We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-visit for any Pittsburgh trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Primanti Brothers - Steubenville Pike

Primanti Brothers - Steubenville Pike
Ranked #283 of 2,141 Restaurants in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must-visit for any Pittsburgh trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We try to get to a Primantis every time we are in Pittsburgh, and this was our second time to this location. Great food, tons of variety, and efficient service. It was loud, as most Primanti locations are, but it made it easy for us to worry less about our kids being noisy as well.

Highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food Good, Service Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We usually love Primanti Brothers for true Pittsburgh food. This is the first time we have been to this location. The service was awful. We were seated outside and had absolutely no service. The table next to us had their food delivered wrong 3 times. We moved inside. ONly to wait forever to get served again. No one seemed to know what they were doing. Our waitress was nice but seemed to not know where our food was or why it was taking so long. We had our food before our kids got food - which as you know with young kids is a disaster. Why it didn't come all at once, I have no idea. We would not go back to this location. If you want to try Primanti's, try a different location!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2kidstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk River, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good sized portions but bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

We had a party of 8. Some had been there before. I ordered the lamb gyro with fries on the side, not IN the gyro. Some ordered the Pittsburgher. My lamb was pressed and formed, and pretty tasteless. The cucumber sauce didn't actually have any cukes that I could see, and the gyro was heavy on the onions. The fries were good. My friends weren't impressed by the Pittsburgher, although the size of it was okay yet most of the bulk was coleslaw. Just okay for us. However, our waitress Shannon was wonderful!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Satisfying Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We happened to visit after the lunch rush on a Tuesday. The sandwiches were a pretty good size and very filling. A must visit if you are ever in Pittsburgh!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MdmVerdier87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
567 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Given The History Of The Original Restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The original Primanti restaurant is down in the strip district and historically has been serving food to truckers who brought their produce into Pittsburgh at all hours of the night and day. They specialized in stacking meat, fried potatoes, coleslaw, etc on a big bun or slices of bread that the truckers could take with them as they drove home. Several years ago this place spun off and is located on Rt 60 in the Crafton area. We went in for lunch and saw what looked like just another sports bar. We ordered a grilled chicken sandwich with fries. The piece of chicken was skimpy at best. The fries were very strange: a dark brown color and greasy. Overall the service was OK but the noise level was high and the food quality was disappointing. We won't be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Primanti Brothers - Steubenville Pike also viewed

 

Been to Primanti Brothers - Steubenville Pike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing