We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional guest orientation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Pittsburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
269 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Exceptional guest orientation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

All Hamptons have high customer service for the business traveler but this location is exceptional. Great staff, location, rooms are clean with good amenities. Breakfast hot and well multiple choices. This is where I stay in Pittsburgh.

Room Tip: 720 is large room, quiet with lots of windows and sunlight and good working area
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patcal4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    967
    418
    66
    14
    4
See reviews for
480
420
70
312
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great location. Nice amenities, including complimentary breakfast. The entire hotel is spotless. We stayed in a standard king room. It was very nice. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is within walking distance to Consol Energy Center, Heinz Field, Pnc Park and many restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Suzanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a King room which was quite large but rather sparsely decorated. TV was small for the room size but was acceptable. The room was very quiet but the heating/air conditioning unit woke us every time it started up. Bed was comfortable and breakfast was okay. This is in a great location to walk to the Strip or Cultural District, convention center, museums, etc.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the elevator which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank impkokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I were visiting family for a weekend and couldn't have picked a better place to stay. The hotel was outstanding. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. It was centrally located and made getting around the city easy! Definitely would recommend it!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, New York
Level Contributor
195 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

The Hampton Inn & Suites has a lovely location in downtown Pittsburgh which allows you, for the most part, to park your car and walk anywhere. This is a major plus since parking is free. This is one of the few hotels which has this amenity. They also serve a free warm breakfast which is another rarity. The breakfast was a large spread. Everything was warm and they did have healthy food options. If you find yourself having to carry too much food back there are trays for you located above the juice dispenser.

The staff here is great. We got to town way before we could check in and I checked to see if we could at least park our car in their lot. Turns out they had an open room and gave it to us. When looking for dinner suggestions the front desk employees were extremely helpful.

As for the room, it is set up in a strange layout. While it does provide you with lots of room to move around the TV is pretty far away from the bed and therefore slightly hard to see. Upon entering the room the heat was up nice and high. It was very inviting. I have a feeling we were given a handicap room as the shower had glass doors and no ledge to put toiletries or to shave your legs. The glass door didn't work very well but I notified the staff so hopefully no one else has this problem. The toiletries in the bathroom were also outstanding - makeup remover wipe and a kit with cotton balls and q-tips - very well done.

The fitness center is really small. Only two treadmills, an elliptical, free weights, and a balance ball. I really enjoy a stationary bike and was disappointed not to have one here. The room is kept at extremely hot temperatures which make exercising unpleasant. Also the TV is at a really odd angle in relationship to the cardio machines. You have to crane your neck at an odd angle to view it. The door to get into the room is extremely difficult to use. I though it was broken but and employee showed me that you really have to push hard to get the handle to go twice. The pool is quite shallow and warm and the hot tub was normal. Both of these features had handicap equipment, seats to lower into the water.

The only other important feature to note is that it is really hard to get take out. A lot of places say they deliver but they don't. There is a third party deliver driver who does this service but beware they charge as well as close at 9:30pm (on a Saturday!). They also have a different set of menus to use then those of the restaurants they deliver.

Overall, I had a great stay and would come back but it is really pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dreamergirl4686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

From arrival to departure, the staff of this clean, convenient and affordable hotel, made me feel at home. Located right by Pittsburgh's Strip district, I easily enjoyed many activities. Elevators were quick, ice machines worked as the should, and bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank UNCLEBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paden City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Why stay elsewhere when the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean, amenities abound (free wifi!!!), the location is central, and the breakfast is sufficient? I always feel safe and rested.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pittsburgh hotels
Omni William Penn Hotel
#5 of 68 in Pittsburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,786 reviews
Strip District
Homewood Suites by Hilton Pittsburgh Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Address: 1247 Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15222-4239
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pittsburgh
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Business Hotel in Pittsburgh
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pittsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh-Downtown hotel is centrally located in Pittsburgh's historic Strip District near PNC Park and Heinz Field, within walking distance of the David L. Lawrence Convention Center. Enjoy free parking, free WiFi access, free hot breakfast, and a comfy guest room or suite with a clean and fresh Hampton bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn And Suites Pittsburgh - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Pittsburgh
Hampton Inn Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing