We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (358)
Filter reviews
358 results
Traveler rating
64
103
111
44
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
103
111
44
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspanera breadthe ground floorroom was cleanbasic hotelshuttle servicefree shuttlecollege visitdowntown pittsburghhospitalforbesuniversitiescmusurgerypghconcert
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 358 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2017

This property is perfect for a visit to University of Pittsburgh. Walking distant to campus and free parking is key. There is also a Panera on site. Ask for a late check out so you can spend a little more time exploring Oakland. OK to arrive early before check-in. Although you may not be able to get into your room, you will be given a parking pass to go ahead and park the car and walk to campus. The staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for the kind words. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us. I hope we can be your "home away from home" when you're in Pittsburgh. See you again next time!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

The people who work there are very nice. They were all very helpful. Panera in the building is convenient. We ended up walking often to Forbes Ave as it's only a 15 minute walk, always done during the day. The shuttle is very convenient and was able to take us all the way over to Children's Hospital. In addition, there is a mini fridge and microwave. On the minus side, the rooms definitely need an update. The caulking around the tub had seen better days and the slider out to the balcony looked awful.

Room Tip: try to get a higher room
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for your review. I am happy you chose to stay with us. Guests love our free shuttle service. It can be difficult to navigate around the area if you're not familiar with the roads. If you're returning to town, please give us a call. We'd love to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Stayed here for the Carnegie Mellon family weekend. The hotel is outdated for sure- but the staff is prompt and competent in addressing any issues. The bed side lamp had a fused bulb. The tv remote had batteries missing. The front office quickly handled both issues. But then, why have these issues in the first place? Pros- Free parking. Proximity to CMU. Cons- No free breakfast (Panera on the 1st floor has a very limited breakfast menu)
Tip: The famous Pamela's diner is a 10 minute walk away and does an amazing breakfast/ brunch.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Luv2travel1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you for staying with us and for submitting your review. I am sorry for the minor inconveniences that you faced with your room (and am sorry that they existed to begin with). I hope these did not disrupt your stay too much. If you're returning to Pittsburgh, please stay with us again. We'd love to have you.

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017

We stayed in a 7th floor room with balcony facing the University of Pittsburg in the distance. Room is clean but has a particular odor that does not go away even after housekeeping recleaned the bathroom. Housekeeping staff is friendly and prompt.
Location and the shuttle service to the Oakland area are good. BEN, the shuttle driver was helpful and he gave us good info about where to eat ( Porch at Schenley) and visiting the Nationality Rooms/ Cathedral of Learning on 1st and 3rd floor.
This location does not provide breakfast but we enjoyed eating at the Panera Bakery/ Cafe downstairs.

The area is congested due to its proximity to the hospital, the University, and construction work on the Liberty bridge so request the shuttle if you can.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank elaine92373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. It was my pleasure to be able to drive you to campus in the hotel shuttle. As you know, traffic and parking in the Oakland neighborhood can be hectic, at best. We're happy to provide the free shuttle service. I do apologize for the mysterious odor in your room. We will take all measures to freshen the room so future guests do not have an issues. I hope you will return to our hotel during your next trip to town!

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017

Let me begin this review by saying the positives about this hotel. The positives are: It is very close to Pitt and it offers free parking. It also offers a free shuttle bus to the university. The negatives are this property really needs to be renovated. There is mold all around the bathtub cauking, the balcony door is about to break away from the wall when you open and close the door. It is really in need of desperate attention. Please look into getting new mattresses. I only stay there because it is very close to the university and it offers free parking. Even the coffee is weak. Need to look into making better coffee. My max stay here is 2 nights, don't think I could handle the third. Just a few basic maintenance repairs is all it would take.

Room Tip: Get a room not facing the street, face the parking lot instead, it may help the noise level.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenGreiner, Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017

Thank you for staying with us. I am sorry for the issues you experienced. I will work with our maintenance and housekeeping departments to ensure all issues have been resolved. I hope you will return as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben Greiner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews