M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for brunch”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Can I just say that this is not normally a place I would visit. But when i saw that they did themed brunches on Sundays, I just couldn't pass it up. This is a charming, fun, delicious place on the Southside of Pittsburgh.

One of the few places we have chosen to revisit, it is never disappointed!

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank redbarron980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gypsy Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing