We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is getting a refresh, but already a nice property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 71 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located very conveniently to the convention center in 'the strip' area. There are a lot of new places opening up in the area and you can tell that within the next year to 18 months, this will be the place to be in DTpitt.
Nice service staff and the rooms were large. I would have liked a tub, but other than that- it was a nice stay!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Jimmy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek P, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Thank you, Jimmy C for your review! We appreciate you taking the time to report your feedback on our property. We're very excited that we are in the final stages of our renovation, and we hope that you will return to see the finished product on your next trip to Pittsburgh!

Thanks again!
Derek Pintado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,156 - 1,162 of 1,629 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

overall a great place to stay have styed here before and would definitely stay again the breakfast was good the employees were very helpful when we asked questions and the price was good for the suite we stayed in. the maid just didn't do the job we are use to in cleaning the room

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Our family spent March Break in Pittsburgh to attend the Pittsburgh Penguins game. The hotel was great. We booked the Queen Suite in order to allow the kids to each have their own bed and to allow for some extra space since we were going to be there for the entire week. The room was just what we needed. If I had to nit-pik one thing, it would be the mattress. I think it might be time to replace the mattress-it had a significant dip towards the center and the pillows were way too soft.
The breakfast area was nice. We never had any issue finding a table for the four of us. The selections were good and the selection of hot items changed daily. I have to say the Sylvia the hostess was beyond wonderful. She made a point to coming over to speak to all the guests. She was very friendly and helpful-assisting guests with the waffle maker, getting colouring books for the younger kids and just making everyone feel welcome.
The front desk staff was also very helpful in providing directions to various venues we were going to as well as recommending good places to eat.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank knitaholicGTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My family spent the March Break in Pittsburgh. This hotel was fantastic. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast had a good selection and there was some kind of a treat for guests every evening (warm cookies, chips, etc.) in the lobby. The rates were good and the rooms were clean and nice. It is located close to downtown, the strip district and the hockey arena. We accessed all of the museums by bus or free train. We will definitely come back!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank HennesseyCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Everything was excellent during our stay. Staff was top notch. Slept like a rock, bed was very comfortable. Went for a rock show and visited friends in Pittsburgh, so spent very little time in the room. Only to sleep. Was upgraded to a suite but still only spent maybe 12 hours at the hotel and most of that was sleeping.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Sam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Hampton Inn Pittsburg Downtown is the perfect location for enjoying Pittsburg. Free parking was a definite bonus. The hotel offered everything I needed for a quick weekend stay - in fact more as I didn't even have time to check out the pool area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Hampton Inns are my favorite hotels to stay in. I have never stayed in one that I didn't like. They have meeting rooms, swimming pool, business center, and a Suite shop. We checked in late. The lady who checked us in seemed very confused. She didn't know there was a Children's Hospital Discount. She wasn't sure if there was a AAA discount either. But she was polite and courteous tho. We didn't use the fitness center, but it was nice and clean. We did swim. The pool was warm, the hot tub was relaxing. The pool and floor was clean. They had plenty of towels in there as well. The restrooms in there were spotless. The restrooms in the lobby were very clean. The breakfast was very good. There was pastries, sausage, scrambled eggs, bagel toppers, waffles, cereal, and fruit. They also have hot tea, coffee, and hot chocolate available at any time. The suite shop had ice creams, drinks, chips, candies, and toiletries that you may have forgot. The elevators were extremely fast. Our room was very clean. They were in the process of renovating the hotel...you didn't even know they were there. Our room was not yet renovated but it was still nice. The bedding was comfortable. Our bathroom was very nice and clean as well. Everything was nice. The next morning we had a doctors appointment at childrens. We told the new front desk lady we weren't sure if we would be back by checkout and she said that was fine. She made a note and said don't worry about it. We can get you a late checkout if we needed it. We ended up back before checkout. When we checked out she said you guys went to childrens there's a discount for that. She was very helpful! She checked us out very quickly. I like that the lock the doors from 11:00 pm-6:00 am. They also have free parking. The hotel is also located in the Strip District.

Room Tip: There are non-smoking and smoking rooms available
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bikits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#6 of 71 in Pittsburgh
4,188 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairmont Pittsburgh
#5 of 71 in Pittsburgh
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range: $165 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing