We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 70 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice location, Great staff”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is a nice hotel located within walking distance of the two stadiums (about a 30 min walk to Heinz Field). Free parking was a huge plus. The rooms were big and the accommodations were excellent. The one major drawback was that any noise coming from the hallway was very audible. We had gone for the Luke Bryan concert and the people coming in at 6AM could easily be heard. The hotel is located in the Strip District, so all the shops and restaurants are also easily walked to. Overall, a very nice hotel, in a great location. Just remember to leave the air conditioning running to drown out the hallway noise.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Joe S - Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are super happy to hear that you were pleased with both our location (being only 1.5 miles from Heinz Field is awesome!) as well as our clean and spacious rooms and guest amenities. We hope to see you again on your next visit to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    423
    67
    14
    4
See reviews for
493
429
71
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

A good hotel located in walking distance to the stadium and river area. What is great about this hotel is that there is no fee for parking and the parking lot is on site which is unusual for a "city" hotel. Downside is that it does not have a full service restaurant or bar. It does have a complimentary breakfast. The rooms were nice, clean but not anything special - but better than a low budget hotel. I would put it somewhere in between low budget and 5-star. But a good option for a city hotel, especially if you like to walk to attractions.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the river. You will also see the stadium in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lenr694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
len r, thank you for your review of our hotel! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, as well as the unexpected find of complimentary parking! We are the only hotel in Downtown Pittsburgh to offer free parking. Unfortunately, we do not have a restaurant or bar on property, however there are several wonderful options within a short walk of the hotel. Thank you again for your review, and we hope to see you again during future trips to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice Hote, Very clean. Alot of parking. Ask for the water front view. Just far enough from the city not to have to drive everywhere, however far enough to be away from all the noise and traffic. The pool area is indoor and very nice. I did not use the gym however it looked nice. The Suits are well worth the money very big with a nice kitchen area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank paulwE6023CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
paulwE6023CR - thank you for your review! Thank you for your kind words about our property and our many great amenities. We love our view of beautiful Downtown Pittsburgh as well! Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We found a room at Hampton Inn Downtown just a few days prior to our trip. Since this was a last minute decision, all they had was a King Suite for about $279 (with tax) which was steeper than we'd wanted. But we'd read such good things about this hotel and it did not disappoint! Self parking was free (imagine that!) and the staff were great. The suite was fantastic--it was very spacious and clean. The door opened into a little hallway with minibar/sink which then opened into a large room with couch, bed and large bathroom off the side. Lots and lots of windows. We took others' advice and asked for a riverside room. Nice and quiet. And that bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we'd every slept in! Couldn't have been better. The hotel was located about a mile from the arts festival (easy walk, safe neighborhood) on one end and 7 minute walk from The Strip with lots of bars and restaurant choices. We'd always stayed at Station Square before--this was a much better location for things to do. The only thing mediocre was the breakfast---powdered scrambled eggs, waffles, cold cereal. No complaints though--that was expected. All in all a great visit!

Room Tip: Ask for the "river side".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioJJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
OhioJJean, thank you for your very detailed and positive review of our hotel! You touched on numerous benefits that we agree set us apart from the competition. I'm thrilled to hear that our bed was the most comfortable you've ever slept in! Thank you again for taking the time to comment on our property, and we hope you will return to us the next time you are in the area!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We staying in a suite on the top floor. How pleasant it was to have a quiet, undisturbed night. It was as if we were the only occupants on the floor, though we saw people checking out next to us and across from us the next morning. Very clean rooms, comfortable bed (important!) overall just a great place to stay. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
barkie9, thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us! We're glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our property, the kindness of our staff, and more importantly a good night's sleep! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

My experience at this hotel was flawless. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and you cannot beat the location. It is a very short walk to excellent restaurants and entertainment in the cultural district and also to the Strip District which is a must see experience. Would highly recommend this hotel. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Joan M, we always love hearing that one of our guest's experience with us was "flawless!" I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed our location and more importantly our staff treated you well. Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay, and we hope you return the next time you're in Pittsburgh!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

excellent hotel - within walking distance to Downtown, the Strip, and PNC Park. Very Clean, easy access, free parking and plenty. We checked out on Sunday, left our car in the parking lot and walked to and enjoyed the Strip without parking worries. Only negative was the people in the hallway at night talking loudly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Tracy D, thank you for your review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed the Strip and our location. The parking is a definite plus to our property! I do apologize that some loud guests kept your stay from being perfect. We hope that you return to us in the future!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 70 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,853 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing