We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for Business Travel; Free Parking; Sunny Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 1 week while attending meetings all over Pittsburgh. This hotel was far less expensive than the Westin or Will Penn and had the bonus of free self-parking. The bed was comfortable, the location was ideal, and there was ample room for an extended stay. The service was friendly overall, if a tad slow. I didn't eat breakfast there, but appreciated the to-go bags. If traveling for business in Pittsburgh and you require easy parking while being downtown, this is the hotel for you. It lacks the amenities of the 4-star hotels, but the lower price and ease of parking and transportation more than makes up for it. Plus all the hotel rooms receive ample sun, which can't be said for many of the larger hotels in downtown Pittsburgh I have stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,518 - 1,524 of 1,628 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

We drove in from Washington DC and arrived late (11PM) tired and ready to retire. Check-in was a breeze and room 805 seemed pleasant. Tired and sweaty from the long, humid day we wanted to shower before going to bed. First disaster, shower/tub was clogged. Maintenance arrived fairly quickly and found a plastic soap lid stuck in the drain, but also poured drain cleaner as drain was still plugged. He said it would be an hour or so before drain cleaner would work. After 1 hour, drain still plugged. Called down to see if another room was available - hotel was booked full. Asked for another room to use, desparate for a shower. No. Does the pool have a shower? No. Out of luck.

Next morning, asked for another room with recent check-outs. None. Maintenance came again and tried to plunge and snake. We went to their complimentary "hot" breakfast - which is decent for "free". Upon return, an AWFUL rotten egg smell filled out room. Maintenance apologized. We called down to switch rooms, it was unbearable. Had to move suitcases downstairs to the front desk (no bellhop) awaiting room change.

Upon return from errands, moved luggage to new room (808). Previous guests somked, called housekeeping to febreeze...Oh, oh! Toilet clogged! What's with all the plumbing problems? Maintenance came to plunge and snake. Then, had to request housekeeping to clean up bathroom after clogged toilet was plunged. Ick!!! Overall, rooms aren't very clean - towels and sheets don't get changed even if requested, maybe they were busy???

The good news - nice staff, good location (walking distance to Strip District) and downtown., free parking, complimentary breakfast, relatively quiet location.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelersfr0mSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Very nice, spacious, clean, good service, no problems. Nice fold-out couch/bed for the 8-year-old.

Pool was pretty small but nice. There was also a hot tub with jets.

Not cheap at $190/night (all taxes included) -- that's all that stopped this from being a 5-star review. But the free parking was nice. And it was an easy (and pretty) 15-minute walk to PNC Park for me and the kid. (Beautiful park, btw.)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpunkyDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed here for two nights, while in town for a wedding. Everything is very clean and up to date in the hotel. Very spacious and comfortable rooms. Bathrooms were also very large with lots of outlets. The bed was fabulous as well. Staff was very helpful with pointing us in the right direction for dining/shopping. They also had a nice free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakunst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The hotel is in a great location if you have business at the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable.

My only complaints were:
1) Really bad breakfast. I don't expect much from a free hotel breakfast, but this one was grosser than usual.
2) The wireless internet did not work for most of my stay. They said it was because there were so many people trying to use it at the same time, but it seems that should have been anticipated.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloroptera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed here with my wife in July. We were in town for a Pirates game and it looked close to the stadium. Everything I read about transportation to the stadium indicated the easiest way to get there was to walk. This place, while a bit difficult to find at first, had a lot of conveniences.

We were able to walk to to the stadium no problem. Walking home after the game was a bit shady but it's like walking in any other city, keep your head up and pay attention and you'll be fine. The location was within walking distance of plenty of shops and restaurants, a big plus. Since we had a car, the free on site parking was another big plus. I read somewhere that this was the only downtown hotel to offer that feature, though I cannot confirm if this is true.

The internet was free, but it was VERY slow. I pretty much gave up and shut down after some time. The bathroom was clean but the decor needed some improvement. I'm not one to notice such things, but it just needed an upgrade. Everything in there just seemed crammed in.

On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, there was plenty of hot water, the breakfast was good (and free) and the folks checking you in were very friendly. Overall a good experience with a few extras that I'm not sure other downtown hotels can offer.

A bit expensive (we were on a 6 city tour and this was by far the most expensive place) but that seemed to be the going rate for Pittsburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berg1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Had a great stay at this Hotel. Traveled with my two boys to Pittsburg for three nights and to see two Pirates/Reds games. Front desk was very friendly and very receptive to questions. There is ample free parking. The continental breakfast is super. The location of the hotel is w/in walking distance of PNC park, just across the street from the Heinz History Museum and w/in walking distance of Priamanti Bros' original location.

The only issues I had were with the internet service. It was very, very slow. Whether wireless or ethernet, it was slow. Also, the shower in our room could have been cleaner. There was a small amount of cleaning issues that needed to be resolved.

Overall, it was a great stay. Quiet room and great service.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runnwlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,188 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#4 of 71 in Pittsburgh
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $165 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing