We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff and panera in building.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn University Center
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“great staff and panera in building.”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I was traveling with my husband and our two young kids. Overall we liked this hotel. It is located close to the Carnegie Museum of Natural History and Phipps Conservatory and pretty easy to find. It is also close to Pitt, but we can let that slide. The building is old and a bit run down and the ac unit was very loud. The rooms are clean, large, the beds are comfortable too. Our room had a microwave/fridge combo which came in handy. The staff was friendly. They were very willing to give directions and suggestions for dinner and entertainment. There is a Panera Bread in the same building. We loved that! This a hotel we will be looking to stay at again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wvugirl2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We do like to read all of our reviews and find it satisfying to hear that someone has enjoyed their stay. We are glad that you found your room to be clean and comfortable and had an overall enjoyable time during your last trip to Pittsburgh. To hear a guest compliment our service and then say that they plan on staying with us again, makes our days a bit brighter. Have a wonderful summer and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Owen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    95
    98
    43
    36
See reviews for
133
53
29
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2014

The rooms were cean. The staff was excellent and extremenly helpful. The door to the balcony is off the track and wouldn't shut completely. One towel rack was coming off the wall in the bathroom (room 601).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kmberly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
I would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to submit a review. I am glad to hear that your room was clean and the staff was helpful during your most recent visit. We do take guest relations seriously and because of that I do apologize for the issues you faced in your room.

With summer now in full swing, many of our guests are taking advantage of the balconies and because of this the doors can slide off track making them hard to open and close. There is however no reason that our maintenance staff did not catch the issue along with the issue of the towel rack in your bathroom. I have notified our staff of your comments to insure that these types of issues are prevented in the future.

Thanks again for staying with us and we do hope that you do choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Chris Owen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here one night while my husband attended a meeting nearby. While it is somewhat old it is a very clean hotel with great rooms. Our room was a Queen size bed with a refrigerator/microwave unit and a lovely flat screen TV. There was also a sliding door to an small outside balcony. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Panera Bread is in the same building. Very convenient for meals.
Great place for the money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I'm happy to hear that your room was to your liking and that you enjoyed the balcony and flat screen TV. I'd also like to thank you for praising our wonderful staff who does all they can to maintain a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. I will be sure to share your comments with them.

Thanks again for the wonderful review and we hope to see you the next time your in town!

Sincerely,

Chris Owen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great hotel to stay at while family member was in the nearby hospital. Shuttle service was great to get to the hospital and evening dining. The staff there was extremely friendly which made you feel welcome. Very clean, spacious rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious and sunny. Great balcony to step out on for fresh air or to see the city l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thanks for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your last visit. The balconies are a favorite of most of the people who stay with us, and we are happy to see that is still the case. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you on a future trip real soon!

Sincerely,

Chris Owen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

I traveled alone and booked a single queen bedroom for one night. Keep in mind this is not a luxury hotel, it is what it is, just a hotel. It had a fridge, microwave, desk, and an office chair. There was also a 32" RCA flat screen TV, no issues with it. The fridge was actually a good sized one. Next time, I'll bring more food with me. There was a Walmart just outside the city I could half stopped at on the way. The bed was nice, I slept just fine. The walls and ceiling were not flawless, however they were presentable. No foul smells, or obnoxious noises. The bathroom was up to date. The wall mounted heating and cooling unit was like new. Most importantly, the room was unbelievably clean! There was not a speck of dust or grime to found anywhere!

With that said, biggest pro and biggest con time...

Biggest Con: The complementary WIFI was slow. Speedtest.net registered the download speed at 0.48mps. Just fast enough to check your email and facebook statuses, but not fast enough to play games online, or watch netflix on my laptop.

Biggest Pro: Clean and quiet.


If I need to go to Pittsburgh on a budget again, I would book here without hesitation.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the fridge, one can only eat so much Panera Bread. Not saying I don't like Pan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. Though we are an older hotel we do pride ourselves on the quality of cleanliness our housekeeping service provides.

I do apologize for the speed of our internet service. We try our best to keep it as fast as possible, but there is only so much we can do when there are so many people trying to access the internet during the same time and so the internet can be much slower than normal.

We do hope you choose to stay with us again and look forward to seeing you in the future.

Sincerely,

Chris Owen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Spent one night here. The property is old, but I found my room to be clean, the bed linens were well laundered and the bed was comfortable. There is a Panera restaurant located on the first floor for breakfast or lunch, but not much else restaurant wise in the neighborhood. If you check in late, there are not much dinner options available unless you have a pizza delivered. The furnishings in the room are old, but I did not mind as the maid was thorough in her cleaning.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for submitting your review. We always like to hear how well our housekeeping and laundry staff are doing by keeping the beds comfortable and the rooms clean.

We are a few blocks away from the main strip of restaurants which is an easy ten minute walk or free shuttle ride away. While most of the restaurants do start to close up around 11:00 PM, as you have mentioned there are pizza shops that can deliver, but most of them have a variety of dishes ranging anywhere from pizza and subs to hoagies and pasta.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Chris Owen
Front Desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOca Raton
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I stayed at this hotel because it was across the street from the hospital where my mother was having knee surgery. It is what you would expect from a two star hotel. The staff was very friendly. Nevertheless, there was room for improvement. First there were dead bugs including a large moth in the light fixture in the bathroom. No one from the cleaning staff bothered to remove them. The bathtub and bathroom sink were clogged. The bath towels were small and flimsy. If you stay here go to bed early because you will be woken very early by the sound of dumpsters and garbage trucks some as early as 5 am. Put simply there is only one thing to recommend this hotel. That is its location. I

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsbpgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris O, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn University Center, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for taking time to submit a review. We appreciate your feedback. I apologize about the dead bugs in your light fixtures as well as the clogged sinks. Our housekeeping department as well as our maintenance staff should have caught those issues before you checked in. I have spoken with them and such occurrences will not happen in the future.

As far as the trash pickup goes, unfortunately the time of the pickup is out of our control. We have tried to ask them to come at more reasonable hours, but with no success. We do have rooms that are further away from the pickup zone, so during your next visit if you ask for a room away from that area we would be more than happy to accommodate you.

If you have any other questions or concerns, please contact me at cowen@qualityionnpittsburgh.com and I would be more than happy to discuss them with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomfield
Hyatt House Pittsburgh / Bloomfield / Shadyside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn University Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University Center

Property: Quality Inn University Center
Address: 3401 Blvd of the Allies, Pittsburgh, PA 15213-3906
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn University Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® University Center hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Pittsburgh's cultural, university and medical districts. It is within walking distance from the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center (UPMC) health system, including UPMC Presbyterian, UPMC Montefiore and Magee Women's Hospital of UPMC. Carlow University, Carnegie Mellon University, the University of Pittsburgh and Duquesne University are all within two miles. Nearby attractions include Pittsburgh Playhouse performing arts center, Schenley Park, Phipps Conservatory, Carnegie Museum of Art and the Carnegie Museum of Natural History. Free transportation is provided to these locations, as well as to UPMC Shadyside hospital, Western Pennsylvania (West Penn) Hospital and VA Pittsburgh - University Drive. Still looking for more to do? Check out these additional area attractions: PNC Park, Heinz Field, CONSOL Energy Center, Stage AE, David L. Lawrence Convention Center, Pittsburgh Zoo & PPG Aquarium, Carnegie Science Center with Highmark SportsWorks, Andy Warhol Museum, Children's Museum of Pittsburgh, National Aviary, Kennywood amusement park and Sandcastle water park. We are located only 20 miles from the Pittsburgh International Airport, 12 miles from the Allegheny County Airport, less than two miles from the Greyhound bus terminal, two miles from Megabus and less than three miles from Union Station Amtrak station. All hotel guests will enjoy: Free parking, Free wireless high-speed Internet access, Free 24-hour coffee service, Free weekday newspaper and free local calls and Fitness center. Panera Bread is located on the hotel premises, and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A variety of restaurants and lounges are within walking distance, and our friendly staff is always happy to make recommendations. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like voice mail and spacious work desks. All guest rooms at this Pittsburgh, PA hotel include private balconies, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards and cable television including HBO. Select rooms come equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn University Center provides friendly customer service, cozy accommodations and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn University Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn University Hotel Pittsburgh
Quality Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing