We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few emails only and already not impressed”
Review of Morning Glory Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Morning Glory Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Pittsburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A few emails only and already not impressed”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

I find it very interesting to have tried my unsuccessful luck with the Morning Glory Inn and then to find all of these other reviews online that share my same experience if not worse. Just recently I emailed the Inn to request some information about their services. I received three attachments, all of which were nothing but pictures and a welcome letter from the owner. There was no helpful information at all. When I responded to the email and requested base prices / ball park figures for caterers, they would not supply anything for me and simply responded that I need to call to discuss the "blue print" of my wedding. I found the tone of their email, alone, rude. But, I called anyway... twice!... No one answered.

My fiance and I are very busy with our jobs and other happenings. Our wedding day means a lot to us, but as so not to waste our time or someone else's, just give us some simple base prices so we know if not to move on. When someone is as shady and as rude as Dave was just through an email alone, I certainly am not going to entrust him with our BIG DAY!

When the majority of the feedback for this place is negative, you would think the owners would take a hint and get the picture to improve their demeanor instead of lashing back at individuals' ratings and talk around the issues at hand.

Thank you to everyone who posted their experiences! You saved me, my fiance, and our families headaches that should not be on such a special day!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    32
    11
    13
    23
See reviews for
44
79
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We booked the Garden Room for one night while we were in Pittsburgh over St. Patrick's Day weekend (not an ideal time to visit the South Side, but the Morning Glory was a welcome respite from the chaos on Carson Street). The inn is showing its age a bit, and our room could have used a bit of a spruce - not a fan of faux flowers. But, it was clean and comfortable and the library has an assortment of Keurig coffees and a mini fridge for guest use around the clock.

What merits our 5-star rating, however, is the exceptionally gracious and generous service we received from the innkeepers, who accommodated three additional family members so they could join us for breakfast the next day. We offered to pay for their meals, and they were comped at no charge. In these times, that level of complimentary service is unheard of. Breakfast was a delight - the weather was warm, and we were served in the private courtyard outside. The food was delicious and the meal service very attentive. They went above and beyond with this level of service.

We would definitely stay here again, although we would probably select a different room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarbieandScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

This b&b is very comfortable and in a great old house. Breakfast was excellent and served in a pleasant breakfast room with a number of cozy tables for two. If you're looking for lots of interaction with the innkeepers, this isn't the place for you. We don't like staying where innkeepers hover so it suited us perfectly. The location was great, very close to Carson St. We'd go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socomoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This is a b&b with a lot of character in an area with a lot of history. It's fun to stay in a gigantic old house that is so well preserved (and not split up into individual apartments). The decor is very appropriate for the house (definitely not a modern design), like walking into your rich grandma's house. We stayed in the attic room, which is split up over two floors, and has lots of space. It was a quiet stay during the week and the garden in the summer was really nice to sit in. We were a couple but it seems like a nice place for a wedding. It's a great location for its proximity to restaurants and nightlife.

A few complaints though. I didn't realize no one would be there to let us in and found the door locked. It seems like someone forgot to arrange a key for us but after a call to the manager it was fine. Could have been smoother though. Also, parking was a little bit of a hassle on the street. Breakfast was delicious but it was very early and they weren't too flexible with the times. Maybe better suited to older guests. It was a nice stay but I think my parents would have enjoyed it more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Thank you for the beautiful wedding atmosphere that you provided on Saturday. The room and garden area was beautiful! Nancy, you were so kind, gracious, and attentive. It made it go smoothly. Everyone that came to the wedding also enjoyed it. They had a great time and loved the atmosphere. It was such a pleasure to stay here. Have a great season and enjoy your teaching retirement.

Room Tip: Our families stayed in different rooms and everyone seemed to enjoy their time here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everitt-Tilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

The off-site owners are gruff when contacted by phone; Dave was even more of a curmudgeon in person: barely speaking at breakfast, and happy (!) that we were not going to be there on Xmas morning, even though they were just serving a buffet and not a usual breakfast.
The room was cold, and the request to avoid sitting on the comforter was unusual - OK so we didn't sit on it, but we used it to cover us, along with a thin blanket we found after searching through every drawer in the room - we were almost ready to borrow a blanket from the adjacent vacant room.
MGI is at risk for safety code violations. On our arrival, the second floor smoke alarm was hanging from the ceiling without a battery; the next morning another on the third floor was beeping. On our final night, the smoke alarm in our room began to beep - our call to Dave on Xmas Eve was met with a grouchy reply, and we spent 30 minutes listening to the squeal. On his arrival, he removed not only the battery, but the smoke alarm as well. He informed us that they were all 5 years old and defective. NICE!
We ate breakfast one day, it was middling satisfactory; another morning we did not, and left to go out at 10 AM and Dave was already gone - our bed was never made up that day, and there was a basket of fresh towels at our door. No one retrieved the dirty linen. Subpar!
We spent my birthday at MGI, and I was sent an email that I would receive a box of chocolates as a birthday gift - the chocolates never appeared. It's not that I need or want any more candy - just don't offer something you don't plan to deliver.
All in all, we were very disappointed We will not return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia/Chestnut Hill
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed in Morning Glory in November 2011 when visiting our sons in Pittsburgh. We liked the location very much and hospitality of the host very much. The host recommended to us the best restaurants nearby (Thanks!) and told us a lot about the history of the area. The room was clean and conveniently furnished . There were also other rooms downstairs available for guests for reading and talking with friends. We noticed that other people who came as a numerous group of wedding guests enjoyed the stay very much. And even the B&B was full of guests, because of the arrangement of rooms, everybody was feeling comfortable. Breakfast were home-made, elegantly served and very tasty. Strongly recommended.
Romans from Philadelphia

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolantaroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Southside Flats
HYATT house Pittsburgh-South Side
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Property: Morning Glory Inn
Address: 2119 Sarah St, Pittsburgh, PA 15203-2031
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Morning Glory Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morning Glory Inn is a Victorian brick townhouse bed and breakfast with rooms as inspired as the sights surrounding us! You will succumb to a wonderful blending of "old and new" that is both cozy and comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Morning Glory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Hotel Pittsburgh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing