We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel meal”
Review of The Commoner

The Commoner
Reserve with OpenTable
The Commoner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #57 of 2,394 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: With regular events and a quick-counter for breakfast, the Commoner is one of downtown Pittsburgh's newest, and possibly, best American restaurants.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

Kimptons are known for great dining and the Commoner is no exception. Great service and inventive food choices.

Thank lonk55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaY24, General Manager at The Commoner, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2018

Thank you! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 435 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018

We walked from our dump off a hotel the Double Tree to have breakfast and found The Commoner. The food was excellant and our server was even better. It was a Sunday and they were very busy but they were able to sit us a hight top.

Thank ejaarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaY24, General Manager at The Commoner, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2018

I ordered the "Daily Catch" which was sea bass, and it was prepared perfectly, one of the best seafood dishes I've had in a long time. The side salad at $5 was fresh and satisfying. Wine prices are on the high side (e.g., $55 for a bottle of basic cab). The restaurant was about full and noisy making it a bit difficult to communicate. Server Art was professional, attentive and helpful in selecting dishes.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ParkLover_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaY24, General Manager at The Commoner, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2018

We're so happy you enjoyed your time with us! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018

The food was tasty and inventive, but the plating distracted. My husband ordered the wild mushroom ”cigars,” which were delicious. Unfortunately they arrived in a small cereal bowl, which made it very difficult to enjoy the apricot jam underneath. It’s said that we ear with our eyes, and that dish looked like it had been prepared by a jr hugh school home economics student. My butter lettuce salad with cashews, grapes, and blue cheese lived up to the menu description, and arrived on a lovely blue willow plate. It was delightful to look at. Burgers also suffered from plating issues. While placing the burgers on a mini sheet pan, with fries in a mini fry basket was clever ... it also made it hard to eat the food ... because there was no room to maneuver. To put ketchup on my burger, I had to hold the top of my roll. There was no place to put it, except on the table top. while I appreciated the fresh lettuce and tomato that accompanied, I don’tput that on burgers, which left me in a quandary as to where to stash it. Sure, these aren’t deal breakers... but these are the kinds of things that get you “Chopped!”

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frances M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChelseaY24, General Manager at The Commoner, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018

Thank you for joining us, Frances! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

Tried the Commoner for Saturday night meal. Eclectic menu for dinner selections. The 3 of us all ended up ordering the burger for dinner. Mine was cooked perfectly, medium rare and my friends was also cooked perfectly, medium. Unfortunately, the 3rd burger was way over cooked, looked burnt and she had requested medium well. Although after tracking down wait staff, they graciously cooked her a new burger but it took awhile as this place was hopping.

Thank Asillc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea Y, General Manager at The Commoner, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2018

Hi! We apologize for the overdone burger, but happy to hear you enjoyed the rest of your meal! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Commoner also viewed

 

Been to The Commoner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing