We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Clean, spacious room with very friendly staff! Location was good, not great. We walked to PNC Park- but it was a little long for the kids. Was about 6 blocks from the locations we wanted to check out in the Strip District, and the same from the Cultural District.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Trvlngwthefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Trvlngwthefam,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our clean, spacious rooms and our friendly staff members. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    409
    66
    14
    4
See reviews for
463
412
70
305
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
long island
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

we loved our stay at this hotel. One thing I wished I had known: if you drive and park, you should go to the left of the front of the hotel and there is a gate; after you activate the speaker button the front desk will open it automatically--they responded immediately. The front desk also provided a useful local map and were very helpful with directions. We did tours of both PNC Park and Heinz stadium--both well worth the $8. For us, coming from NYC, this was a great driving city: you see wonderful bridges and only have occasional traffic. Parking is not easily available but the lots charge a reasonable amount--about 1/3 of what you would pay in NYC.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor and avoided the trash pick-up noise and we were able to get a good view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gil014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear gil014,

Thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that front desk was helpful in assisting you with maps and directions around the Pittsburgh area. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on future trips to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Pittsburgh and wanted to stay downtown, so we could walk to everything.
My husband works for the government so we got a very good rate. The hotel is very clean, the bed very comfortable, and the bathroom had a walk in shower which I liked. The staff very friendly and helpful when we asked where to go and what to see. The hot breakfast was excellent. They had everything you could think of to eat for breakfast.
We stayed two nights, and will stay here again, if we come back to Pittsburgh.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 2013Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
2013Maryland, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that you were pleased with our clean, comfortable and spacious rooms, as well as our friendly staff and amazing hot, Hampton breakfast. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on future trips to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

This Hampton is located in a very good spot - within walking distance of Heinz Field, PNC Park and Pointe Park. You are also located directly across from the history museum and within a five minute walk of the "Strip District" that has a number of mixed restaurants, ethnic groceries, and some great night spots.

When we arrived we were very courteously greeted and checked-in quickly. Parking is above ground and behind the hotel. The hotel grounds are well kept and clean.

For a Hampton, this was a nice stay - the rooms have been updated and the lobby area has enough space for both small and large groups. Our room was a standard double-queen bed, but there was a lot of room in it. More than enough power plugs, and space to spread out for myself, my wife and two teenage sons.

The beds were comfortable and the desk area was nice. The front desk staff were very good and helpful when either needing directions or recommendations.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd-numbered room if you want a partial river view. Also ask fro a room below 8 or about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Angelo S, thank you for your review of our property. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words of our staff and amenities. We certainly appreciate you highlighting our fabulous location. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed a couple nights to see the Jason Aldean concert in Pittsburgh. Place was very nice, clean, quiet and the employees I encountered were very helpful. They permitted smoking on the floor where we stayed, which is so very rare nowadays. We'll be headed back the next time we need to get away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Brett G, thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your "stay-cation" at our property, and we look forward to seeing you next time!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grampain, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Spent 3 days in Pittsburgh. Staff was great! They were very helpful with traveling around the city and restaurants. Free, secure parking at the site. We were close to everything. The complimentary breakfast had both hot and cold items and was changed daily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Shelli B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Shelli B, thank you for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor! We truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and hotel, and we look forward to seeing you the next time that you are in the Pittsburgh area!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel quality is pretty much what you would expect... clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and generally helpful.

The hotel, while close, is a little bit detached from the city center. To get to the convention center we had to walk through a sketchy looking overpass, though I don't know if it's actually supposed to be sketchy. Some crazy dude shouted at us as he drove by us, so my impression may have been tainted by that experience. I guess none of this matters if you are driving around the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Bo G, thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and our staff. I do apologize that the walk to the convention center was less than desirable, however I hope this does not discourage you from staying at our property in the future. Thanks again for your review!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,704 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing