We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They have it all covered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Pleasant and competent staff. Large, very clean room with whirlpool tub and separate kitchenette.Comfortable bed. Housekeeping pays attention to detail throughout this property. Our one extra request to housekeeping was done in less than ten minutes. Comfortable bed.Great location. Free parking! try getting this at any hotel in a downtown area. Free wifi and breakfast. Nuf' said!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillNWarwick_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,630)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,528 - 1,534 of 1,630 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2010

Non refundable room rental policy. Had travel problems with a medical procedure, they have horrible customer service. Curt on the phone. Non-flexible on changing travel dates. Poor location & expensive rooms for the quality. This is truly the worst customer service I have ever incurred ...be warned. Stay at one of the other comparable hotels in the areas.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank mastro_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dpintado, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2010

Good Afternoon,

We wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor, as your feedback is crucial to the training of our staff. As well, we would like to deeply apologize that your recent stay at our property was not a pleasant one. Please be advised that there are some types of discounted reservations that are non-refundable, however, by no means are all of our reservations this same type. We are very disappointed to hear that our customer service levels did not exceed, let alone meet, your expecations. We will use this review as a training tool to our staff, so that we can better service you and and all of our guests.

Regards,
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2010

This is a new property at the beginning of The Strip - a mixed use area of restaurants, specialty food stores, offices, and small stores. It is a five minute walk to downtown Pittsburgh and there is plenty of free parking. There are several excellent restaurants both on The Strip and nearby downtown. The rooms are comfortable. The hotel is in an ugly block and by a heavily trafficked bridge. The double paned windows block out the noise. The staff is great. The hotel gives you a list of restaurants (indicating walking distance) and nearby attractions with directions. High speed wireless is slow during peak hours. They also offer direct Ethernet connections which is must faster. Breakfast is good but the coffee is foul. I was warned by a woman at the front desk that my GPS could get confused in downtown Pittsburgh. She was right. If I ever go back to Pittsburgh, I would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivaVerdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

hotel was very clean, across street from john heinz history museum Front desk very helpful with directions, restauants.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I stayed here as I was attending a conference at the Convention Centre, which is a 5 minute walk away. The hotel is perfectly suited to business travellers - good sized clean rooms with plenty of storage space, and useful touches like free wi-fi and bags of take-away breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2010

Great location within walking distance to anything you need. I could walk to work and the parking was free, which you won't find anywhere else downtown. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Very clean, will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteelersGal85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2010

The hotel is great and the front desk staff were excellent. The location is fantastic, we were able to walk downtown and to the Melon arena. If not for a billing issue we would have definetely recommended this hotel.
When we got home and checked our credit card bill we seen an additional charge of approximately 125.00 that we were unaware of. We phoned and the hotel said it was a standard charge for incidentals and would be refunded within 5 days. Two weeks later we still hadn't received the refund, after numerous calls to the hotel they did refund the money. This isn't the first time we've had billing issues with the Hampton and I'm unsure as to whether or not we'll book with the chain again. We really enjoy staying at the Hampton but the numerous calls and monitoring of credits is a hassle.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieWaterloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,198 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $167 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing