We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall VERY NICE Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tyrone, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Overall VERY NICE Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Nice Hote, Very clean. Alot of parking. Ask for the water front view. Just far enough from the city not to have to drive everywhere, however far enough to be away from all the noise and traffic. The pool area is indoor and very nice. I did not use the gym however it looked nice. The Suits are well worth the money very big with a nice kitchen area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank paulwE6023CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel P, Assistant General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
paulwE6023CR - thank you for your review! Thank you for your kind words about our property and our many great amenities. We love our view of beautiful Downtown Pittsburgh as well! Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Best Regards,
Rachel Pontier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    963
    417
    66
    14
    4
See reviews for
477
418
70
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We found a room at Hampton Inn Downtown just a few days prior to our trip. Since this was a last minute decision, all they had was a King Suite for about $279 (with tax) which was steeper than we'd wanted. But we'd read such good things about this hotel and it did not disappoint! Self parking was free (imagine that!) and the staff were great. The suite was fantastic--it was very spacious and clean. The door opened into a little hallway with minibar/sink which then opened into a large room with couch, bed and large bathroom off the side. Lots and lots of windows. We took others' advice and asked for a riverside room. Nice and quiet. And that bed was the most comfortable hotel bed we'd every slept in! Couldn't have been better. The hotel was located about a mile from the arts festival (easy walk, safe neighborhood) on one end and 7 minute walk from The Strip with lots of bars and restaurant choices. We'd always stayed at Station Square before--this was a much better location for things to do. The only thing mediocre was the breakfast---powdered scrambled eggs, waffles, cold cereal. No complaints though--that was expected. All in all a great visit!

Room Tip: Ask for the "river side".
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhioJJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
OhioJJean, thank you for your very detailed and positive review of our hotel! You touched on numerous benefits that we agree set us apart from the competition. I'm thrilled to hear that our bed was the most comfortable you've ever slept in! Thank you again for taking the time to comment on our property, and we hope you will return to us the next time you are in the area!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, West Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We staying in a suite on the top floor. How pleasant it was to have a quiet, undisturbed night. It was as if we were the only occupants on the floor, though we saw people checking out next to us and across from us the next morning. Very clean rooms, comfortable bed (important!) overall just a great place to stay. The staff was very pleasant and friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barkie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
barkie9, thank you for your positive feedback from your recent stay with us! We're glad that you enjoyed the comfort of our property, the kindness of our staff, and more importantly a good night's sleep! We look forward to your next stay with us!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

My experience at this hotel was flawless. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and you cannot beat the location. It is a very short walk to excellent restaurants and entertainment in the cultural district and also to the Strip District which is a must see experience. Would highly recommend this hotel. Good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Joan M, we always love hearing that one of our guest's experience with us was "flawless!" I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed our location and more importantly our staff treated you well. Thank you for taking the time to comment about your recent stay, and we hope you return the next time you're in Pittsburgh!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

excellent hotel - within walking distance to Downtown, the Strip, and PNC Park. Very Clean, easy access, free parking and plenty. We checked out on Sunday, left our car in the parking lot and walked to and enjoyed the Strip without parking worries. Only negative was the people in the hallway at night talking loudly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Tracy D, thank you for your review! We're so pleased that you enjoyed the Strip and our location. The parking is a definite plus to our property! I do apologize that some loud guests kept your stay from being perfect. We hope that you return to us in the future!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very pleasant front desk manned by Ben & Joseph. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Sometimes chain hotels get boring when we are on an extended road trip. The staff here made us feel welcome. Very convenient to downtown, literally only a few mibutes by car. Parking is free here. The hotel was jam packed with art show attendees, students on senior class trips, and others like us.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We've stayed at dozens of Hampton Inns and this is one of our favorites. It's a new, 14 story brown brick building located right across the street from the Heinz History Center. It also is just a five-minute walk from the Strip, an area consisting of one-of-a-kind shops and restaurants, some of which look like they remain unchanged from the 1950s. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and upgraded us from a room to a suite, which was large, sunny, and almost luxurious. Because of its location, this hotel is a little more expensive than most Hampton Inns, but is definitely worth the price. The free parking in the hotel lot was another plus. The only drawback: lots of noisy trains and trucks nearby. One tip for shopping along the Strip: some stores close at 3 or 4 pm, so come early.

Room Tip: Higher floors still pick up street noise but are probably quieter than the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncmoose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
ncmoose99, it sounds like you know your Hampton's and we're thrilled you rated us among one of the best! We're glad you were able to benefit from a suite upgrade, and that you had the time to enjoy the location and offerings around the hotel. Thank you for your loyalty to our brand, and the kind words you wrote about our specific hotel, we love having you here!

Regards,
Derek Pintado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,781 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing