We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bettis has been better”

Jerome Bettis' Grille 36
Ranked #23 of 2,172 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Jerome Bettis' Grille 36 is Pittsburgh's premier sports restaurant located in the heart of the North Shore. Featuring many local food selections as well as one of the best local craft beer lists in the city, Jerome's has it all! Great for families, the restaurant can accommodate groups of all sizes and is great for private parties and events. It's also the best place to catch the game and has the best patio in Pittsburgh with a view that must been seen to be believed! See you soon.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bettis has been better”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had always been pleased with the Bettis' Grille until we ate there before a baseball game Friday, Aug 19th, 2011. As usual it was crowded and there was a little wait to get a table. Until then, always worth the wait. It's nice that they don't mind you standing in the bar area to get a drink while waiting. Our table was ready within a half hour or so. We just sat down and was immediately pounced on by our waiter who asked about an appetizer - hadn't opened our menus yet so we said no. Then he pressured "how about some natchos?" So, thinking "OK a bowl of natchos and salsa would be fine for before our dinners came," we said that would be fine. What he brought was a platter piled high with soggy natcho chips dripping with all but the kitchen sink. Then our dinners came. The waiter brought the wrong dinner to my son who then had to wait for them to fix the right dinner. Our sweet potato fries were just a few degrees warmer than cold which we didn't realize until our waiter disappeared. My grilled chicken was hard and dry with no sauce or mayo or anything with it. The bun was stale which I decided not to eat. My husband liked his burger and when my son got his fish sandwich he loved it and his regular fried were hot. Our son's friend got the mac and cheese which I thought was way overpriced for what he got. His mac and chees was about 30% higher than our meat sandwiches and fries! All that an 2 beers, 2 soft drinks and tip were over $90. When we were at the ball game and saw what people had bought at concessions, we thought our money would have been better spent at the stadium!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RZCruiseQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    297
    123
    50
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT!!! Everything about Jerome's place is the best”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

From the ambiance to the cool "secret window" this place is amazing. Everything we ordered was made to perfection! The wait staff are fun yet, professional and cater to your every need!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANhelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldsboro, NC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, fun atmosphere- upscale sports pub”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Great, very tasty food. Good selection, I enjoyed the turkey burger and the pomegranate hot wings. They have a very nice draft and bottled beer selection. Roughly $5 pints on draft is about average I suppose, but a little pricey if you're having a domestic as I did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristiep34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“large menu and nice staff”
Reviewed August 11, 2011

lots of choices, good service, fun place for a family

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WigglyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach DE
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great menu in a great location”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We found Grille 36 while we were getting our packets for the Pittsburgh Triathlon. It's right on the river, with outdoor seating, but it was so hot we decided to sit inside. Very nice contemporary design (with sound absorbing walls and booths) and an unexpectedly cosmopolitan menu that offered plenty of choices for vegetarians, meat lovers and family members of all ages. I was expecting football-oriented bar food, but I was delighted to find everything we ordered was carefully prepared and presented with a flair. The Bus has style!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank onmyodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jerome Bettis' Grille 36 also viewed

 

Been to Jerome Bettis' Grille 36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing